We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over-priced average Italian food!”

Cardinalli Italian Restaurant
Ranked #32 of 130 Restaurants in Quetzaltenango
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in the heart of the old part of Quetzaltenango
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Over-priced average Italian food!”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This restaurant is nicely decorated with italian stuff all over and friendly staff, however, all dishes are relatively expensive and the two we tried did not deliver good value for that money. The tagliatelle with ham and peas (85Q) was in a nice creamy sauce but the ham was of such poor quality (and completely pink) and the peas were dry and not doing anything good in there. The second dish was a salami pizza that for 95Q was expected to be great. Again we got dissapointed as it was swimming in cheese, not baked enough and was generally just a mediocre pizza. The place seems to have an ambition of serving really italian quality food but does not deliver...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tulletrolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    21
    10
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quetzaltenango, Guatemala
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pretty good Italian restaurant”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Expensive, but good pizza. And the pizzas are also quite big. Absolutely worth it if you crave pizza in Guatemala!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank HermanNor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Looks I-Talian, needs work.”
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

As they say in Guate, "es muy simpatico!" As the decor and atmosphere gives you lots of things to distract you from a long day of sight seeing and possibly hiking.

The menu is quite extensive, with lots of pizza combos and dishes with seafood.

We didn't try the seafood dishes, as we tend to stay away from such items unless we're close to the source. Instead we ordered a Margarita pizza, which my husband took issue with, as it wasn't a "standard" Margarita style pizza. I had no issues, as the menu clearly stated its ingredients to be not unlike a simple cheese pizza, so I was satisfied.

We also ordered a different pasta dish which thankfully we shared as it was really much heavier than I should have had, but that was my issue, not the restaurant.

Regarding the staff, they were great! Polite, prompt, and exhibited grace under pressure. The neighboring party made me cringe when I saw fellow U.S. citizens make major social faux pas towards the other waiter who was taking care of them.

It always amazes me when people from the U.S. are ignorant of those in the service industry, especially in 3rd world countries. On this occasion, the large party of 12, wanted to leave dollars as tip, which might seem generous, however their glaring ignorance of the extra effort required to exchange international currency and then to state aloud that they would just hand off their left overs to "some of the homeless people on the street" was embarrassing. However, their waiter did his job with grace, to which we later complemented him on.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bradandmilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Feria, Texas
Level Contributor
149 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Try the calzone, menu item #19”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Bennie Cardinalli, the owner of Cardinalli's Italian Restaurant, has been in Quetzaltenango (Xela) for many years and puts a lot of effort into putting out a quality product. He is originally from Italy, as are all of the ingredients in his dishes, except for the vegetables. The atmosphere is charming, with hundreds of empty wine bottles hanging from the wall and, of course, portraits of Christopher Columbus and Frank Sinatra.

I ate lunch at Cardinalli's (as it is better known) on Saturday, June 30, 2012. I had a calzone (menu item #19, Q78), and a Canada Dry ginger ale (Q11). Disappointingly, there was no ice available for the drink. The price seemed high for the calzone, but it was delicious and HUGE. I was not hungry again for the rest of the day. A Q9 tip was included with the bill, bringing the total to Q98. I can't afford to eat there every day, but it is a nice place for a special treat from time to time. Diners should be aware that a 10% tip (propina) is normally included in the bill, so include that fact in your calculations as you leave the table.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip_Wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
182 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good Pizza”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

A proper well established Italian restaurant owned by an Italian from New York. Not cheap though.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank john_ivycottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cardinalli Italian Restaurant also viewed

Quetzaltenango, Quetzaltenango Department
Quetzaltenango, Quetzaltenango Department
 
Quetzaltenango, Quetzaltenango Department
Quetzaltenango, Quetzaltenango Department
 
Quetzaltenango, Quetzaltenango Department
Quetzaltenango, Quetzaltenango Department
 

Been to Cardinalli Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing