We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pension Bonifaz Hotel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Quetzaltenango
USA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
Reviewed August 25, 2008

Stayed two nights in Xela at Pension Bonifaz at the recommendation of staff at the Guatemala City Westin. Very disappointed in the accommodations. Good location on the plaza, but otherwise very plain, hard beds, poor pillows, adequate but unimpressive bath, lousy view, intermittent cable and internet, and my daughter got sick from the food at the restaurant. Not recommended, and I am surprised the staff at the Westin would recommend such a place. Maybe there is nothing better in Xela, but since it is the second largest city in the country, that doesn't say much about hotels in Guatemala.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Hard beds, food
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank travelkenUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    48
    72
    23
    4
See reviews for
32
46
8
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque NM
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2008

The Bonifaz is centrally located. Because it sprawls up a hillside no more than 2 or 3 of its 5 floors overlap so if you are on the 4th or 5th floor expect to climb a lot of stairs as there are no elevators. Our room was on the 5th floor. It did not have AC but the evening temp was ok without. The major problem was water. I showered in the evening, and shortly after the hot water ran out. My wife showered the next morning, and shortly after the hot water ran out and then the cold as well, with no water at all from about 6:30 to 7:15AM just as tour groups were getting up!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — problems with water supply
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tripsandmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Quetzaltenango hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
LOS ANGELES
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2008

Beautiful hotel, friendly staff, good food and great location makes Pension Bonifaz my favorite hotel when I'm in Xela.
I can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — Great food, the breakfast is increadible. Cable TV. Friendly staff. Romantic views of Xela.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RICARDOLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
360 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2007

Pension Bonifaz is not my favorite hotel, but it was clean and the rooms were large. Any noise was from the outside traffic, and it didn't feel crowded. The location is great - centrally located to get to most everything touristy in Xela.

  • Liked — price, room size, breakfast buffet
  • Disliked — not very interesting
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sablatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2007

I have just returned from spending 2 nights in Pension Bonifaz in Quetzaltenango. Whilst the hotel is without a doubt the best in the city it really isn't great. The rooms are large, but quite stuffy, even leaving all the windows open. Also the bathrooms are quite old and the drainage doesn't really work in the showers with the result that you are standing in water up to your shins by the end of your shower. One positive is that the staff are very friendly and the breakfast buffet at the weekend is very tasty.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lucky_Shamrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2007

Xela is not an exciting city and Bonifaz is not an exciting hotel. If you need a bed and a shower, you'll find it here. Centrally located, that's all there is to say about Bonifaz... Book a trip from Xela to indigenous villages in the surroundings (and hot springs in the mountains) and then take the bus and get on...

  • Liked — Central location
  • Disliked — Comfort, service, etc.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M&CUtrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quetzaltenango hotels
1.6 mi away
Latam Hotel Plaza Pradera Quetzaltenango
Latam Hotel Plaza Pradera Quetza...
#2 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
17 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Modelo
Hotel Modelo
#1 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
186 reviews
2.6 mi away
Anna Inn Hotel
Anna Inn Hotel
#4 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Villa Real Plaza
Villa Real Plaza
#13 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
40 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Las Americas
Hotel Las Americas
#6 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
18 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel y Bungalows Santa Ana
Hotel y Bungalows Santa Ana
#12 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Bonifaz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Bonifaz Hotel

Property: Pension Bonifaz Hotel
Address: 4 St 10-50 | Zone 1, Quetzaltenango 09001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Quetzaltenango Department > Quetzaltenango
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Quetzaltenango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pension Bonifaz Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pension Bonifaz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing