We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I always stay here when I'm in town.”

Miguel de Cervantes Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quetzaltenango
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Miguel de Cervantes Guest House
Ranked #7 of 36 Quetzaltenango B&B and Inns
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I always stay here when I'm in town.”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

A great place to stay, especially for more extended visits. Very central location, useful kitchen, friendly staff. Not fancy, but everything else makes up for it.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms have very thin mattresses--try to get upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
8
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

We came planning on a couple nights, stayed for a week! Our room was decent, though a little dirty on the floor. The shower was the best we've had on the road, and the kitchen was very nice to have. Central location, easy access to pretty much everything in town. Ilse was an amazing host, really sweet and funny! Highly recommend Quetzaltrekkers if you're into hiking!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpfeif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

I spent two weeks at the Miguel Cervantes Language School hotel and had a great time. The rooms are clean and with four blankets, we were never cold. We made breakfast in the kitchen and went out for other meals. It is very close to everything in Xela. The mini buses stop out side the door. The Parque Central is three minutes away and the supermarket with a safe ATM is a block from the park. The staff was warm and welcoming and fun. Our rooms cost about $20 for the WEEK! This is not a palace but it is adequate, very clean with hot water for showers when you want them. There is a TV in the salon. The school was also good with fun teachers who took us on many excursions and classes in the park or at a local coffee house. Bring a sweater-bring two: Xela can be cold at night and in the morning.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharptpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We stayed here in Nov. 09, but better late than never to write a review. We paid about $54 a week for a large serviceable room. The sheets were thin and the pillows small, but it was really a pleasant atmosphere. It is also a language school and most of those staying there were students, but we felt very comfortable and the owner and staff were very accommodating. It's only a coupe of blocks to the main square and good restaurants. We took some interesting tours, including over-nighters to the hot springs and a collective coffee and macadamia farm. We took what we needed for the tours and left the rest of our stuff in the room until we got back. If you aren't looking for a fancy place, I recommend staying here. Also, a good place to learn Spanish.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsteelboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quetzaltenango hotels
0.4 mi away
Casa Nativos
Casa Nativos
#6 of 36 in Quetzaltenango
28 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Seibel
Casa Seibel
#2 of 36 in Quetzaltenango
129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Real Plaza
Villa Real Plaza
#13 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel y Bungalows Santa Ana
Hotel y Bungalows Santa Ana
#12 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
3 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Colibri Hostal
El Colibri Hostal
#4 of 20 in Quetzaltenango
19 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hamilton
Hotel Hamilton
#16 of 36 in Quetzaltenango
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miguel de Cervantes Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miguel de Cervantes Guest House

Property: Miguel de Cervantes Guest House
Address: 12 Avenida 8-31, Quetzaltenango, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Quetzaltenango Department > Quetzaltenango
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Quetzaltenango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing