We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Your own private paradise right on one of the best permit flats on earth” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fly Fish Guanaja Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Guanaja
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fly Fish Guanaja Lodge
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Your own private paradise right on one of the best permit flats on earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

I just got back from my second trip down to FFG and it was as great as I remembered it. The lodge is beautifully situated on Jones Caye smack in the middle of a prolific bonefish and permit flat. The accomodations are excellent but one word of warning--you'll need to start at diet when you get back as the food is outstanding. Each morning you can get up at first light, pour yourself a cup of coffee and stroll down to the beach and cast to tailing bonefish then have breakfast before setting out to prowl the flats. The guides are excellent and all speak perfect English (a very welcom change if you're used to the "fishing English" employed in Mexico. Obviously, the fishing will vary with the time of year, weather, tides but in general the bonefish are plentiful and bigger than most Central American locations. Fish in the 4-6 pound range are the norm and you'll likely get shots at fish in the 8-10 pound range. The real draw for me is the permit. You're likely to see more tailing permit here than in your last three trips anywhere else combined. Don't get me wrong--they're still permit and can still humble you but the shear number of opportunities does help tilt the odds in your favor. Adult are available seasonally and there are baby and juvenile tarpon in the lagoons plentiful enough to give you a better-than even chance of getting the Grand Slam if you catch a permit in the morning. I got the GS last fall and one angler in our group this year did it twice in a week! Snook are around but less predictably. There's also opportunites for giant barracuda, tailing triggerfish and big jacks. In short, if you're looking for the trip of a lifetime without any hassles then FFG is the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Permitdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
1
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is am amazing place.

The fishing is fantastic; bonefish are tailing right off the deck and the occasional permit cruises through, and that's just the first afternoon as you're unpacking your gear and getting the lay of the land!

One of the most interesting things about this spot is the variety of fishing experiences available just a short boat ride from the lodge...traditional flasts wading, casting into mangroves from the boat, deep holes and everything in between. It's a rare day that you don't get several shots at permit and big fat rolling tarpon can be had, all nearly with sight of each other.

Don't forget "bonus" fish like snook and triggers.

The lodge is clean, comfortable and fun. The food is fantastic.

What ties it all together is the way the extended family that guides, cooks and maintains the place make it so relaxing.

I've been twice and am returning for my 3rd trip in a month. Can't wait

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baker G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiburon, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

If you love salt water fly fishing, you cant miss this. I have been going every year for the past 6 years (actually went down there twice last year). It is a first rate operation with a beautiful lodge, amazingly prepared local food and locally raised guides that can see fish you will swear aren't there. Moreover, they have developed their own arsenal of deadly home-tied flies that you wont get anyplace else. The fishery is so isolated and undiscovered that i am shocked when i see another fisherman on the island that isn't staying at our lodge. Every day, you will likely see both Bones and Permit swim right up to the deck of the lodge (Permit seem to be everywhere!). In fact, just stepping into the water surrounding the lodge could be some of the best fishing on the island. Enormous Tarpon are also in many locations around the island. While the fishing is amazing, it is really the people and the culture that make the trip special. It is so comfortable that i brought my wife (who only kind of likes to fish) a couple years ago. Really cant recommend this place enough.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jtysonr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Second time to this destination and would recommend it highly. Spectacular location on the water, works well for a small fly fishing group or family, with great local food, guides and personal service. The lodge is on a private island. Very quiet and peaceful. I saw only one other angler (besides our group) in the whole area. We didn't snorkel, but saw some good snorkeling water.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eastslope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

This is a small, private lodge on a private island, with that "kick your shoes off and stay awhile" feel that I look for. All the creature comforts we needed in a million-dollar location on the water. It can't get better than that. We went for the bonefishing, and if you're into that, you'll love this place.
The guides and staff were local and genuine, and the host (Steve Brown) gave us a lot of personal service and worked hard, start to finish, to make sure we were well taken care of. Food was very good, with refreshing native flair. We had the opportunity to fish multiple species -- it was challenging, as the best bonefishing often is and should be. Exactly what I was looking for. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank eastslope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2010

Want to catch a bone fish on your first day? Cast to the elusive permit? or jump a 'silver king' pushing 100 pounds
Guanaja is the local with all the opportunities. The local family of native guides will take you to the fish each day and bring you home at sunset to cocktails and an amazing dinner. The island home is surrounded by bonefish, hundreds of them! If you want the be the only angler on the flats for miles, and have only a 2.5 hour flight from the states, Guanaja is the destination. I cannot say enough, other than I'll be back in the spring. Watch out permit, I'm comming to get you!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debus01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guanaja hotels
0.0 mi away
Graham's Place
Graham's Place
#2 of 5 in Guanaja
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.0 mi away
Guanaja Caribbean Cottages Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fly Fish Guanaja Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fly Fish Guanaja Lodge

Property: Fly Fish Guanaja Lodge
Address: Guanaja, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Guanaja
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Guanaja
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our lodge is a private key in the middle of Guanaja's South Cays - the best flats in Honduras! We take 6-8 anglers per week. The main lodge is a plush house with 2 bedrooms and two full bathrooms, with hot water. The interior is custom mahogany and the beds are new. We also have a guest cabin with two more beds and a bathroom. The deck on the lodge is expansive, lined with hammocks, and over looks the flats full of bonefish and permit. You can literally cast from the deck to tailing fish, or heckle friends as they pursue fish throughout the flat. We have shaded hammock spots around the island where you can chill out during a slack tide, waiting for tails to show up. We also have a white sand beach on our key that feeds into a bonefish hole. With a group of 6 or 8, you have the key to yourselves. Not only a fly fishing lodge we also host weddings, snorkelling, kite surfing and families. Let us know and we can make your dream vacation happen. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing