We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect great value lovely staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Casa Rosada

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Livingston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Casa Rosada
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Livingston
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect great value lovely staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed at Casa Rosada in 2012, I had been living in Honduras for a year and was on a short month backpacking trip. I had travelled through Livingston 4 years before and stayed at some weird places so this time I was pleasantly suprised :) Casa Rosada has a lovely little dock to sit and watch the boats and birds go by, really friendly staff, the rooms were well kept, food was delicious. I would recommend all my friends to stay here, it's good value and they have lots of further travel advice too if you need it. I'm just sorry it took me so long to get myself on here and review!! Thanks Casa Rosada staff :) Shelley from Altons Dive Centre if you remember me haha

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    58
    6
    3
    6
See reviews for
20
79
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico, Missouri
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

I was surprised by the beauty of the place, whoever I was also surprised by the bad management and the terrible service that the waitresses provided. I had to wait for almost an hour to get my breakfast, while the ladies where chit chatting. It’s a shame such a bad customer service for a place as beautiful as Casa Rosada.

Room Tip: I didn’t stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

I came to this hotel on Tripadvisor recommendations but I was totally disappointed. The bungalow (#7) I got was rotten and fell moth.
The worst was in the morning and when I ask for my bill to cancel the lady who does the accounts had not come (10:30am) and I wait 20 minutes after this time the cook went to awaken the German volunteer to make my bill but in all this time I lost the boat and the bus, all my travel schedule was ruined. Ask for the manager who mentioned in Tripadvisor a certain Ishmael to complain but they said was on holiday in Belize.
Sorry but my experience at this hotel was very bad.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carytravel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

I visited Livingston, Izabal in June of this year. We stopped at Casa Rosada when we first arrived in this quaint little port town on the Atlantic Coast of Guatemala. I was with a team of fellow volunteers, and although we didn't stay at this hotel, we did spend some time here during our week long visit it Guatemala. Many thanks to Ismael, and Peachy for their outstanding hospitality ! If I return to Livingston I would definitely like to stay at Casa Rosada !

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AmazingJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Hotel Casa Rosada is a really wonderful place to stay. The décor throughout is wonderful, and the food, though not cheap, is of a really high standard. There is a pier with a small hut at the end where you can lounge in a hammock while looking out over the river, and the beautiful gardens are a lovely place to spend an afternoon reading. We stayed in a double cabaña which was very comfortable, but had one drawback, the heat. While a ceiling fan was provided, the bed comes with a built in mosquito net which completely blocks any breeze from the fan. We asked if there was a standing fan we could use, but there wasn't one available. This meant we had a rather uncomfortable, sweaty night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rwneal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Wonderful staff, terrific food, simple but very clean accommodations, lovely public areas. Especially enjoyed the dock's palapa with hammocks where the afternoon breeze was savored. Staff were super helpful arranging our further transit upstream. Even if you don't stay here, do make time to stop by for a meal! (And if you order the tapado, expect Pibu the mellow black cat to pay you the utmost attention!)

Room Tip: We were in the first two rooms near the street entrance but had no trouble with noise. Of course it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bugsrugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Sadly we did not stay the night here. However we came stumble upon this place and met the manager Izmael who was very nice and helpful , told us about a beach we could go to and arranged a taxi to take us. We came back and decide to have dinner here and it was by far the best tapado I've had . Service was so great and the attention from the manager was excellent. Definitely recommend this place . :D

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ximena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
0.0 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#2 of 9 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#1 of 9 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.0 mi away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#4 of 9 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mansion del Rio
0.0 mi away
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
#7 of 9 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina
#1 of 3 in Puerto Barrios
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Rosada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Rosada

Property: Hotel Casa Rosada
Address: Livingston, Rio Dulce 01800, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Rio Dulce > Livingston
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Livingston
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel La Casa Rosada in rustic Livingston, Guatemala, is located in the rain forest at the mouth of the Rio Dulce and the Amatique Bay of the Caribbean Sea. The old banana port of Livingston is located where the Rio Dulce spills into the Bay of Amatique on the Caribbean Sea. Overlooking the sea from a low hill, Livingston is still an isolated settlement and is only accessible by boat. Livingston has mixed cultures: Q'eqchi (maya), Garifuna, Chinese, Hindu, ... The Rio Dulce, sourced by vast Lake Izabal, is known for its plunging 300 ft canyons, hot water springs, and lush tropical green. Livingston is located 45 minutes by boat from Belize -- famous for its beautiful reef keys. Nearby is Honduras, also known for its spectacular diving, snorkeling and magnificent art-filled ruins of Copán. From Livingston you are within hours of the ruins at Quiriguá and the sensational Tikal. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Casa Rosada Livingston
Hotel Casa Rosada Guatemala/Livingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing