We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommended if you want to see the sunset and or sunrise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Jaguar Inn Tikal
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Recommended if you want to see the sunset and or sunrise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

The hotel was fine, nice rooms and hot water for showers during most of the hours that you would likely want it. I think sunrise would be better than sunset, but the early morning tour enters the park at 4 am and sunrise wasn't until about 6:00. Not worth the extra 100 quetzales in my eyes. My friend and I found a group that was guided in English just inside the gate, and that guide offered to have us join the group for half price.
Also, note to see the sunset you will likely have to climb up templo 4 and bribe the guard with 20 quetzales, in order to go around the baricade and climb the scafolding on the side that faces the sunset.

Room Tip: THe rooms closest to the restaurant can get wifi, our room was farthest away and had no wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustinConsults
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    187
    97
    35
    22
See reviews for
62
180
56
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
230 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. We booked the transfer from Flores through the hotel. The hotel is located right outside the entrance to Tikal National Park, so location can't be beat. The room was pretty basic but clean. The following day we returned to the room during the afternoon after lunch, and it still wasn't clean. I had to remind the front desk to clean it up.
The food was pretty good but a bit expensive - I guess that's what happens when there is not much choice around. For lunch, we actually found a local lady serving up pretty good tamales. Overall, it's a decent place to stay if you want to get an early start in the park.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Overall, the hotel was a good experience. It is located on Tikal property, thus enabling easy entry and exit of the park, and the service was pretty good. The only complaint I would have about my stay at the hotel was that when I was getting into bed for the evening, I discovered a fairly large spider in the bed too. Given that the hotel is located in the jungle, this might be expected, nevertheless, it was a harrowing experience to find the unexpected companion.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank digarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

We wanted to stay next to the ruins in Tikal. The Jaguar Inn made us jump through hoops to make reservations and required That we pay in advance. We paid for 4 nights and once we got there,we were eaten alive by bed bugs the first night. When we reported it to hotel staff, they told us they did not find bed bugs , only mosquitoes. We showed the awful bites to prove there were NOT caused by mosquitoes. They did not clean our rooms everyday.
The only redeeming grace of this awful hotel was the person at the front desk who attenpted to have our room sprayed with a small pesticide can. The hotel next door, Tikal Inn was cheaper, had much better service and was cleaner. We ended up eating our meals at Tikal Inn and slept outside on hammocks to avoid bed bugs!
Before departure, we completed evaluation card. There was no secured box to leave it (as stated on printed card) We gave card to the front desk staff. We have not heard from hotel administrators.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lgaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmundo S, Manager at Hotel Jaguar Inn Tikal, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We take every guest comment seriously, and the reason we have an evaluation card at the end of the visit, is because we care about our service.
I am aware of this complaint, our assistant manager was on hand to help the receptionist look into this at the time, so I would like the opportunity to answer with some facts:

1. The reason you had problems in making your reservation, is because the reservation was not made by yourselves, but through a third party (hotel/travel agency). The procedure for travel agencies to make reservations is different and more formal than with a customer. Had you booked directly through our website, you would have been required to prepay only 50% of the total cost of the stay online, and not the whole amount. The third party who booked for you had never worked with us before, and was therefore unfamiliar and slow in finalizing the reservation process.

2. As soon as the complaint was made at the reception, both the receptionist and assistant manager went to the room to make an inspection. We have dealt with bed bug issues in the past, so we know what to look out for, and how to treat it. A thorough inspection was made of the bed and room, and no evidence of bed bugs or any other was found. Despite no evidence being found, we took the added precaution of spraying the room, and the sheets were changed every single day that the guests stayed. There are many types of insects, ranging from small to large in the jungle, some of the bytes itch for a long time. At the moment we have minute sand fly type flies, and it is quite possible that these might have been the cause of this incident. We cannot be sure what it was, but we are certain there were no bed bugs, nor have we had any complaints of bed bugs from anyone else in this time period. We are in high season right now, so a lot of people have stayed with us, and none have had any problems.

3. I am not allowed to post links or emails on this reply, so I invite you to use the Tripadvisor contact for our hotel, or click on our website link through Tripadvisor, send me an email, I will personally correspond with you about your stay. We want our customers to be happy, and we aim to resolve any legitimate issues as best as we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tikal National Park hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Jaguar Inn is a very conveniently located hotel about 2 minutes walk from the entrance to Tikal. I was not interested in staying in Flores and waiting for a morning tour to bring me to Tikal in the morning; I wanted to get up and meditate on top of Temple IV (on the far West of the known structures in the city) at sunrise and the hotel's convenient location easily permits that.

The rooms are a little more expensive than average, although very clean and comfortable. Ask to stay away from the restaurant so you don't get early or late noise from other guests. We enjoyed a room with a view of the garden, on the top floor with a patio outside. We were told that the hot water goes off during certain hours, but it didn't - we had access to hot water in our big bathroom the whole time. 3 beds in our room - although we didn't need them.

If you have camping gear with you, you could also very easily camp on site. It's not advertised but many people do it. It's warm enough too, and you can enjoy the view of the stars from within the jungle. Bring bug spray. And cash. The lost city was only uncovered ~50 years ago and was under jungle for 1000+ years. There is no a.t.m. cash machine and wifi is patchy.

They are still excavating Tikal. Dozens of structures, perhaps hundreds, are still underground. So the park nickle & dimes you for everything: a map, an installation, an exhibition, a guide. Of course they are all worth it and add to the experience but make sure you bring enough cash with you. It will cost about $20 US to enter the park, which is meant to be for a 24 hour period. Some people were asked to pay each day, others were able to re-use their previous afternoon tickets for the next morning. It's an extra fee if you want to get access to the sunrise tour.

I had a torch with me and stayed until after sunset in Tikal, then walked around and walked back to the hotel. It's a pretty special place.

Hotel staff are friendly. Restaurant closed around 10pm. Nice food. Nice wine.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoelineX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

The Jaguar Inn (or any of the hotels in the park) is the best and only way to truly experience the wonder of Tikal. What is so great about Tikal is that you can pretty much spend as much time as you want exploring the park without anyone bothering you. The jaguar Inn is located steps from the park entrance and has very nice rooms for Guatemala. We paid $80 per night and we would definitely stay. Our room was 1C. It was on the 2nd floor of one of the buildings and the room was very comfortable and quiet. There is a fan and 3 beds in this room and the shower has hot water. The best part of staying in the park is that you get to experience the jungle at night and hear all of the animal sounds. My only complaint about the place was the front desk receptionist Domingo. He was the biggest jerk I have ever met in Guatemala. He was rude to every single person that was staying there, rolled his eyes at any question that was asked, and didn't know the answer to any question about the park nor did he give any suggestions on things to do mi have never come across someone so rude in GUA. Even the locals and bus drivers commented that Doming is "mala onda" (a bad person) and said that he didn't reflect we'll on the owner or the hotel. That being said... I would still definitely stay here again without hesitation. It is NOT a Marriott and is not luxury at all... But I think that's what makes Tikal such a special place.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Brent K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

As you arrive at the main gate of the park (which is on the highway), each visitor must pay the entrance fee ($22US as of Dec 2012), then it's another 5 to 8 minute drive before you come to the area where the hotels are located. Also near the hotels is the entrance gate & another ticket booth to the ruins, several souvenir stands, an area where a museum is located along with another restaurant (not part of the hotels) and a scaled diorama of the ruins. Near the diorama is a pond, with a resident alligator.
All three hotels are within the national park boundry with the Jaguar Inn as the least expensive. This hotel also has a very small campground behind the restaurant and next to one of the hotel rooms. {There's another larger campground across the parking lot with a few shade shelters}.
The Jaguar Inn restaurant is good, also serves as the hotel reception & sells water/sodas/snacks/etc. If you ask, they will give you the password for the free wifi which available in the area of the restaurant and is only available when the restaurant is open. They have two computers in the restaurant for guests to use - - the sign says there's a fee, but no one was collecting any fee.
Try to request a room away from the restaurant area since it opens early and the noise increases as more people arrive for breakfast.
The first morning my room didn't have hot water, but by the first night I had hot water at 10pm and by 5:30am the next 2 mornings. One of the waiters mentioned the hot water is turned on for the room(s) once someone checks-in, then it takes awhile for the water to get hot. So it can be hit-or-miss to have water the first day or so. It's not a negative comment, just so you can be prepared.
Leaving the Jaguar Inn, you walk about 30 seconds to arrive at the guard's entrance gate & ticket booth to the ruins. Since each visitor arriving by car already has a ticket, it's only the hotel guests staying beyond one day that need to buy a ticket at the guard's gate ticket booth. It's best to have exact change if you buy a ticket here since the guard rarely has change.
Small maps are for sale at the guard's entrance gate; there's also a large map posted on a billboard beyond the ticket booth at the main trail intersection. Otherwise there are very few signs to show you the various paths, or what buildings or temples you are looking at. The high cost of the entrance fee is obviously not used to make any improvements to the internal services of the park. The guides have made many new 'short cut' paths through the jungle, but none are marked and it's always a guess where you'll end up. The good news is that if you are wandering on your own, the guards or guides will still give basic info on where you are or how to get to another location. A few of the main paths have simple signs, but most are leaning, fallen or difficult to read. There are 2 difference places within the park to find a bathroom, plus a nearby place to buy water & basic snacks. Later in the day they usually sell out of the bottled water, so take your own.
The park was open 6am to 6pm. If you go on the sunrise tour (leaves 4am), or the sunset tour (leaving by 9pm), you must be with a guide and pay the extra fee beyond the main park fee. The guides gently remind people that there are armed guards that walk around within the park as security all night.... Yet as I hiked within the ruins of the Lost World at 7am I came across 4 young people sleeping in bedrolls in one of the ruins.
If you buy souvenirs within the park you will get a better bargin if you have the local currency, but all of the souvenir stands accepted US dollars and credit cards. Almost all of the sales people spoke English, but it's helpful if you know some basic Spanish.
Remember to wear comfortable shoes & clothing since you will be hiking a LOT to see the various ruins. A small umbrella is very helpful to survive the afternoon showers since it's too hot to wear a rain jacket. Evenings were cool, but a long sleeve t-shirt worked great. Do NOT forget to bring bug repellent, or be ready to pay double the price to buy it at the shops.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank resqdew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tikal National Park
0.2 mi away
Jungle Lodge
Jungle Lodge
#1 of 2 in Tikal National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tikal Inn
Hotel Tikal Inn
#2 of 2 in Tikal National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
17.5 mi away
Camino Real Tikal
Camino Real Tikal
#1 of 6 in Santa Elena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
La Lancha Lodge
La Lancha Lodge
#2 of 6 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
16.9 mi away
Hotel Mon Ami
Hotel Mon Ami
#1 of 4 in El Remate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
17.0 mi away
La Casa De Don David
La Casa De Don David
#1 of 11 in El Remate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jaguar Inn Tikal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jaguar Inn Tikal

Property: Hotel Jaguar Inn Tikal
Address: Tikal National Park | Peten, Tikal National Park, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > Tikal National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tikal National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jaguar Inn Tikal 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel, located inside Tikal National Park, Guatemala, 15 minutes walk from the temples. 13 bungalows with private bathroom, hot water, ceiling fan (24 hours electricity). Restaurant with AC, Wi-Fi internet service, transport and tours, credit cards accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Jaguar Inn Tikal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing