We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Finca Tatin(Livingston)(Great Value!)
$8
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Salvador Gaviota(Livingston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/27
$13
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $17/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Dos Arboles(Livingston)
Free cancellation until 07/26
$29
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Round House Hostel(Livingston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/21
$5
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Casa De La Iguana(Livingston)(Great Value!)
$18
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Villa Caribe(Livingston)
Free cancellation until 07/28
$99
$87
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$81
$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Posada El Delfin(Livingston)
Book now, pay at stay
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (246)
Filter reviews
246 results
Traveler rating
161
66
9
4
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
161
66
9
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivershared bathroomrio dulcethe ownerrooms are nicely decoratedprivate piernice cabanasin townstayed two nightsmy girlfriendbeautiful placewonderful viewcentral americaamazing foodprivate roomishmaelcasa
Filter
Updating list...
142 - 147 of 246 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2010

Yes, THE place to stay in Livingston is here!! As previously noted, the charming thatch huts are somewhat on the simple side, however Casa Rosada is spiffy clean and in a great location. Grounds are well manicured and there are two fantastic communal areas - one inside and one outside (with cover) where you can sit in comfortable chairs and enjoy a drink or research the next leg of your trip.

Javier and his wife are very warm and hospitible hosts, going the extra step to provide great service. The kitchen staff are efficient and greet you with giant smiles. Restaurant serves solid regional fare at reasonable prices. Casa Rosada is 5 stars in my mind. The only major disappointment was that we were not able to stay longer!!! We loved the quaint seaside village of Livingston and hope to return some day. When we do, we'll be contacting our friend Javier.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kateinoakland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2010

We enjoyed our stay here thoroughly. The service, the coffee, the FOOD...brilliant! Rooms are basic but spotless and the single beds aren't the best for couples but for a few nights it's not an issue. The owners - Javier and Sandra, as well as the staff are so helpful and friendly. All in all, La Casa Rosada is a joy - we could not recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juzzy1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

As long as you don't mind more of a camping feel, this is the place to stay in Livingston. $20/night got us a private thatched bungalow with beds and bug nets. Javier and his wife are very personable, and provide great service, knowledge of the local area, and delicious meals.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edgetroop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2009

DO NOT miss this! A group of 8 of us went on a very personal, informative, leisurely and totally awesome tour with Hotel Casa Rosada tour guide up the Rio Dulce River and the town of Livingston. I watched as other tours herded groups of 30 people in and about in a "canned" tour, while we felt like we were being shown the town by our guide Javier (We were on NCL Thanksgiving Week).
He came so highly recommended on this site and others. ALL EIGHT of use said that of every port and every tour, THIS was the best! The price was right ($50 per person) and we could have lunch for only $5 at Hotel Casa Rosada, and it was FABULOUS. We took our time everywhere, he went further in the river than any other guide, and he shared much information with us more like a friend.. BOOK THIS TOUR. Go to www.hotelcasarosada.com. Y cansay you read Rosie's review, When we got back to the ship and shared our experience of Guatemala with other passengers they were "OH I wish WE would have gone with you." No one enjoyed a tour as much as we did.

1  Thank RosannaBeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2009

We arranged a wonderful lunch at La Casa Rosada and day tour of the Rio Dulce area while our cruise ship docked in Santo Tomas de Castillo. While we didn't stay here overnight, we were so impressed with our day that I feel compelled to write about this wonderful little gem of a hotel and its gracious owners. With a minimum of seven people (kids are welcome), Javier Putul, the owner, can arrange to meet you with a boat at the Santo Tomas de Castillo dock for an incredible boat tour of this gorgeous section of Guatemala, with stops at a hot spring and cave, a walk through Livingston to see the Garifuna culture, and a delicious lunch at his waterfront hotel prepared by his charming, quadrilingual Belgian wife. Try her mouth-watering tapado-- the local Garifuna dish of a fried fish, shrimp, crab and plantain swimming in an absolutely delicious curried coconut milk broth. The hotel itself is extremely clean, charmingly rustic, and just the sort of place an eco-minded traveller would enjoy and appreciate.

On the tour, Javier explains the social, cultural, and geologic history of the Rio Dulce and Livingston area. The cave is worth the $2 flashlight rental for the adventurous at heart! There's a short but steep climb up the side of the gorge, but your efforts will be rewarded. Guatemala was our favorite cruise ship destination and it was entirely due to Javier's fascinating tour. Even if you don't have a group of 7, contact him. He put us in touch by email with other cruise passengers so that we were able to assemble enough people for a trip. Take his tour-- you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank live2wander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews