We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved the Hotel Del Norte!”
Review of Hotel del Norte

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Barrios
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel del Norte
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I loved the Hotel Del Norte!”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I must admit that Puerto Barrios did not make a good first impression when I arrived by bus. And no one knew where the hotel was, in spite of it being sort of a landmark! But I found it and am glad I did. You have a choice of the atmospheric old section overlooking the sea (and about ready to fall into it!) or the more expensive newer section with a/c. I picked the old hotel. The room was clean and had a fan and a cold water shower. The other guests were interesting unusual types. You could imagine you are in a novel.

While I loved the hotel and the price was right...teenagers hung out in the park right outside my room playing loud music late at night. It is the seafront and people gather here to get a nightime breeze. You don't have much of a door, just broken wooden slats so you can hear everything outside.

I enjoyed the pools and the hotel restaurant. The staff was very nice. I would not stay anywhere else in Puerto Barrios due to the great atmosphere here at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank thebigbabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    11
    12
    1
    3
See reviews for
5
9
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

This hotel is a treasure that's somewhat decayed. Walking on the sagging floors and stairways is like the fun house at the state fair. Our family loved it. Although we stayed in the newer wing, the mattresses were way too soft and the power kept going out, shutting off the air conditioning. The old dining room is elegant, with waiters in white dress uniforms. Our kids loved the pool, and we ate meals on the balcony from where we could watch ships entering the harbor. The hotel grounds are interesting, with amusing little gibnuts scampering around. Apparently they've been adopted as the hotel's pets. Puerto Barrios isn't a pleasant place to visit, but it's a good gateway to other places. If we're ever back there, we'll definitely stay at the Hotel del Norte...if it's still standing.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PLB5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Hotel Del Norte is a classic old wooden structure near the fruit company pier in Puerto Barrios. While the streets are busy with trucks moving containers to the shipyard cranes, it's peaceful and laid-back within the gated complex. There is a nice pool area surrounded by shaded cabanas and tables with food and drink service from the hotel restaurant. The old original structure has basic rooms with private bath surrounded by a wide screened porch that's great for monitoring the activity on the small but active malecon. These are budget rooms with no a/c or tv but the bed I had was comfy and clean and the plumbing worked fine. They also have a modern wing with large clean airconditioned rooms with cable TV. These cost about three times as much as those in the older funkier building but they are still quite reasonable.

Room Tip: The older bargain rooms are good for budget travelers but bring your earplugs .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lostilleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Hotel del Norte Was the only reason why we went to Puerto Barrios which was a 100 km d tour but it was absolutely worth it!
You would only go there for the building, over a 100 years old, the waiters, once discribed as that the 2 of them were there as the hotel opened in 1892, the rooms on the first floor are so basic and the shower does not really work but for those that can cope with that GO FOR IT and do not hesitate before this hidden gem will disapear.
It feels like you are on a boat who is sinking and one of the roomladies looks a little bit scary but if you are nice she will suply you a wind fan.
Dinner is served early since the 2 waiters work from 7 am til 9 pm and make sure you pay them and not the lady behind the reception since they take part of the tips which happened while we where there!!!
The swimming pool which was later added is very enjoyable and the kids loved it and while you are there you might as well use the shower.
One remark apparently The ROTARY of Belgium gave the 2 waiters a "new" outfit of SODEXHO the food ticket supplier see the photos and

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vdds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Barrios
1.8 mi away
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina
#1 of 3 in Puerto Barrios
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Puerto Libre
Hotel Puerto Libre
#3 of 3 in Puerto Barrios
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Marbrissa
Hotel Marbrissa
#2 of 3 in Puerto Barrios
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#2 of 9 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
11.4 mi away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#4 of 9 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#1 of 9 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Norte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Norte

Property: Hotel del Norte
Address: Calle and 1a Avenida 7a, Puerto Barrios 18001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Puerto Barrios
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Barrios
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Norte Guatemala/Puerto Barrios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing