We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, clean, friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal don Diego

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal don Diego
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great location, clean, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights. The location is only 2 blocks from the main square and there are a lot of good places to eat nearby. I had a single room which was cheap and clean. The internet didn't really work well in my room and the shower wasn't really warm, but those were the only downsides. The staff was nice enough to let me check out late because I climbed Santa Maria the day I was supposed to leave.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
7
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Descent hostel if you are looking for a private room for a longer stay. The private rooms are nice, with windows and comfortable beds and the monthly rent isn't too much. Dorms are ok too. The hostel is quit big and has a good kitchen. Although the cooking gear can use some renewal.
The lady working at the hostel is very knowledgeable about anything to do in Guatemala and more than willing to help you out.

I would recommend it for long stayers, room tip are the rooms upstairs!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geitje3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
292 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I spent Samana Santa here as there was nothing else to do, no buses, and no museums open. In saying that the staff here were great and constantly on the phone to see if any buses were moving. A short distance from the main plaza, so, very central. The rooms were comfortable with 3 communal shower and toilet. The place was kept clean and has a big kitchen. A good place to stay and not expensive.

Room Tip: All rooms would be okay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadnerb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilsen, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Position of accomodation is not bad. close to Quetzaltrekkers, close to town square. Toilits clean. Kitchen available, not so special, but works.

Private rooms, are very simple, nothing I can write about. I thing its only separated area with twin wooden desks.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Václav T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

I've stayed in Hostal Don Diego twice, for a total time of nearly two weeks. It's well-located, two blocks from central park and a decent grocery store.

Free internet is a great plus (but the hostel's computer is charged)

The kitchen needs better stock, some pans can spin 360 degrees on their handles, the remainder have no non-stick surface remaining.

The staff are courteous and friendly. I had to print one page out and the manager took care of it for me when I could not find anywhere to print a scanned document.

Both hot showers worked when I was first here, only one worked when I passed through again, but there was no line for it. Laundry facilities were there (but I hand-washed all my clothes) and hot water was available all times of the day for showers or for tea/coffee (not included).

I would stay here again. 45Q per night is decent for this good hostel.

I was here during the 7.4 Richter scale earthquake that struck 15 miles off the Pacific coast. The entire city shook and plaster came off the walls. This hostel held up just fine, the power didn't and was out for a few hours. I still managed to get my hair cut by one of the barber shops running a generator.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ConfederateSoldier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Sacatepequez, Guatemala
Level Contributor
130 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed for 1 night here in July and I thought it was very nice- the room was clean, the bed decent, the showers were good and the staff very friendly. It is also very close to the central park and is near enough to plenty of places to eat. There is a family living here with kids but they never bothered the guests. It is very safe and has a travel agent out front with plenty of options (although I would always recommend Quetzaltrekkers seeing as they are a non-profit organisation that supports local schools).

I seem to remember the prices for private rooms were much much steeper than the dorms but overall this hostel was very nice and I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PotterNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Paper thin walls. A few people who were there at the time had problems with bugs in their rooms. Kitchen was ok, but most people did not know how to clean frying pans. Only three bathrooms is not enough when it is crowded. Most rooms are either noisy being too close to main desk, front door or near kitchen/patio. Also some rooms have skylights in them baking you in the morning The staff was great, then they left one by one, replacements not great...

Room Tip: rooms upstairs are the best, although they are further from the bathroom than any other room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CurriedG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Quetzaltenango hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quetzaltenango hotels
0.2 mi away
Pension Bonifaz Hotel
Pension Bonifaz Hotel
#3 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Las Americas
Hotel Las Americas
#5 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Modelo
Hotel Modelo
#1 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Nativos
Casa Nativos
#5 of 35 in Quetzaltenango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Seibel
Casa Seibel
#2 of 35 in Quetzaltenango
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Colibri Hostal
El Colibri Hostal
#3 of 17 in Quetzaltenango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal don Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal don Diego

Property: Hostal don Diego
Address: 6 Street, 15-12 Zone 1, Quetzaltenango, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Quetzaltenango Department > Quetzaltenango
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Quetzaltenango
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open since 2002, Hostal Don Diego has set the standard for Bed & Breakfasts in the city of Quetzaltenango (Xela). Our hostel is clean and comfortable, recommended by Lonely Planet, Rough Guide and many tour guides, focusing on Guatemala. Our rates are very cheap and include use of kitchen, Tv cable and Wi-Fi. Clean and pleasant facilities provide our guests experience a unique stay. The hostel also has a tour operator with many options and extensive information on tourist spots in Guatemala.Hostal Don Diego has many services, some are and some are not included in the daily, weekly or monthly rate, please ask for it upon arrival.Don DiegoHostal Don Diego has many services, some are and some are not included in the daily, weekly or monthly rate, please ask for it upon arrival.The weekly rate and monthly include ALWAYS the use of the kitchen, which is fully equipped (refrigerator, stoves, toaster oven, microwave, coffee machine, blender, utensils, etc.) please ask for our rates.Tour operator are within the hotel for advice and to answer all of your questions Adrenalina ToursHot and cold water always and clean showers!Cable television in the living room, for news, a movie, sports, talk show etc….feel welcome!If you have a laptop you can use our wi-fi service.Guest living per month includes cleaning service twice weekly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal don Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing