We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleeping in a small ashtray”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
B&B Villa de Don Andres (Hotel)
Ranked #3 of 33 Quetzaltenango B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I read the review in the Lonely Planet and booked one night.Location ideal for access to the center of town and and the owners were kind and helpful. The room was tiny with a twin bed,closet,little tv,small dorm type fridge,and a private bathroom with only cold water. Those factors were tolerable but the room was seriously like being in an ashtray although there was a no smoking sign posted. The other drawback was the pounding disco music that thumped until 1 am. I had planned on the traffic noise. It was room #7 and you need to avoid it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank salweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 31 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012

Found hotel clean and staff helpful but on busy steer in centre of Xela so lots of cars and bus noise during the day. This does stop at night. Also music venue nearby which could be heard.""............"......................................"...........................................................................................

Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here very much. Lucia and her assistant Maria couldn't have been nicer, and were so helpful in recommending restaurants, providing maps, arranging side trips, etc. The location of this place can't be beat, since it is just a couple of blocks from the main plaza. Our room was very nice and spacious, and the shower was good and hot. We had constant wifi, and all this for a really reasonable rate.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnaandCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel and were disappointed by what we received and by the management of the hotel.

On arrival, we were given room no. 1. which is a small double room with an inadequate shower. The warmth of the water was fine, but to access the hot water you needed to run the water at a very slow trickle. Soon after, the toilet blocked, too. Also, the room lacks some privacy as people are able to see into the room through the glass door.

The next day we asked to changed the rooms and, with some reluctance from the management, we were able to do so. We were placed in room number 2 which was a lot better than room 1. It was spacious and it had 2 double beds. More importantly, the shower worked a lot better than the first one.

After changing rooms, I questioned myself why would they put us in an inferior, inadequate room when they had better rooms available? Especially, as there was almost nobody else staying in the hotel - most of the rooms were empty.

Also, after changing rooms, the management of the hotel spoke openly and rudely about us for the rest of the duration of our stay there. We could hear them talking about us constantly from our room. They acted as if we were to blame for everything that happened and seemed to be looking for anything possible to get angry about. This is totally unprofessional and inappropriate.

On the website, internet is advertised as being unlimited if you pay for the corporative rate. We paid this rate, but found that the hotel repeatedly turned off the internet service throughout the day and night. We repeatedly had to ask them to turn on the internet to be able to access it.

The good points about the hotel:

- the breakfast included was good, with a variety of choices. It was well made and presented.
- the staff were friendly and helpful.
- the rooms minus room no. 1 and the singles room(s) are large.
- the place is safe, secure and clean.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waalitj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

I really enjoyed Xela and would recommend this hotel to others. The location is right near the park so there are lots of places to eat and drink nearby. The hotel breakfast was not so great and there our plenty nice places nearby. We went up near the theater on 14st. and found lots of places for dancing. The rooms are old but nice and ours had a sitting area and a desk to do some work. I would stay there again the next time I make it to Xela.

Room Tip: Ich Bin Student is a Bar nearby that was really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

I was recently in Quetzaltenango on a family trip and was told by a local that the Hotel Modelo was the nicest place in town. We booked our first night at the Hotel Modelo, but were unable to get a second night because a convention was coming to town. We decided to take a chance on the Villa de Don Andres for our second night, and we are so glad we did! Much nicer than the Hotel Modelo. The Modelo had a pleasant staff, but the rooms were sparse and dreary, and the street noise was relentless. On the other hand, Villa de Don Andres had larger, more comfortable rooms (we booked the 4-person suite), with nice decor and comfier beds. Our room was near a street, but there was significantly less noise than at the Modelo. The breakfast was light, but quite nice and the staff was attentive and friendly. The location was great, too- about a block from the city's central park. My family and I definitely recommend this place over the Modelo.
As an aside: My family and I highly recommend Adrenalina Tours if you are looking into any excursions during your stay in Quetzaltenago. They took us to a sacred lagoon (Chicabal) about an hour from the city and natural hot springs (Fuentes Georginas) about two hours out of the city, all at a very reasonable rate-- I believe it was ~$200 for 5 people to take the two trips which took up an entire day and included a shuttle driver and a guide. Our driver Jose was very friendly and super helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingCellist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2009

Spent 3 night her and thoroughly enjoyed it. Start the day with good breakfast here then explore the city or markets, or surrounding villages. Free internet, big rooms, solar water, gets cool in evenings. Only 1 block from the Parque Central which in Xela is the towns main attraction. Nice gift store on site and close to resturants and nightlife.
Great location , very safe , owners willing to help and assist with tours or questions.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanannman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quetzaltenango hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel y Bungalows Santa Ana
Hotel y Bungalows Santa Ana
#15 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
4 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Modelo
Hotel Modelo
#1 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pension Bonifaz Hotel
Pension Bonifaz Hotel
#3 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Real Plaza
Villa Real Plaza
#14 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
41 reviews
0 mi away
Anna Inn Hotel
Anna Inn Hotel
#5 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
46 reviews
1.5 mi away
Latam Hotel Plaza Pradera Quetzaltenango
Latam Hotel Plaza Pradera Quetza...
#2 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Villa de Don Andres (Hotel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Villa de Don Andres (Hotel)

Address: Avenida 13 # 6-16 | Zona 1, Quetzaltenango 09001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Quetzaltenango Department > Quetzaltenango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Quetzaltenango
Price Range: $72 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Villa de Don Andres (Hotel) 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B & B Villa de Don Andres is a small hotel located one block from Central Park Quetzaltenango. In the historic center of the beautiful city of Los Altos . It is located in a beautiful house with lots of history and where details make the difference , it's a safe and quiet place in a familiar environment . We have eight themed rooms in honor of Quetzaltenango, single, double , triple, quadruple . All have private bathrooms and hot water. With services : room - breakfast , wifi , laundry. We support the community with selling crafts and regional food group classes . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your B&B Villa de Don Andres (Hotel) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa De Don Andres Hotel Quetzaltenango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing