We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treasure in Xela”
Review of Hotel Modelo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Modelo
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Quetzaltenango
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2011

A top rated Hotel now and then as in my 1960's travel guide that my father had given to me. The family made us feel welcome and helped to make us enjoy Xela as if we were born here. The food and staff were excellent and provided a warm atmosphere of home away from home. Wi-Fi and internet was a bonus! We look forward to our return and hope to bring more of our family to Hotel Modelo.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonJoseLuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 196 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2011

We love to go back to this wonderful Hotel owned by a family that has always been so nice!They go out of their way to make your stay memorable. The rooms are very nice and clean and the breakfast is delicious. They keep improving with time!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lomas de Tzununá
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This hotel is owned by a wonderful family that is responsive to the hotel guests. Everyone at this hotel was friendly, helpful, and went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. The food is excellent and the rooms large and extremely clean. It is a very safe and comfortable environment. Free wireless internet is a plus as is the location only a few blocks from the central park. For travelers who are not fluent Spanish speakers, they speak English here. You will not find a better place to stay in Quetzaltenango!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

well they gives us the worse room they have the staff in the lobby was not nice and the houseker lady would not give us towels at less we give her the towels we use before ( crazy RIGHT?) she said she need to count them lol !! ok i gets worse one time i call the lobby to request toilet paper the lady response ok i will verified if it is truth , they never ask if we need service in the rooms and never change the pitcher of water ughhh ,i mean i could go on and on about all the bad tihings but i will never go back there except for the ladies from the kitchen they are wonderful !!!! the owner was so hateful never said a word to us o but when i complaint about the service she got nasty and never apologize make look that was are fault for not asking eveyday the services well and very noisy at night with the night clubs too make sure is the best option for u because u may regret it like me.

Room Tip: make sure not get the rooms and the back patio is even worse
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daniela v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Wonderful, family-run hotel right in the center of Xela. Been there twice so far and was very satisfied both times. The old building has lots of charme. The halls are like a little museum filled with all kinds of interesting things. The rooms have wooden floors and ceilings. Everything is very clean. The staff is very helpful and friendly. For me this is THE place to stay in Xela, nothing luxurious but excellent hotel for the price and you can feel that it’s family-run and owned and not some impersonal chain hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeannine2708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

After reading the Trip Advisor reviews on Hotel Modelo in Quetzaltenango, I knew enough to request a remodeled, quiet room off the street. Well, my 13 year old son and I were in room #8 on a Friday night, and it felt like there was a concert in the room. Singing and music outside until all hours. Then, we were awakened by all the noise in the kitchen in the am coming thru the screened window in the bathroom (no glass, just a screen). On the positive side, while not in any way luxurious, the room itself was clean, with nice towels, albeit the sheets were pretty well worn. The property itself is quaint, and the rooms have hardwood floors. There were 2 people in our room and the cost was $50 including breakfast and free internet. The hotel is also located close to the main square and the gentleman at the front desk was very helpful with directions and things to do.

Room Tip: bring earplugs :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrs_Clark_Griswold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

We stayed at this hotel due to family issues in Quetzaltenango, Guatemala. We were disappointed. We did not feel welcomed by the management. The owners of the hotel did not make us feel welcomed or valued. We believe it is because my family appeared to be common people from Quetzaltenango and not the usual tourist., The only people who made us feel welcomed were the workers in the kitchen. Another note is they charge for each person and not for the room. That was disappointing.

Another complaint is that they charged us for each thing asked for. During the morning time, or time for breakfast, I went to ask for a cup of coffee before going in to eat. They charged me for that. One afternoon, I asked for "a little milk" to put in a cup of coffee and I was charged for that. We also, by accident, broke a small drinking glass and I was charged for that.

I do realize the location is a historic one but management has not upgraded the rooms to make them comfortable. I do remember staying at this hotel some years before when I was married and all was much better at that time.

My biggest complaint is not being made to feel welcomed or valued. I will not return.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoseDiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quetzaltenango hotels
1.4 mi away
Latam Hotel Plaza Pradera Quetzaltenango
Latam Hotel Plaza Pradera Quetza...
#2 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
29 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pension Bonifaz Hotel
Pension Bonifaz Hotel
#3 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
189 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel y Bungalows Santa Ana
Hotel y Bungalows Santa Ana
#13 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villa Real Plaza
Villa Real Plaza
#14 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
40 reviews
2.5 mi away
Anna Inn Hotel
Anna Inn Hotel
#5 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
46 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Las Americas
Hotel Las Americas
#6 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Modelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modelo

Address: Avenida 14 | Zona 1, Quetzaltenango 09001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Quetzaltenango Department > Quetzaltenango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Quetzaltenango
Price Range: $69 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Modelo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1892, set in the heart of Quetzaltenango, Hotel Modelo has proudly kept up with the needs of visitors to Quetzaltenango, conserving its beautiful building intact. All rooms have been decorated with original artwork and regional handicrafts. Hotel Modelo has been a family run establishment since the beginning and four generations of heart put into it have allowed us to understand our costumer's needs and meet them beyond their standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Modelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modelo Hotel Quetzaltenango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing