We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very convenient hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Jaguar Inn Tikal
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very convenient hotel”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We chose to stay inside the National Park for convenience - easy to get out early for ruins or birdwatching and to come back to for half an hour or so in the middle of the day. Good decision. Rooms simple but clean and adequate. Shower hot. All very convenient - everything very accessible.
Lunch time/afternoon seemed to be full of braying British public school girls or loud Israeli, Canadian and American backpackers all vying to tell each other about their latest escapade (and showing off their bare chests, men only, ignorant of the fact that is not a polite thing to do). Must be getting old but it was a little annoying having to listen since there was no escape.
Evenings better - a hum of conversation but no braying/shrieking.

Would I stay there again? Yes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 967Ian47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    187
    101
    35
    22
See reviews for
62
183
57
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Had a fabulous three day stay at Jaguar Inn in Tikal. The bungalow was clean and basic, nothing fancy, with no a/c but the ceiling fan did the trick for us. The staff always addressed any concerns we had about the room in a timely manner.
The restaurant had good food and much appreciated a/c at lunchtime. The menu was small, but had some interesting choices with a more local flair than the more expensive hotel next door.
They offer guided tours of the ruins and nature (including sunrise and sunset tours). Although we did not take advantage of these (prefer to wander on our own) other guests said the guided tours were enjoyable and informative.
Lots of great birding throughout the park or even in the parking areas.
You can't beat staying right in the park.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 20EPG13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We booked the hotel for two nights in Tikal. After seeing the room, we dropped the second night: not clean, bed sheets verly likely not fresh, the toilet was leaking. I know Guatemala since nearly 15 years and this is not typical for Guatemala, even more for this price range. Better to stay in El remate for half the price and enjoy much better hotels there plus the 30 minutes bus trip to Tikal.

The restaurant is o.k., the people are also friendly but the room was sort of a disaster.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andibart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tikal National Park hotels

Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
138 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Jaquar for one night. We did a sunset tour of Tikal and a sunrise tour of Tikal. We had dinner at the hotel which was good. The staff were pleasant. Our room was clean but very basic. It had old school bed spreads which always make me nervous since I'm a germ phobe. The hot water was only on certain hours of the day and turned off at 9pm. The electricity turned off at night which meant the ceiling fan stopped operating too. Candles were provided in case you needed to get up in the middle of the night. Bring flashlights.

Tikal is the attraction here. The hotels are not.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placencia, Belize
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

After a long tour in Tikal, the Jaguar Inn, inside the park, is a natural spot to want to have lunch or a cold beer, and if you happen to have your laptop with you, surf the web while you wait for your tour bus to leave.

Unfortunately, their beer is warm and they charge $10Q to use the wifi, even if you are ordering. I have no problem paying if I'm not ordering anything, but I think it's tacky to charge paying guests.

There bathrooms, however, are nice and clean, and the ambiance is pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WealthShips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Overall, the place was comfortable. Everything was clean..I checked our sheets every night to make sure there were no spiders after reading one of the reviews for this place :). There's really not much up there around Tikal, so it's kind of you get what you get. The staff all seemed friendly and helpful enough, we both speak very little spanish, but between our bad spanish and the staff's ok english it worked out fine. Make sure you bring Guatemalan money. We didn't realize there are no ATM's once you get into the park so when our bus got to the point where you get off and go right to Tikal or stay on the bus and go left into Flores we had to take the bus into Flores to an ATM and then get a private shuttle up to Tikal which was a little bit of bummer, waste of time and money. The good thing is that the hotel takes cards, with a small charge, for meals which helped us or else we would've been scrimping. I believe this place is a little cheaper than the other hotels up there, so if you're on more of a budget this is definitely the place to be if you want to be inside the park. Also, it is convenient to stay inside the park, just so you know it's about a 20-25 minute walk to actually get to the ruins from the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aneta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

If the Jaguar Inn was anywhere but at the gates to Tikal you'd pay $20/night not the $80+ they get away with. Not that it's that bad - just desperately overpriced for what you get.

Positive points: location, spacious room, plentiful hot water and electricity in spite of what the blurb in the rooms says and surprisingly good food in the restaurant.

So-so points: spartan unwelcoming decor, questionable cleanliness, marginal wifi (room 1A), on the noisy side.

Negative points: vastly overpriced, staff mostly couldn't care less - although a couple of them were ok. Lumpy old bed.

In general suffers from lack of competition. There are only 3 places at the gates to Tikal so they can pretty well do what they like.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin_Victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tikal National Park
0.2 mi away
Jungle Lodge
Jungle Lodge
#1 of 2 in Tikal National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tikal Inn
Hotel Tikal Inn
#2 of 2 in Tikal National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
17.5 mi away
Camino Real Tikal
Camino Real Tikal
#1 of 6 in Santa Elena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
La Lancha Lodge
La Lancha Lodge
#2 of 6 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
16.9 mi away
Hotel Mon Ami
Hotel Mon Ami
#1 of 4 in El Remate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
17.0 mi away
La Casa De Don David
La Casa De Don David
#1 of 11 in El Remate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jaguar Inn Tikal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jaguar Inn Tikal

Property: Hotel Jaguar Inn Tikal
Address: Tikal National Park | Peten, Tikal National Park, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > Tikal National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tikal National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jaguar Inn Tikal 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel, located inside Tikal National Park, Guatemala, 15 minutes walk from the temples. 13 bungalows with private bathroom, hot water, ceiling fan (24 hours electricity). Restaurant with AC, Wi-Fi internet service, transport and tours, credit cards accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Jaguar Inn Tikal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing