We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Black Cat Hostel Xela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Went last year for my birthday and service was great. So when we returned to Xela this was the logical choice. Price increase because of holidays not too bad. Breakfast is included (really good and hearty), no drink. They also have a new option (didn't last year in September) that is you are leaving early they can make you a ham and cheese sandwich or a veggie and cheese sandwich. All rooms share bathrooms (even private); dorms hold between 6-7 people. They have lockers (about 10 inches tall) and they rent out locks if you need to. Hot and cold water. Nice place to hang out. They have a little restaurant and service is generally good. Location is by central park. A little difficult to get to from bus terminal but you can catch a micro bus, Q2 (drops you off 2 corners away) or a taxi (up to Q50, sometimes you can haggle). My top choice to stay in Xela.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank world_citizen38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 125 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Its 60Q or 120pesos if youve arrived after Mexico. Guatemala is cheaper than Mexico so it is a bit pricey.
Yes breakfast is included.
The bed has the thinnest matress-more like the thickness of a dog bed- and you can feel each wooden slat underneath. The next day my hips were sore all day. It would have been more comfortable to put the dog matress on the ground.
Very very noisy with thin walls.
The bathrooms are fine with hot water.
I would defintely try other hostels in Xela, but if your only going to stay one night and cant be bothered to walk around, stay but dont expect a comfy sleep. As i walked around i saw heaps more hostels etc- there are heaps!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosysmith85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed at this hostel for two nights in a double room with private bathroom. The room was ok and clean but the bed was very unconfortable. Our room (no. 8) was right next to the kitchen and therefore very noisy. Further more, the walls and ceilings are paperthin, so there's noise not only from the kitchen but from everywhere (if someone in the room above us was walking through the room, it was like an earthquake for us). The breakfast is included in the room price which is a plus. The downside of it is, that there is no drink (coffee, tea, juice) included. It is an ok hostel at a good location close to the main square but really nothing special.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Honigmelonenmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

This hostel is very good. The price can seem a bit high, 60 quetzals for a dorm or 120 for a shared room, but this is including breakfast - and we are not talking about the bad white toast and maybe some jam-type of breakfast. You get to choose from the regular menu, which effectively sends the price for the bed down to 20-30 quetzals. The place also has nice hot showers and a pretty comfy. The people working here are super-friendly. Only things missing is a kitchen to cook in and it is in fact a bit cold, but this is highland Guatemala - everything is cold at this time of year. (January)
It is also very social, lots of nice travellers, so a perfect place for people travelling solo. The type of people are travellers, not the classic tourists. Also in the middle of the city, where most of the stuff happens by night. They also let you in at night so you dont have to worry about any curfew. So for a good stay in Xela I would really recommend this hostel for everyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HermanNor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

PROS: The staff is great and helpful (especially the night guard).
Rooms are cleaned daily and the showers are warm with good pressure.
Breakfast is great and huge (get the French toast).
Two blocks from Parque Central.
CONS: Thin walls. I'm a light sleeper so I hear it all, but my girlfriend had no problems.
Food in the restaurant is overpriced, so I would just recommend goin out.
Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed at the Black Cat for a few nights on first arriving in Xela. We found the staff to be very accommodating and Ian the chap from Birmingham was particularly good crack! A good place to meet people and find out about things you can do around Xela. May be not the best option if you are a couple and want a private room as the walls are a bit thin. We would thoroughly recommend the horse riding you can book through the hostel - ask for Juan the cowboy - the funniest Guatemalan I ever saw! Don't miss the great brekkie which is included in the price.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Dorm places are 60q, but include a really good breakfast (amazing breakfast burrito!). Happy hour is a good way to start the night, before heading out to a bar or one of the benefits going on in Xela. The owner and people who work there are friendly and there's free internet.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quetzaltenango hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel y Bungalows Santa Ana
Hotel y Bungalows Santa Ana
#15 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
4 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Modelo
Hotel Modelo
#1 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
201 reviews
1.5 mi away
Latam Hotel Plaza Pradera Quetzaltenango
Latam Hotel Plaza Pradera Quetza...
#2 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kasa Kiwi Hostel & Travel Agency
Kasa Kiwi Hostel & Travel Agency
#4 of 25 in Quetzaltenango
7 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Seibel
Casa Seibel
#1 of 25 in Quetzaltenango
137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Nativos
Casa Nativos
#5 of 33 in Quetzaltenango
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Cat Hostel Xela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Cat Hostel Xela

Address: 13 Avenue 3-33 zona 1, Quetzaltenango 09001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Quetzaltenango Department > Quetzaltenango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Quetzaltenango
Price Range: $15 - $21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Cat Hostel is one of the most loved hostels in all CentralAmerica. With more than 8 years of experience. The best located in all town (Xela, Quetzaltenango), just two blocks from the Parque Central. In and old and classical arquitecture of Quetzaltenango (wood, patio, and color). We are known because: our friendly staff, amazing breakfast, cleanless, the best location in town. One of the most loved bars and restaurants in Xela (craft beer, confort food, best nachos and burguers in town). Its happy hour (5pm-7pm) its already a tradition. A great place to have a smoothie or coffee all day long. We know exactly what a traveler wants. Youll have amazin breakfast (coffee/tea included, soap and paper in the bathroom, free reffil of water -all day long-, safety, book exchange -free-, free movies, free internet. Great for the operation centre of your day trips, or a nice place to relax and enjoy. The most friendly, beautiful and nice people are staying with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your The Black Cat Hostel Xela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing