We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it for the location”
Review of Jungle Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jungle Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Worth it for the location”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

The cabin rooms are fairly basic but perfectly adequate. The electricity only functioning from 5pm to 10pm each day is a nuisance, especially for early starts - which is the point of being there! The restaurant staff were friendly and the food was OK. The 'box breakfasts' were generous but American-style. Being able to walk into the ruins in less than 10 minutes is what it is all about.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    240
    132
    49
    19
See reviews for
133
280
34
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This was touted as the best of the three lodges to stay at when going to Tikal. I have to agree as while we were there I saw the other two. This was very convenient to the ruins at Tikal and the hotel staff was very helpful in finding a guide for us. I use a CPAP so I needed electricity at night and was able to get the hotel to keep the power on to our room for a nominal fee. The front desk should have had MORE CHANGE for the guests because it was hard to find change to enable us to tip the staff. The ATM's give you large bills and the front desk did not have change. The restaurant needs to be staffed a little better also since one night our dinner took almost an hour!

Room Tip: Make sure to bring smaller bills for tips of the wait staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GJG-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

The bungalow was nice and comfortable, electricity saving times were not an issue except on departure day before 6pm, but as the weather had been extremely rainy and I guess the room had been made a few days before we checked in, the sheets felt damp when slipping into them - not a nice sensation!
Food was fairly average, avoid the pasta, which is heavy and tasteless. Traditional dishes are much better. Staff tries, but is of uneven competence, weak, lukewarm coffee for breakfast.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BrigitteM21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

If you want to get the most out of your stay in Tikal, fork out for one of the 3 hotels at the entrance. Jungle lodge is the biggest and nearest, rooms dark, spotlessly clean, water just about caliente. Food ok, few tourists staying so staff seemed lacklustre.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MissBabs64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center Moriches, New York
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed at the Jungle Lodge for one night while visiting Tikal. It is a simple and rustic place. While we were there it was pouring down rain, so perhaps we did not see the facility at it's best. Our room was comfortable, the bathroom was beautiful and modern. The food service was OK, not great. But you've got to remember that you are in the middle of a jungle, if you need fine service and haute cuisine, don't come to Tikal. I should also mention that the Jungle Lodge uses it's own generators to provide electricity. I am not sure why thet have to do that, but again, it's a jungle. So the electricity is not always on. They do keep it on from 5:30 PM until 10:30 PM. Presumably you are in bed and asleep by that time.

The staff was helpful and hospitable. The front desk people spoke English, but other staff had limited English. The big dining area/lobby was quite beautiful, incorporating many local decorations into the building.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CenterMtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

My wife and I stayed 2 nights in a bungalow room. I emailed the lodge in Spanish using Google translate and got prompt replies from reservations. I call it a room rather than a bungalow because it shares a duplex with another bungalow room. The room next door was quiet, but that probably depends on who is staying there. The room was spacious, clean, and tidy. The shower was large, but hot water was not always available. Power was turned off at times, but not always at the same time each day. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and maintained, and the bungalows were accessed along stone pathways. It is very convenient to walking into the park. We visited Flores after we left and were glad we did not have to do that drive every day, although it would have given us better food options. We ate at the lodge's restaurant and had some good food and had some bad food. Some of the service was good and some bad. What was listed on the menu was not always served, and it depended on who was serving you as to whether you would get all the items listed on the menu. We found it was best to ask about each item listed in the menu in Spanish to verify if it would come with the meal. Normally, I do not worry too much about the sides, but just getting tortillas was a random and sometimes difficult process. WI-FI was randomly available at dial up speeds in the lobby; OK for the occasional text email, but not much else. There's no cell service unless you climb up a temple during the day. We booked sunrise and sunset tours at the lodge, but it rained at those times, and the tours go rain or shine. We enjoyed long walks through and around the ruins, and the convenience of being able to start early and stay late meant we could enjoy the park without crowds. The location of the lodge and the beautiful character of the grounds outweighs any of the negatives; just don't expect much for food and service.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Seawood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Visited Tikal for 2 nights with family (2 teens). We travelled in a private shuttle from Pana overnight and reached Jungle lodge at 7 in the morning and were pleasantly surprised at the reception we got. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The bungalow or cottage or room, whatever they call it, was outstanding. The cleanliness stood out the most. Everything is maintained so well, no cobwebs, or cracks, stains .... The washroom was excellent with a skylight ... so ecofriendly. The surroundings are well maintained, giving you the rustic feel, yet safe and clean. There is a very beautiful pool which we could not use as it was pretty cool in December.

Another notable feature of the Lodge is its restaurant, which not only has a lot of history behind it, but also serves excellent food. Breakfast is mostly included with the room tarriff and is delicious and sumptuous. We feasted on the Guatemalan breakfast with tortillas. The ambience is great too. There is a lounge at the entrance where you can connect to wifi and is a great place to relax.

The Lodge is right at the entrance of the National park and is very convenient. We booked our guide for the sunrise tour with them but you can also do it online or get a guide at the tourist info centre closeby. We were not carrying quetzales (Guatemalan currency) but the Lodge management gave us a good rate and did not fleece us like everyone else.

We visited the other 2 hotels in the Park area but they are no comparison to the Jungle Lodge although the food at Jaguar Inn was good too.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shail_Guggali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tikal National Park
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tikal Inn
Hotel Tikal Inn
#2 of 2 in Tikal National Park
873 reviews
24.9 mi away
Las Lagunas Boutique Hotel
17.4 mi away
Camino Real Tikal
Camino Real Tikal
#1 of 6 in Santa Elena
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Hotel Mon Ami
Hotel Mon Ami
#1 of 4 in El Remate
243 reviews
18.8 mi away
La Lancha Lodge
La Lancha Lodge
#2 of 6 in Santa Elena
247 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gringo Perdido
Hotel Gringo Perdido
#3 of 4 in El Remate
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Lodge

Property: Jungle Lodge
Address: | Parque Nacional Tikal, Tikal National Park 17013, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > Tikal National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tikal National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jungle Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 1952, the government of Guatemala assigned a piece of land to Mr. Antonio Ortiz Contreras for the construction of a hotel which will help with the logistics of the TIKAL PROJECT, and room and board for the archeologists. This project was supervised by the University of Pennsylvania with the collaboration of many other universities around the world. Form 1956 to 1969, 113 scientists worked in the Tikal Project, making it one of the longest archeological projects in the western hemisphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jungle Hotel Tikal National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing