We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guatemalan Amatique”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Puerto Barrios
Reviewed May 27, 2009

Having thought about this for awhile, I am finally ready to write this review.

We travelled to Amatique through Interval and was hoping for something a little unique along the Guatemalan Caribbean.

Firstly, our attempts to iron out particulars with the resort through email were completely fruitless and this was attempted with a myriad of addresses provided by their website and subsequently by Interval. We arrived with none of this info intact. Getting there from Guatemala City is definitely somewhat of a challenge, but adequately addressed by the Litegua Bus Lines, however be prepared for a long trip....be sure to stay overnight in Guatemala City.

Upon arriving at this resort, we fortunately were able to look at various small villas that were fairly used, mold issues and deferred maintenance were the norm. Be prepared for plently of mosquitos, they were everywhere, including the room. We spent the better part of a week and a half swatting them to little use. Ubiquitous would be the word. Rooms had AC and needed it big time. Daily housekeeping. Various luck with wifi, mostly in small lobby. Power went out on a regular basis. Kitchenettes very useful, but badly in need of design and upkeep.

Restaurants were ok but lacked rudimentary acknowlegement that anybody but Guatemalans vacationed there. The food was adequate. Menus only in spanish and hardly anybody spoke english (just so you know). Staff was cordial but in bad need of a liason for anyone coming from anywhere but Guatemala. If you come from the states, do not expect the Mexican deference for tourists and gringos. This place fills up on the weekend with Guatemalan families who have a ball. Most villas are duplexes and there is no allowance for sound. We became quite familiar with the family in the next unit.

It's location on the bay going out to the Caribbean needs also be addressed. It is a bay, not the Caribbean and it is not blue or for that matter clean. To get to the the Caribbean, one has to employ a launch that is a spine crusher for sure, even to go to Livingston. Getting the resort to arrange reasonable connections to anywhere was out of the question and absurdly expensive unless you could fill the boat for them. The high point of the trip was going down the waterslide into the pool, if you could call that the high point for the average traveller.

Long/Short, beware travelling to this resort if you are expecting international elegance or high resort standards for world tourism. They would be advised to have someone on their staff that understands some of the needs of this clientele. The resort has many possibiliities and was originally designed by someone with vision. The vision seems to fallen short of it's ambitious intention. It's all there...and maybe would be better left for what it does at the moment...Guatemalan families on vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank eleorest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 176 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2009

We stayed this year @ Amatique Bay for the 2nd time. & no matter how high our expectations were we were still not disappointed. We stayed there 2 nights and would have stayed more but they were completely booked on the other nights we were there. It is so beautiful there and we loved it so much last year when we were there we took a bunch of family members and friends with us this time. It is such a beautiful place (did I already say that??) The rooms are in cute little villas. The beach is a bit of a walk from the rooms but it is beautiful the whole way. They have a really, really nice pool area with a bunch of waterslides and a pool bar. It is perfect for the whole family! Slides for adults and slides for children. They made the best nachos. We ordered them every day by the pool. My husband also completely loved the Ceviche. @ night the sunsets are always magnificent. There was a lot more activities going on this time than the last time we were there. @ night on Friday there was supposed to be a bonfire on the beach but just as they had everything set up it started to rain so they moved everything up to the outdoor restaurant (& then of course it stopped raining) and still kept the fun going by conducting a dance contest which was hilarious along with music and a DJ. On Sat night they had a party boat that only cost $20 each (which is really cheap) for unlimited drinks of coke & run & beer. It is fun whether you drink or not. We took pretty much the whole family (except the grandmas and grandpas). Everyone had the greatest time dancing and listening to the music and enjoying the night lights around us. Did I already mention how beautiful the hotel grounds are at this resort? Everyone in our group agreed that this is the nicest resort in Guatemala. It is right on the Atlantic Ocean and is so nice that when the cruise ships stop at this port they have a tour that brings them to this resort. It is great, the people are really friendly. Most of them recognized us from the year prior which to me was crazy, because we only stayed two nights. The staff at checkin was amazing. They were completely booked and we really needed a room to stick some extra people and they offered us a better room for the same price. They really, really saved us. Once you go to this resort you will not want to leave, we never do. If you go to Guatemala and miss this resort you will be missing out!!! We are planning another trip next year to take more friends and family and we cannot wait!!!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2008

We stayed at this hotel as part of a timeshare in August of 2006. We were excited because it was suppose to be a 5-star resort.

Our room was fine but we ended up getting terrible bed bugs! We had been traveling around Guatemala and Belize already for a week so we were definitely used to the amount of bugs in Central America. Nothing could have prepared us for the itching. We ended up leaving early and staying at a cheap place in Livingston. The bites started to go away after we left Amatique Bay.

Also, all amenities at the resort with the exception of 1 restaurant were closed and/or unfinished. This was not communicated with us until we got there. We were so bored by the second day! The beach was awful and infested with sand fleas.

Staff was nice enough, and the laundry service was good.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank missseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2007

The marketing department of Amatique offered me heaven, I could not go because of car trouble, so I called them to let them know of my problem. We agreed to re-schedule, but have not done so far. Instead they charged me more than $350.00 for nothing, one of the charges was made TWICE, I proved this to them by sending my bank statement of account. Still, they did not do anything.
Do not trust them.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
40  Thank DOUBLECHEATED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2007

Amatique Bay R

The food was Ok.
Towels and lining were terrible.
Tours were ok.
Landscaping was great.
Beach was Poor.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank MarioM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2006

I was tricked into buying a very expensive 7 year commitment to Amatique Bay. Why did I buy such an expensive deal? Because they had many hidden costs that where not specified before signing the contract.
They won't give your money back, they do not care that I have not even used any of their facilities or services so I should be entitled to give it back. And that the costs they gave me were misleading to say the least. There are more people like me who are suffering from a deceitful 'investment'. Some are commited from 7 to 50 (FIFTY!) YEARS to paying their very expensive services.
They make it seem like a good and reasonable deal but it is proven that it is far from it. They manipulate you, mix up the numbers and in the end they don't give you the total amount of what you're going to spend. They trick you with a point system, not making it clear that it ends up being much much more expensive than if you buy one night whenever you need to.
More information at (---)

Let's not give more money to people who trick you into spending large quantities of money by offering you and advantageous and reasonable deal that ends up being a burden when you're finally left alone away from their poisonous words and realize that the cost is greater.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
55  Thank estafaamatique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2005

This is undoubtedly the nicest place to stay in Puerto Barrios, and has all the amenities. Very friendly staff (about 30% speak some English - with generally one front desk staff on duty who speaks English fluently).

The staff know the local restaurants well, and are not hesitant to offer opinions on their favorites. The food at the hotel is not interesting (not terrible, just not exceptional), and I would suggest venturing to the city for local fare if you have the means.

Some features are only opened based on number of guests. Our experience (note time of year) is that the week is very quiet, while the hotel fills up on the weekend with Guatemalan tourists. Thus, for example, on the weekend the swim-up bar is staffed, while during the week it is shuttered.

Laundry service was cheap and efficient.

We hired a guide not affiliated with the hotel to take us on a boat trip up the Rio Dulce, and they were able to dock at the resort's marina without issue.

Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
69  Thank LT3362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Barrios
3.6 mi away
Hotel Puerto Libre
Hotel Puerto Libre
#2 of 3 in Puerto Barrios
40 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#2 of 8 in Livingston
281 reviews
12.5 mi away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#4 of 8 in Livingston
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#1 of 8 in Livingston
359 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Marbrissa
Hotel Marbrissa
#3 of 3 in Puerto Barrios
36 reviews
13 mi away
Dos Arboles
Dos Arboles
#8 of 8 in Livingston
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amatique Bay Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amatique Bay Resort & Marina

Address: Calle Final, Finca Pichilingo 14, Puerto Barrios 18001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Puerto Barrios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Puerto Barrios
Price Range: $78 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amatique Bay Resort & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amatique Bay R & M: surrounded by natural beauty, personal service of the highest quality, delicious national and international dishes and a friendly atmosphere, invites you to live your best vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Amatique Bay Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina Hotel Puerto Barrios
Amatique Bay Resort And Marina
Amatique Bay Hotel
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina Guatemala/Puerto Barrios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing