We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best excursions ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Temple I

Temple I
Book In Advance
More Info
$70.00*
and up
Day Trip Tikal National Park from Flores
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Brinkworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“One of the best excursions ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Admittedly, this was part of a cruise not a direct trip, but it was the best decision ever to go there. We started on the west coast of Guatemala, where the ship had berthed. We flew across to the airport a short bus journey away from the national park and were completely overwhelmed by what we saw. Only a part of the park has been completely uncovered (the Mayans hid all trace of ever being there) and work is still going on, but there is so much to see.
There is some climbing if you wish to get to the top of some temples, but it is not compulsory and there are plenty of safety measures in place.
As part of our day trip, food was included. I don't know if it is available to anybody, nor how much it costs and being a picky eater, I was a little worried. I needn't have been. The food was different, yes, but unbelievably tasty.
Would I go there again? At the drop of a hat (I did need one!)
This questionnaire requested a date when visited. You will see that I have put February 2013. The month is correct but the year was 2007.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MardenLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    30
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
441 reviews
235 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Good example of a Mayan site”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

The temple is in very good order even though it is not as tall as some of the other ones(temple IV) it has been very well maintained ,so it is still worth a visit and photographs very well from the Plaza

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brandylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
156 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“This is the number 1 reason to go to ZguTemala”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We traveled from Belize to see the spectacular Jaguar temple. Being to many other Maya cities, this is the most impressive. Go to Tikal!

Helpful?
Thank ahva63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
206 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A good start”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is where the action starts, the pyramid is easy to climb and you start to get the feeling of how the complex is.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank VerCit3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Level Contributor
301 reviews
159 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“The Tikal postcard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Not as large as temple IV or as ornate as some of the stellas you see elsewhere in the park. It is, however, the image for Tikal. Excellently restored, complete, and towering pyramid right in the central plaza. Makes for excellent photos and viewing from many angles, particularly if you climb one of the palaces on the side.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BlueTraveller711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Temple I also viewed

Tikal National Park, Peten Department
Tikal National Park, Peten Department
 
Peten, Peten Department
Tikal National Park, Peten Department
 

Been to Temple I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing