We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect get-away-from-it-all island paradise resort.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of G&G's Clearwater Paradise

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Guanaja
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
G&G's Clearwater Paradise
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Guanaja
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect get-away-from-it-all island paradise resort.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2010

My partner and I just returned from a two-week trip to Roatan and Guanaja, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this all-inclusive resort. George & Ginger are great hosts, easy to be with, and provided us with three gourmet meals each day. George picked us up by boat in Roatan, and we spent the first day leisurely cruising to the island of Guanaja, with a diving stop at Pidgeon Caye, which included a wonderful lunch of homemade pasta, beer, and fresh-baked cookies for dessert. (It was also an excellent dive location, with clear water and no other people around.) The following days were filled with long dives and excellent meals far exceeding our expectations! Guanaja is a beautiful, lush green tropical island, removed from the hustle and bustle, perfect for a "get away from it all" vacation.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve6081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    13
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
46
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Ana, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2010

George and Ginger built their dream home and life in Guanaja and made it possible for us to have our dream honeymoon/ vacation. Adventure/ off-the-beaten-path/ great food/ diving/ snorkeling/ boat rides/ beaches/ crab hunting/ seclusion/ beauty/ and a brazilian ant eater (named Scooter).... this place has it all! It takes more effort to get there but it is well worth it. If you are looking for a great adventure with two hosts that will do anything possible to make you happy, clearwater paradise is where you want to be. The diving on the pristine reefs, with no driver impact, was incredible! We stayed in Roatan before with cattle boats of divers and snorkelers and it was well worth the next step to jump to Guanaja. Just 20 miles away and the greatest reefs, you're in true paradise with George and Ginger!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank i-TheLoves-i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Ca.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2010

My wife and I travel extensively and would consider ourselves very experienced at writing a review. This place is incredible! Starting w/ hosts George and Ginger. Even though the weather was bad, at the first of our stay, they did everything to make our stay enjoyable. The food is the best we.ve experienced at a beach resort with fresh fish still kicking. The room and view is second to none. The bed was divine. The attention to detail is refreshing including the handmade drinks and food from their onsite gardens to the hand crafted furniture. The reef is the best that I have ever seen anywhere, with unspoiled coral and an amazing number and varity of fish minutes from the dock. There is also an amazing wildlife reserve minutes from your room. G and G, being from Austin, have a great collection of music that ties in the whole experience.

I would, and plan on, staying here again and again! Anyone that is interested in sugar sand beaches, crystal aqua blue water, unspoiled snorkling and diving and a great place to stay, would be crazy not to give G and G a try. You will not be dissapointed!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jungleguySanJose_Ca_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2010

Ginger and George made us gourmet meals and accomodated all my special dietary requests. They grow alot of their own food and it was delicious. George took us to amazing snorkeling locations and provided good quality gear. Our room was comfortable and we loved the large walk-in shower. The views were amazing especially from the sun deck. We enjoyed meeting and dining with locals. It was an unforgettable experience.
This is definitely the place to stay on Guanaja. Guanaja is peaceful and the water and reefs are spectacular.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoyLoMejor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2010

Staying at Clearwater Paradise was a great experience. Gunaja is very remote and a bit hard to get to easily, but worth the trip. Ginger picked us up at the airport in their boat. The boat was our transportation for the week. It was like being in another world- which is, after all, one of the best parts of going on vacation!

We had a few days of very rough weather- northern storms make the water very choppy, but on the days that were good we got out snorkeling for hours. The reefs are magical and George and Pablo were great about taking us to really amazing places. The water was warm enough to stay in as long we wanted to, and as the storms died down the clarity was good. Our favorite spot was in the cove next to Michael's Rock . There is a cove there that was protected, so the water was most calm. We saw all kinds of things including rays, lobsters, large Trigger fish and an incredible variety of fish.

George is a diving instructor and although we are snorkelers, he helped me master a few things I had always struggled with- I imagine he would be a wonderful teacher and that Clearwater would be an excellent experience for divers.

George and Ginger love to cook, and food was a big part of our week. We were there for Valentines day and had a wonderful, romantic dinner on the deck topped off by Chocolate Mousse! Every meal was an adventure and had endless variety.

Because the weather was rough, and we were a little tired of playing scrabble, we spent on day in Bonaca- the "city" on the island. It was "gringo Thursday" - the day the boats come from the mainland with supplies. Many of the "ex-pats" are on the key that day- and met up at a bar during the business shutdown from 12-2. It was quite an experience to see a really different way of life- something about living in Paradise that really changes what people think is important.

The only negative about the island is that just like Roatan, there is a bit of a sand flea problem on Guanaja, so be sure to find a spray that works for you- and I would suggest bringing some Benedryl just in case you forget to cover yourself with the spray and try to remember never to sit at sunset without showering the saltwater off first!

We hope to return to this little paradise again and again!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kld1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gull Lake, MI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2010

George & Ginger offer the best food & hospitality on Guanaja. Thay have a great place with wonderful rooms. The veiw from the deck is just spectacular.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ahuskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2010

You will go a long ways before you find any more devoted and fun hosts as George and Ginger... Don't take my word for it though... They both have a great gift for cooking...!!! Wow!! I never expected trhis kind of treatment on an island off the coast of Honduras!! George and Ginger are exceptional hosts and have a real way of making you feel comfortable whether it be diving or visiting or roaming the island. It is a lost art that him and Ginger have perfected in how to treat your guests... I rate them 15 on a scale of 10!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guanajabound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guanaja
3.9 mi away
Graham's Place
Graham's Place
#2 of 5 in Guanaja
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coral View Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Guanaja Caribbean Cottages Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G&G's Clearwater Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&G's Clearwater Paradise

Property: G&G's Clearwater Paradise
Address: Boat Access Only 123 | Mangrove Bight, Guanaja IB2101, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Guanaja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Guanaja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a boutique hotel with 8 ocean-view, air conditioned rooms, including 2 suites, D'Bonuron Restaurant and Bar, specializing in whole fish, and G's Spot Bar and Game Room. We offer an all-inclusive venue, which includes meals and scuba diving. The owners, George and Ginger, live on-site, and, along with their friendly staff, provide round-the-clock service and excellent meals. We are a water-access-only, secluded property that provides privacy, laid back relaxation, and some of the best scuba diving and fishing in the Caribbean. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing