We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great refuge in the jungle!”
Review of Jungle Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jungle Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Bailey, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great refuge in the jungle!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We recently stayed at the Jungle Lodge overnight during our 2 day visit to Tikal. We were informed by our tour guide that this was the best hotel in Tikal - and were NOT disappointed. The rooms were much newer than expected with fresh paint, spotlessly clean and well furnished with spacious, tiled bathrooms. We were informed that, due to diesel generator power, our electicity may go off from 3 to 6 AM - for whatever reason, maybe our judicious use of lighting/electricity during daylight hours, this never happened and we had delightfully hot water and lighting throughout. Contrary to our concerns, the mosquito netting for our bed was fully intact and we had no creepy crawlers in our room after hrs (though we did spray DEET at the door jam for insurance!). Our restaurant food was very good (again, MUCH better than expected) and service at the front office was friendly and always supportive. Though all personel spoke some English, I'm becoming convinced that learning spanish is a practical necessity for optimal travel in Central and South America! Our tour guide (Samuel/Chino) was most informative and mercifully directed us through shaded routes on our 4+ hour walking tour of the Tikal ruins, offered practical insights to mayan culture and even gave us some great tarantula and scorpion handling tips (not that I plan on making this a hobby!!). The Tikal tour was a great "once in a lifetime" experience and the Jungle Lodge afforded us a great refuge from our time in the jungle.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baileydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    238
    131
    49
    19
See reviews for
126
279
33
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
north carolina
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

I had read so many reviews about disappointed people staying in the park I wasn't sure which one to pick. Jungle lodge was a great choice for our 2 nights, which honestly should have been longer. Beautiful setting. Room large, airy, with large bathroom. Bed comfortable. Clean, changed towels every day. We had stopped on way to bring in large water to avoid expense and inconvenience of finding/buying water frequently. We always had 2 water bottles with us. I love ac. This of course is not possible in the jungle, but I was super comfortable. The electricity was on for limited times during the day, but basically early before 6, mid day and then evening. When generator is turned off, the back up battery worked almost all night. So ceiling fan moved air about. I had brought a small battery operated fan which I planned to lay right next to me :) but only used it a few hours the first night. Pool was a godsend. Had lunch there a few times. The walk ways to the bungalows are visually attractive but, like the cobblestones in antigua, they are awful to walk on. We ate only in this restaurant and it was fine. Their veggie options are really limited. So had to repeat a dish. One day my husband was not well. They brewed him a special tea and went out of their way to make sure he had food that was good for him, including making plain rice. and rice in any form is not on the menu. The location is superb with monkeys and exotic birds everywhere.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I stayed during the turn of the Mayan calendar (B'aktun) in December 2012. It was a VERY busy time for Tikal and everything was "Sold Out". However I just went anyway and was able to score a room!

The bad side (and this is my fault for not booking in advance) is that I had to move rooms each night of my stay (4 nights) because they were sold out, however cancellations did arise.

The staff was VERY helpful in looking for rooms for me each day. The restaurant staff is also very helpful and very eager to serve. One young man was there after studying hospitality in Guat City and really had a passion for service. The front desk agents were all very helpful and sincere. Even though they were having the busiest week of the century, the kept cool and calm.

The rooms are all clean. I stayed in a Shared Bath and a Bungalow. Shared bath was a great room and would choose it again if traveling cheap again as the room was very comfortable and the bathrooms were as well. Best thing about this place? HOT WATER!

Electricity seemed to be turned off (or went off) each night around 3-4AM for about and hour or so. This would happen every now again, but expected when you are in the middle of the jungle...so don't complain people! This goes for the WiFi too!!! I was SHOCKED that there was WiFi, however it would go out for up to an hour or so. People did get upset, but come on! We are in the JUNGLE!!!

Great location and great staff. Great pool too!!!

I WILL be back!

Room Tip: No all rooms have the same furniture. Make sure your room has a shelf or closet, 1 of my rooms did n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmchf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

A comfortable bungalow with two beds and good en suite facilities.
Wonderful peaceful place to stay and enjoyed time in the National Park and seeing the monkeys, birds and crocodiles.
Helpful staff. Basic food.. Ran out of items quickly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsV480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Based on various TripAdvisor reviews, it was tough to choose which jungle hotel to stay in while seeing Tikal but we were happy with this one. Rooms were basic but clean and right in the heart of the jungle so you hear all kinds of wildlife (we saw toucans, parakeets and howler monkeys) and saw beautiful plants and flowers. There were very few bugs at this time of year so we didn't even need to use bug dope. Food was excellent, try the appetizer with eggplant, guacamole is great but avoid steak -- it's not like we're used to in North America, the skinny cattle should have been a hint but we didn't think. The Tikal experience was the highlight of our three weeks in Belize and Guatemala, so glad we stayed a couple nights here. Pool was lovely and refreshing and service was incredible at the hotel. Too bad front desk staffer Josua left, he was great!

Room Tip: Bungalows with private baths are spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2013

If you're going to see Tikal, then know this lodge is in a great location to make your time there more efficient. If you want a fancy resort in the jungle, this isn't for you. We are very glad we stayed there as it allowed us to easily do the sunrise tour, day tour, and sunset tour all in one day. The food was fine and the service good. There were not many bugs in our room, but hey, you have to expect some in the jungle! The power went off every night about 9-10p and back on about 6am. The wifi in the lobby was not too reliable, and quite slow, but we didn't expect any Internet before we arrived, so it was okay. Definitely bring a good flashlight and bug repellant!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFS823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

A simple room, but spacious with a modern shower. We were pleased with the service and friendliness at the lodge and dining room. Our guide, Antonio "Tony" was the highlight of our tour with his firsthand knowledge of the park and it's history. His passion really showed and we spent two days with him.

Room Tip: The bungalows with two double beds were roomy and the bathroom seemed to have been updated recently...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tikal National Park
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tikal Inn
Hotel Tikal Inn
#2 of 2 in Tikal National Park
873 reviews
24.9 mi away
Las Lagunas Boutique Hotel
17.4 mi away
Camino Real Tikal
Camino Real Tikal
#1 of 6 in Santa Elena
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Hotel Mon Ami
Hotel Mon Ami
#1 of 4 in El Remate
238 reviews
18.8 mi away
La Lancha Lodge
La Lancha Lodge
#2 of 6 in Santa Elena
245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jaguar Inn Tikal
Hotel Jaguar Inn Tikal
#1 of 1 in Tikal National Park
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Lodge

Property: Jungle Lodge
Address: | Parque Nacional Tikal, Tikal National Park 17013, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > Tikal National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tikal National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jungle Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 1952, the government of Guatemala assigned a piece of land to Mr. Antonio Ortiz Contreras for the construction of a hotel which will help with the logistics of the TIKAL PROJECT, and room and board for the archeologists. This project was supervised by the University of Pennsylvania with the collaboration of many other universities around the world. Form 1956 to 1969, 113 scientists worked in the Tikal Project, making it one of the longest archeological projects in the western hemisphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jungle Hotel Tikal National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing