We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best hostels in Central America”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Renaissance

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Renaissance
Ranked #1 of 35 Quetzaltenango B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best hostels in Central America”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

We stayed with Thijs for 2 weeks whilst doing spanish school in Xela and it was fantastic. The location is great and only a short walk to the main areas of interest in town, The guesthouse itself is beautiful and incredibly comfortable. It feels like home away from home which is so nice after backpacking for a long time. The rooms are really spacious and comfortably furnished, great hot water showers, an aweseome TV/lounge area and several nice outdoor areas to relax and soak up the sun.

Thijs makes everyone feel welcome and Poepie his dog is beautiful and much loved by everyone.

I recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    42
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
18
122
44
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leon, Nicaragua
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

Where do I begin? everything about this guesthouse was top notch!
Great location. Good sized rooms, with comfy beds. Nice clean bathrooms and showers with hot water which is definately needed in Xela!
Really nice lounge area with a big flat-screen TV with loads of films to watch, if you want a recommendation then Thijs (the owner) was always on hand to help.
Thijs is a really friendly man who makes you feel welcome.
And his amazing dog Poepie (poopy) is the friendliest dog, despite barking when you first arrive.
The main attraction of this place is that it instantly becomes a home away from home!
And all for a mere 90 Q for a room per night. Bargain!
If / when I return to Xela I will defiantly head to Casa Renaissance!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BristolianAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

In may i stayed for one week at Casa Renaissance Guesthous!
The owner Thijs, who is also from Holland just like me was such a nice guy !
When you want a good conversation or advise you can come to Thijs!
The rooms that Casa Renaissance offers are more then fine, The have everything you want!

I really realized this when i leaved Xela and saw other Hostels.
I don't wanna exaggerate but i had such a good time there and for this i'm thijs very Gratefull!
Thijs continue your dream and i will see you next time in Guatamala!
Hasta luego amigo
Greets
Groetjes,

Rutger Josemans

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rutgerjosemans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

I loved this place; if I make it back to Xela I will most definitely stay here again.

The rooms are very spacious, extremely clean, and something that is not easy to find for a good price in Guatemala are the amazing showers.

There is a super comfy living room with a fat flat screen tv and a huge amount of movies with something for anyones taste, a kitchen, and large patio and even another smaller one.

There are rooms with private bathrooms that are nice and spacious if that is important to you. But I am picky about bathrooms and I was extremely happy with the public showers and restrooms. The entire place is extremely clean and like I said, the showers are amazing.. showers are important to me.

I can not more highly recommend a place at this price range.

The owner is super friendly and more than happy to help with whatever.

Yet another amazing attribute to this place is the amazing location. You are a two minute walk away from the Parque Central, the center of the city.

I am not one to write places a review, in fact I have never actually gotten around to writing any others, but i felt compelled to write this place a review. It is definitely a hidden gem.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielv33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

My friends and I were truly, truly BLESSED to have stumbled upon Casa Renaissance (www.casarenaissance.com) on Trip Advisor... We spent a long weekend in Xela at this incredible guest house and we just had the absolute best time. Thijs, the owner, is awesome and super helpful-- he has great recommendations for things to do, places to eat, etc. He also has over 900 movies to choose from and a nice TV with comfortable couches-- great for a rainy day! Additionally, his dog Poepie is the cutest, sweetest thing ever! Casa Renaissance only has a few rooms but they are EXTREMELY spacious and comfortable-- my friends and I could not believe the incredible value of this place (way cheaper and way nicer than any of the other hotels, hostels, and guest houses we were looking at). Finally, one of the best things about Casa Renaissance is that it's really like a little family or community-- there is a living room with couches and a TV and also a courtyard with tables, benches, and a hammock where my friends and I bonded with all the other hotel guests, met some great new people, and had some great conversations. Absolutely one of the best weekends I've had in my entire 2 months here in Guatemala. I can't wait to make it back to Xela and I will ABSOLUTELY be staying at Casa Renaissance again!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

Great place and location! Thijs, the owner, is accommodating and incredibly helpful. There's an area to watch movies on a big screen and hang out. Clean, big bedrooms. Free coffee, tea, and water. Popie, the dog, is so sweet too! Thanks Thijs!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kflannery12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

We stayed in this beautiful place for 3 nights (90 Quetzales per Night for a private Double room) which has been by far the best value during our 3 weeks Guatemala trip. http://www.casarenaissance.com/

The owner, a friendly dutchman and his cute dog "popie", put all his heart into this beautiful colonial style Casa, which is like 100 years old. It's also possible to stay there for longer time, when you stay in a language school or similar.

We enjoyed the fully equipped kitchen, the BigScreen-TV Room, high speed Internet with a useful Laptop Device. The lovely courtyard is great for candlelight dinners!! A local market is just one block away. The Central park is just 2 blocks away.

Quetzaltenango is a great base for enjoying Hot Springs and volcano hikes. GO there if you CAN and don't forget to bring a sweater, Quetzaltenango is 2300 above see level! :-)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fuwai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quetzaltenango hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Modelo
Hotel Modelo
#1 of 17 in Quetzaltenango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
2.8 mi away
Anna Inn Hotel
Anna Inn Hotel
#2 of 17 in Quetzaltenango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pension Bonifaz Hotel
Pension Bonifaz Hotel
#3 of 17 in Quetzaltenango
3.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel y Bungalows Santa Ana
Hotel y Bungalows Santa Ana
#13 of 17 in Quetzaltenango
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Seibel
Casa Seibel
#2 of 35 in Quetzaltenango
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Nativos
Casa Nativos
#6 of 35 in Quetzaltenango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Renaissance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Renaissance

Property: Casa Renaissance
Address: 9a Calle 11-26 | Zona 1, Quetzaltenango, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Quetzaltenango Department > Quetzaltenango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Quetzaltenango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only two blocks from the Parque Central is Casa Renaissance.The colonial style Casa is over one hundred years old and has five big rooms with cable television. Two rooms have a private bathroom with propane heated showers. For the other three rooms without a private bathroom there are two showers and two toilets available. The rooms all have two double beds. The Casa has two nice patios and a big Sala with couches, diningroom table and big screen TV, WIFI and a computer you can use. A well stocked kitchen for communal use, free bottled water, coffee and tea.It's nice, quiet and clean. Long stays have special rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Renaissance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing