We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great hideaway from which to explore Tikal”
Review of Hotel Bahia Taitza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Bahia Taitza
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed April 22, 2010

This is a very spacious and relaxed hotel on the edge of a lake. There are kayaks and a pedalo if you want to explore the lake, or you can lie in one of the hammocks and take the occasional dip in the lake. The owner is also friendly, helpful and he cooks great pizzas too! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malf196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 28 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2010

There is not much in Northern Guatemala, so if you are expecting a 5 star hotel then you should consider somewhere else. But if you are going to the El Peten region you must know what you are going there for - a real connection to the culture, people and history of the Guatemalan people. This hotel is a haven in what is a very poor area of the country. It is a beautiful setting right on the lake. The owner is very personable and makes every effort to to ensure your comfort. So go, wander the towns and connect with the people, take a bus to Tikal and then return at night to the peaceful setting of Hotel Bahia Taitza

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maya1560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2010

We would highly recommend this hotel. The rooms were clean and spacious, the grounds were beautiful and the food was great. The owner's dogs were an added bonus (2 goldens and 2 boxers). My kids loved playing with them. The dogs were well behaved and friendly! The owner, Mauriceo, was a wonderful host. You wouldn't find a better place to stay in Peten.

Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
1  Thank laneville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2009

My husband and I had the unfortunate experience of staying in this place for 3 nights last week. The rooms are a disgrace - no glass in windows, no proper curtains, inadequate storage furniture, cold tap only on sink in room, 2 plastic sealed "glasses" of drinking water. It qualifies as no more than a hostel for back packers. I can only think that the other contributors on this sight have never stayed in a hotel. We certainly did not have any delicious food. 3 nights was too long.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnLewisNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2008

This is highly recommended for anyone visiting Tikal.

Our group of 2 families (9 people in total) stayed here last week during our trip to Tikal. Our host, Mauricio, was a great guy who made us feel so welcome and comfortable, and made us fantastic pizzas in his special pizza oven. (His English is also perfect, by the way.)

We enjoyed the hammocks by the rocky beach, and used the 2 kayaks available to us. Our kids loved the paddle boat as well.

Our rooms were simple but comfortable. We had a queen plus a twin bed in our room. There is only cold water in the sink (which is fine, given the warm weather) but hot water is available in the shower. The porch in front of our rooms was a comfortable place to read and chat.

The hotel is located 3 minutes walking from San Jose, where you can get ice cream and visit the local aqua park.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wallingfordgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2007

Hotel Bahia Taitza is the best place to stay if you want to see the Peten or Tikal. Most visitors stay in Flores, a charming, but touristy, town, or Santa Elena, a sprawling, charmless and dangerous city by the airport.

Hotel Bahia Taitza is a resort-like property of cottages with a private beach on the the cleaner and deeper side of Lago Peten Itza. It is on the edge of San Jose, a pretty town of about 1,000, and within walking distance of San Andres, a very friendly town of about (20,000?). I was lucky enough to see San Andres during the City Fair and Town Beauty Contest and felt that I had gotten a glimpse of real small-town Guatemala, far away from the typical tourist destinations.

Acevedo is a very kind, thoughtful owner-manager, and the fact that he lives on the property ensures that his staff is always attentive. All of our meals were prepared by him, and he would regularly ask us when we wanted to eat, scheduling everything around our plans. He even gave us rides to San Andres and got the paddle boat out for the kids. One of his staff even gave us a boat ride across the lake to go to the zoo.

All the cottages had plenty of space, were clean and had private bathrooms and porches with views of the lake. Acevedo speaks fluent Spanish and English. In fact, when people ask about his lack of an accent when he speaks English (he sounds like a Californian), he says, "When I was a kid, we had cable."

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank EGH_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2007

The setting was wonderful, the lodge is incredible, so much peace. The food was a special unexpected treat (awsome) Diffinetly down for a comback

wish I never had to leave

ps
try the jungle tour

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank conejosito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
221.4 mi away
Hotel Soleil Pacifico
Hotel Soleil Pacifico
#2 of 2 in San Jose
146 reviews
11.9 mi away
Camino Real Tikal
Camino Real Tikal
#1 of 6 in Santa Elena
360 reviews
7.3 mi away
Las Lagunas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Hotel Mon Ami
Hotel Mon Ami
#1 of 4 in El Remate
247 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bolontiku Hotel Boutique
Bolontiku Hotel Boutique
#1 of 1 in San Andres
136 reviews
7.8 mi away
La Lancha Lodge
La Lancha Lodge
#2 of 6 in Santa Elena
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bahia Taitza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bahia Taitza

Address: Barrio el Porvenir, San Jose 17002, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > San Jose
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range: $41 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting on the shores of crystal clear, warm waters of the Lake Petén Itzá, we find the Bahía Taitza. With it’s almost 12,000 square meters and about 200 meters of beach. The Bahía Taitza is located in San José, a municipio from Petén. Covered mostly by fruit trees, grass, and plants. 16 beautiful and comfortable bedrooms, one bar-restaurant, an out side dinner, lots of resting and natural beauties. Making our guest feel like they are in a little paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bahia Taitza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bahia Taitza Guatemala/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing