We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service”
Review of Casa Nostra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Nostra
Ranked #1 of 11 Livingston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stuart was really nice and we had a great time here! The food here was truly great... we had amazing hash browns and stuffed french toast for breakfast. We barely ate anywhere else. The room was basic but comfortable and we felt at home.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank Quakermaid99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 146 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Arriving in Livingston is like leaving Guatemala and arriving somewhere else, and Casa Nostra reflects that change perfectly.

A tiny place right on the water with incredibly friendly owners Stuart and Soledad, this place is like living with family.

Relaxed, comfortable, excellent food (Stuart claims it to be the best in town.. we were left with little doubt about that!), and a great dining area right on the waters edge (with visiting bird life), this place is one of those that you remember for years after.

It's no mistake that nearly all of the reviews are 5 star.. if you want to stay in a place that is as friendly as Livingston itself, stay here!

nb.. best to book ahead.. English & Spanish spoken

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank BigglesGoesBananas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Stuart is the owner of this hostel/hotel/ B&B. He and his wife are friendly and AMAZING cooks. Stuart takes a lot of pride in Livingston, in general, and is more than happy to help any passerby. If you are hungry, their ceviche is life-changing and their pizza is a great break for your intestinal tract while traveling in Central America. Also, ask for a smoothie but allow him creative freedom- you will NOT be disappointed. If you are able to stay there, do- it is a slice of home while still allowing you to experience all Livingston has to offer.

If you go, tell Stuart that a couple from Montana says hello. And don't pet the parrot unless you are SURE she is in a good mood!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I have just spent 6 days in Casa Nostra with the ever attentive owner/ chef, Stuart and his delightful wife, Soledad. The rooms are basic but SUCH good value. It is home from home. The breakfasts are to die for and it is hardly worth going anywhere else in the refreshing evenings as Stuart buys fresh produce every day to cook for his guests, the fish was marvellous. The ambience is one of relaxation as the sea laps at your feet and you gaze out across the estuary to the distant mountains. Stuart gives accurate, informative tips and guides one to the best places to visit. 24/7 WiFi is available and drinks, hot cold, alcoholic and none, are always available. I was very sorry to have to leave.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamelita66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Already after 6 months I had to return to this amazing place. Stuart not only makes the best pizza in town, he is also so much fun to hang out with. The place is wonderful located with an amazing ocean-front view. The rooms are really nice and clean.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pellesjoqvist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

To start off i would like to thank Stuart for the great stay and to all his staff! upon first stepping into casa nostra we were immediately welcomed and given a room. We stayed for 3 nights and were showed where the best restaurants (although the food there is all local and handmade by Stuart and his team), swimming spots and scooter rentals were. The food made at the Casa was amazing from pizza to the famous soup, and unbeatable french toast stuffed with fresh fruit in the morning. If you have time ask Stuart to drive you in his boat up to the roundhouse to do the kayak rentals, where it took us about 4 hours to kayak back (current and wind against us mind you) was a really great time to kayak to the natural hot springs as well as enjoy the luscious scenery on the way back. All thumbs up for this review would recommend to any traveler!

Room Tip: Try the meals at the Casa Nostra prior to anything else in town you will not be disappointed and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tourism_gerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

My daughter and I stayed here and it was amazing from the hospitality of the hosts to the incredible dishes they serve out of their restaurant. The rooms were clean and the house had an intimate feel that we had not experienced before, it felt like home. The back of Casa Nostra is right on the water which means Stuart gets to pick out the fresh catch of the day directly off of the docks. I would definitely recommend Casa Nostra...

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livingston hotels
4.2 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#1 of 8 in Livingston
359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#2 of 8 in Livingston
281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#4 of 8 in Livingston
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
#7 of 8 in Livingston
43 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dos Arboles
Dos Arboles
#8 of 8 in Livingston
122 reviews
19.3 mi away
Catamaran Island Hotel
Catamaran Island Hotel
#5 of 8 in Livingston
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Nostra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Nostra

Address: About 500 Yards From the Municipal Dock | Calle Marcos Sanchez Diaz, Livingston, Rio Dulce 18002, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Rio Dulce > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Livingston
Price Range: $29 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a boutique Inn offering the best food in Livingston from Seafood, Vegetarian dishes, incredible Pizzas and curries, pastas. We have 3 private rooms and 2 suites with air conditioning. All rooms have 2nd floor balconies overlooking the bay, river and mountains, we are located on the river at the mouth of the Rio Dulce where it meets the Caribbean. Our back yard is the river, we offer outdoor hammocks a new 2 story dock, outdoor riverside dining. We make every thing fresh from scratch, buy our seafood, Calamari, Shrimp and fish daily off our back dock and always have fresh fruit and vegetables for our liquados, vegetarian and vwegan dishes, salads and freshly prepared dishes. You will feel special here and enjoy the tranquil setting, peace and quiet and still be within a 4 minute walk from the center of everything. I can help arrange jungle walking tours, fishing trips, Cooking classes, snorkeling trips to Southern Belize. Enjoy the local waterfalls or White Sandy beaches. We also offer Kayaking and fishing in the Bay or river. Anything you want, just ask. I will make sure you get the most out of Livingston and enjoy your time here. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Nostra Guatemala/Livingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing