We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the Best”
Review of Graham's Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Graham's Place
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Guanaja
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best of the Best”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Guanaja is beautiful, and Graham’s Place is working hard to keep it that way.

First of all, Guanaja is not the place to be if you expect conventional American or UK luxury. That said, it is a wonderful place for a fantastic vacation if you want to get away from what Roatan has turned into: the Cancun of Honduras.

Graham’s place offers great food, friendly staff and solid amenities. It is well run, clean, fumigated (which, in Honduras, is very important) and the beach is everything you’d imagine in a fantasy -- plus, it’s raked every day. You will have great water pressure in your shower, three very good meals a day, fantastic diving, and peace and quiet. Except on New Year’s Eve, or any other sort of celebration -- they know how to throw a great party. So, if you’re going on vacation for a girls’ getaway, some male bonding fishing time, a dive trip with friends, or a romantic time with your honey, Graham’s will not disappoint. If I could give this place more stars I would!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SweeneyCat86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
42
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sellersnurg IN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I spent a week at Grahams place in October of 2012. I went down there to do some fly fishing for bonefish and permit. When I arrived I was surprised that I was the only guest at the resort. At first I thought this was going to be a problem and as concerned that I would not have anyone to hang out with all week. I could not have been more wrong. Graham was awesome and he and his staff treated me more like family than a guest. As it turn out Grahams Place is where a lot of locals like to hang out at in the evenings, I got to know some really great people and everyone was unbelievably friendly. I spent several evenings in the bar getting schooled on local Honduran politics.
I went fishing Several times with Cassidy, a local fishing guide. He was awesome and one of the best guides I’ve ever worked with. Cassidy put me on more bone fish then I have ever seen in my life. This is truly an amazing fishery. One of the locals offered to take me out deep sea fishing on his boat one day just because he was going anyway. Graham offered to take me Wahoo fishing with him; I declined having already made arrangements to bone fish with Cassidy. The fishing was great and I do not regret my choice, but Graham and his crew caught 19 wahoo before noon and left them still biting. Once again this is an awesome fishery.
Even though I was the only guest that week, Graham never let any details of running a first class place. His staff was awesome. They were there to take care of anything I needed. He kept the grounds spotless, the beach was raked daily. Housekeeping was spot on and the bar/restaurant were perfectly maintained. The food was incredible, Lots of fresh seafood. Eric the bartender can read your mind, even though I do not speak any Spanish he seemed to know what I wanted before I did.
It was simply perfect, I will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tikkiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

If you are looking for a great place to go for your money, then you have found it. Graham's place is really affordable, they have all the things you want, ac, internet, a lively bar, amazing beach, and the most friendly staff. During the holidays or high times it can be a little lively so if your looking for quiet, check with them to see if you are traveling during a good time but you no matter what you will be sure to have an excellent stay. I can only recommend staying in two places on the island and this is one of them for sure. You will definitely enjoy yourself. I did!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaGringaRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daveinyk
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Just returned from another trip to Honduras and the Bay Island of Guanaja. Stayed at 'Grahams Place' which is a cay just off the main island. First off the staff are second to none and will go out of their way to ensure you stay is the very best. The is not a five star resort in the sense that there is a buffet line and umbrellas in the drinks but is a five star in the sense that all your needs are cared for by caring staff. The accommodations are simple but more than comfortable and all rooms have a killer view of the Caribbean sea. Mr. Graham is an excellent host who oversees all of the operations to ensure his guests for a relaxing and stress free holiday on his private little island.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank daveinyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Graham's place is a beautiful Island that is nestled perfectly in the bay islands. Mr Graham has created a prestine paradise like no other on the planet! The accomodations, the staff,the meals and the natural beauty leaves me speachless. The Bonefish and Permit are everywhere, truly a flyfishermans paradise!! I'm already planning my next trip!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Grand Cayman
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We went to Grahams Place for a 3 night weekend. This Island gem is truly paradise. The food was spectacular and the help was extremely accommodating. We were able to go deep sea fishing with Jorge (high speed wahoo expert), and caught 6 wahoo between 15 and 50lbs. All you have to do is just ask Graham whatever your needs are and he will cater and provide. The beaches are beautiful white sand and the water is crystal clear. The rooms are extremely comfortable and i especially liked the sea creature indentification touch for rooms instead of numbers. There is so much to see and be amazed by Grahams creativity and vision. We are already planning our next trip back.

Room Tip: the are all great. the 3rd floor rooms have a beautiful all aroud view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Grand Cayman
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Good times, great food, great rooms, great views, great fishing only 45min by plane from La Ceiba. Thanks for the great time Mr. Graham. Scott M.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guanaja
1.9 mi away
Hotel Guanaja
Hotel Guanaja
#5 of 6 in Guanaja
5 reviews
51.8 mi away
Sueno Del Mar Resort
Sueno Del Mar Resort
#8 of 8 in West End
153 reviews
2.3 mi away
Roland's Garden Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graham's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graham's Place

Property: Graham's Place
Address: Josh Cay | Bay, Islands, Guanaja IB2101, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Guanaja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Guanaja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graham's Place is a 7 acre private island with sandy beach and crystal clear water, located 1.5 miles south of Guanaja, one of the 3 bay islands of Honduras; rated one of the best deep sea and fly fishing spots in the Caribbean, Guanaja offers white sand, turquoise waters, palm trees and a vibrant reef.Come and relax sitting under one of our huts in the water or a hammock, while having a refreshing drink from the bar, enjoy walking around, seeing our wildlife which are Graham's pets, such as agouti rabbits, iguanas, parrots and wild birds.At our place you can choose the accommodation that fits your needs, all choices have magnificent views and are only few steps away from the beach; our 3 different types of accommodations (singles, doubles, and triples rooms) are very spacious, all feature large beds, A/C, ceiling fans, small fridge, coffee maker and microwave.At our bar and restaurant you will enjoy all meals and tropical drinks, much of the fare is centered around fresh local sea food; One great thing about the restaurant and bar area is that you can sit in the shade and look down on the home flats, literally spotting cruising bonefish from the bar stools, so... "keep your rod rigged and close at your hand when drinking at Graham's Place!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Graham's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graham`s Place Hotel Guanaja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing