We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Livingston
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveler rating
60
29
12
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
60
29
12
2
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 104 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2016 via mobile

Loved this hotel very plush comfy, large room, with a/c and fan. Nice food, very quiet good to sit out on the jetty and watch the boats and bird life, only problem I had was no staff spoke English but we got by admirably, I had problems getting wifi but used restaurant up the road with a good signal!!

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank WillH171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2016

Posada El Delfin is a tad down the street from the docks, so you can get away from that circus by just walking a bit. At the public dock you will meet harmless touts who will want to show you the scene; I would suggest just politely brushing them off. El Delfin has its own dock so you can make your own transportation arrangements and be picked up there. Since much of what happens here occurs via the water, this is a positive aspect. I would request a room with a water view on both sides; great views and a cross breeze. Gus Turcios owns the place; his wife Rose provides breakfast in a little cafe across the street. Very nice people. Gus does tours.
Livingston felt very safe to us and we walked around in the early evening without concern. La Casa Nostra down the street has excellent food.

Room tip: Over the water with a view on both sides.
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatureMyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iracema T, Manager at Posada El Delfin, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2016

Dear guest:
After reading your positive comment, I can only say THANK YOU! We will keep doing our best to maintain Posada El Delfin and its staff serving its guests the best way possible.

Again THANK YOU!


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2015 via mobile

We happened to arrive at Livingston during a great rainstorm that shut off the power in the whole town for 40 hours or so. We originally stayed in a different place, however it was very difficult without power (especially when there is nothing to do outside due to the storm). We arrived at Posada el Delfin, which was one of the only places with power (they have their own generator), and immediately were heartily welcomed by Gus. He is the perfect host, and made sure all of our needs were fulfilled.

We slept at a lovely double room, super clean, the most comfortable bed we had the whole trip, and a great shower with hot water (let me remind that the town was blacked out). Breakfast (& dinner) at the bistro nearby were very good. That day, after we chat a bit with Gus, he found out that this is our honeymoon, and immediately said he is upgrading us to the honeymoon suit, as a treat.

THE HONEYMOON SUIT WAS AMAZING!!! It was by far the best room we stayed at, not even in Guatemalan scale. It is located at the end of the hotel's private pier, straight into the sea, and has the most beautiful view of the sea from all of the windows. It was perfectly equipped and on top of the super large and pampering bed, had a living room, a dining area, tv, ac, refrigerator. The bathroom had a bath and not the usual shower. It was the most pampering room!!

The staff in the hotel were super nice and accommodating.
Ira (the owner)helped us and booked our bus back to Guatemala city. As it happened, when it was time for us to leave, she was heading the same way (Puerto Barrios), and she couldn't do enough for us- from helping us on the boat, to driving us to the bus station to make sure we are ok!

To conclude, we recommend Posada el Delfin to everyone. It made our time in Livingston truly dreamy, and Gus and Ira really treated us as family. Thank you so much!!

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Liat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2015

We have stayed in some great places in our 5 week trip but this has to be the best. We only booked 2 nights but loved it so much we stayed for 4. Occupying a dreamy position on its own pier over the river and designed so that all the common areas catch the river breezes, it is a wonderful place to relax. I loved sitting on the end terrace in the early morning and evening watching herons, pelicans and fishing boats. The small pool is very welcome after a hot day. The rooms are spacious and bright, the beds really comfortable and the showers excellent, the hot water always hot! The whole place is kept immaculately by friendly and helpful staff. It is more expensive than many places in Livingston but includes a great breakfast at their separate bistro over the road and is absolutely worth every penny. The owners, Gus and Ira, were extraordinarily kind to us way beyond the call of hospitality. Thank you.

Room tip: Best views are from 3 or 4 rooms nearest the restaurant on the first floor over the river
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Carolbreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2015

Beautiful location, great accommodations, hot water, fun ocean-side pool, hammocks, provided great information on local activities. Owner was extremely kind, friendly, helpful, and accommodating. Even gave us a ride to our final destination the following day. Highly recommend this location for everyone!

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews