We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel, maybe even upscale”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pension Bonifaz Hotel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Quetzaltenango
CHARLOTTESVILLE VA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very good hotel, maybe even upscale”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice now. Very good and safe accommodations; very nice restaurant, good service. The only issue was that the restaurant did not open until 7AM and there was no coffee to be had before that. I would recommend to my friends that they stay at the Bonifaz.

Me he alojado en este hotel dos veces. Muy buenas y seguras habitaciones, muy buen restaurante, buen servicio. El único problema fue que el restaurante no abre hasta las 7 en la mañana y no había café que se tenía antes. Se lo recomendaría a mis amigos que deben quedar en El Bonifaz.

Room Tip: If you have a room along the street, there may be some noise early in the morning from the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NOPGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    48
    71
    23
    4
See reviews for
32
46
8
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
138 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Its an architecturally nice hotel and it retains the 'olde worldy' quaintness of the area. The food is reasonable there also. Inside the rooms though they are of a 3star class in my opinion. The TV remote is secured to the wall with a wire cable, hangers are permanently attached, there was no air conditioning and the beds were passably comfortable at best.
Having siad all that its fine for a few days if staying in Quetsaltenango and its location is absolutely superb for the city centre.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Businesstravellerr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I liked Pension Bonifaz and would stay here again. It's a vast, older, rambling hotel with character -- nothing fancy, but a major step above the backpacker/hostel options in the downtown area. Good weekday value at $68 USD/night, including taxes and a decent breakfast with eggs or pancakes. My room on the 4th floor was quiet, super clean and featured a delightful private outdoor patio with a nice view towards the plaza but no furniture. The bathroom had readily available hot water, a good hair dryer, decent amenities, and all plumbing functioned with no problems. However, this is not a business hotel. There's no wifi in upstairs rooms, and only one of the several computers in the "business center" next to the front desk seemed to offer internet. There's also no elevator, which can make climbing the stairs a breathless affair for people unaccustomed to the altitude in Guatemala's beautiful western highlands. Of the two queen-sized beds in my room, one mattress was saggy while the other was rock hard. Good pillows though. The interior pool area is clean and spacious but the water is unheated. A secure interior parking lot is located on the 4th floor level.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room towards the back, away from the main square. A nearby cafe offers free wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophieChar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

When I checked into Pension Bonifaz, the immediate impression I had was, "I am not quite sure what all the fuss is about." I had heard goods things, but quickly learned there are many trade-offs here, and at a significant price (nearly $100/night-ridiculously overpriced for Xela). The first question you should ask yourself when you arrive is, do you want to use the internet? Because I am here for work, the immediate answer I had was yes. Well, when you select the internet option it means that you must stay on the first floor which overlooks and is open to the dining room, reception, and the banquet hall is just off to the side. This results in a lot of noise. If you are going with this option, I HIGHLY recommend earplugs. They were my life saver. Second question, do you want hot water? Then the trade off is, you have to come during their summer. They only use solar. Despite the size of the hotel and the prices they are charging for the rooms, they are VERY hesitant to put on their water heaters (yes they do have them, but it takes an argument to get them to turn them on, and then once they do, it takes about an hour to an hour and a half to have a proper hot shower). Another trade-off, do you want a great location? Well, Bonifaz is it. But it means being next to busy and noisy streets, and a hotel that has less than adequate services, including the fact that not all the bathrooms are fully functional. So make sure to test your toilet to see if it flushes before you accept the room. Yes, there is free breakfast, but given the price, it should be free. And you can get a fantastic breakfast lots of places around Xela for around Q25 ($3), and other less expensive hotels offer breakfast included as well. So don't let this be a determining factor. There are other places here that offer a lot more for a lot less. And given how easy Xela is to get around (you literally can walk the whole city with ease), you should consider locations that aren't right at the park. There are places that are close to the park with just as many if not more services for less and a lot less noise. I have been in four different rooms here. Again, all with trade-offs. The staff have been friendly enough, but every response has been ultimately the same, and that is, "We just work here, so we can't do anything about it." (Except for the housekeeping staff, they are more than worth their weight!). They say really it is up to the owners to improve the internet, put in a functioning plumbing system, and guarantee hot water. What I say is, it is up to us the consumers. If we refuse to pay high prices for a place that needs some serious upgrades, then maybe those duenos will actually do something to make this place live up to the potential it has. But until then, there are better options out there in Xela that will give you a better night's sleep, services that are helpful like a functioning bathroom and internet, and a friendly front desk staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorkAroundWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Quetzaltenango hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
MELBOURNE
Level Contributor
108 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

One of the better hotels in Xela but way overpriced. We stayed here for 1 night and moved to the opposite side of parque central to another hotel for half the cost with similar great location. This has almost a European feel with a pool on the 3rd level (which can be noisy if you have adjacent rooms).
Breakfast service is good but food is bland. Room quality is very comfortable and should be expected for the price.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool on the 3rd level
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank al_ditto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The hotel was rated as one of the finer hotels in this beautiful city, but our stay was very unsatisfactory. The worst part was the quality of the beds, especially the mattress. My wife and I woke up with back pain. The second night there was no hot water, without any announcement. When I called in they laconically said this would be fixed by the next morning, which it was, but all night we were kept awake by the terrible noises of the repairs. The toilet in our room did not flush properly and took as many as 5 times to clean. On top of this, it should be noted that there are no elevators and we had to walk up 5 stairs to our room. The service was very friendly, however, and the location is very good.

Room Tip: Don't go up to any higher floor, since there is no view and you will have to climb many stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yaron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus Junction, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2013

When I first stepped into the hotel, I thought it was amazing. We parked on what appears to be the fourth floor. Then, we got to our rooms on the fifth floor. I had a room with 2 queen beds, 1 rollaway twin bed, a TV, a tiny balcony, and a bathroom with complimentary mineral water. I never swam in the pool because we didn't hear about the pool until after we returned home. Overall, this hotel had great food, comfortable rooms, and is conveniently located in the heart of town.

Room Tip: The suite at the end of the 5th floor has a fireplace and several other luxury items.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quetzaltenango hotels
1.6 mi away
Latam Hotel Plaza Pradera Quetzaltenango
Latam Hotel Plaza Pradera Quetza...
#2 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
15 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Modelo
Hotel Modelo
#1 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
180 reviews
2.6 mi away
Anna Inn Hotel
Anna Inn Hotel
#4 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Las Americas
Hotel Las Americas
#6 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
17 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Real Plaza
Villa Real Plaza
#13 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel y Bungalows Santa Ana
Hotel y Bungalows Santa Ana
#12 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Bonifaz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Bonifaz Hotel

Property: Pension Bonifaz Hotel
Address: 4 St 10-50 | Zone 1, Quetzaltenango 09001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Quetzaltenango Department > Quetzaltenango
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Quetzaltenango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pension Bonifaz Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Pension Bonifaz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing