We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and harmony”
Review of Hotel Casa Rosada

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Livingston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Casa Rosada
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Livingston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed in Casa Rosada for one week, and it exceeded all my expectations... Beautiful and peacefull environment, the best coffee and food!!! Every morning waking up with the sunrise and the singing birds... As the hotel is on the shore, you can go swimming any time, do tubing or cayacking, boats can pick you up or drop you directly on the deck of the hotel. Also the working crew is just amazing, very friendly and helpfull, taking care of all your needs and necesities. Higly recomend this place! If I am again in Livingston, this is the place where am gonna go :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Indre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 208 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed in Casa Rosada para unas noches and I could enjoy a combination of delicious food, nice view, relaxing atmosphere and helpful staff. I really liked the fact, that you have such a quiet place in such a vibrant city. If you are on the streets, you can enjoy the atmosphere, and when you get back you can just hang out, relax and enjoy the beautiful view of the river mouth.
The food was great, no matter what you ordered: From a small pizza for lunch till a big stuffing evening dinner! The beds are really comfortable and the staff nice and helpfull.
Go there and find out what's so special about the place!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Service
1  Thank Markus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

It's like a 5-star resort for a low-key traveler. Super chill staff, right on the water where the river opens up to the ocean. All the comfy chairs are conveniently positioned to look out on the water, and the whole place has a very serene, welcoming feel.
The dorm rooms especially are amazing. The room is open with a second-floor view of the ocean, and a ocean breeze all night long.
The food was also a nice surprise. Reasonably priced, familiar foods with local twists.
Highly recommend it overall!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

If you are traveling to Honduras-Bay Islands, Belize, Central America or anywhere in South America look for advice and help with Ishmael(You do not need to be his host, he helps everyone), from experience I guarantee you, you will economize money and time.

Casa Rosada is a place to relax and eat the best food at reasonable prices in Central America. I ate the traditional dish Tapado in different restaurants in my journey through Rio Dulce and Belice, really the best around with a score of 200 is the Casa Rosada and the othesr 50 points; Filet Mignon is fantastic, the Lobster delicious. They told me that they had a dinner of 54 Tapados to a group of people from France.

This place is very clean, with a magical atmosphere, best coffee, reasonable prices and fully recommended.
Also I recommend the walk with Pichi you learn to see the world differently

Ishmael I have no words to thank you for your hospitality and advice that helped me in my six months of travel through the beautiful Guatemala and Central America. Arabic brother I cannot believe that in San Blas Islands the Kunas fondly remember you as Kuna of heart, you left history in the region.

Observation: When Ishmael is not in the hostel everything is different

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kazimfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I've stayed in Casa Rosada quite a few weekends and it is just one of the most beautiful and peaceful places in Livingston to relax and hang out. It is affordable, clean, equipped with working hot showers and the breakfast and dinner is, although not the cheapest option in town, incredibly good. Try the local Garifuna dish - Tapado!

Room Tip: The beds close to the huge window front in the dorm are beautiful to wake up in in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chodid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Very well run reasonable accomodation for $20 per cabana.
We stayed two nights before leaving for Punta Gorda. We spent a lot of time hanging out on the hammocks and just enjoying the local river scenery. Livingston is not much, but has a certain rustic ambience. If one is not going on any other tours, a few hours takes in all that needs to be seen.
The cabanas are simple but offer enough room to unpack and the beds were comfortable enough. There was a fan, but it never got hot enough while we were there to use. There was mosquito netting but the roof was open so I don't think the screens would help if bugs were a problem. The curtains are fairly transparent and if one is sensitive to noise bring ear plugs. There is a separate shower room (lots of hot water) as well as bathroom which is shared by all the cabanas.
They have a nice yard and wharf as well as covered areas to sit and read or just lay in the hammocks. There is an honor book where each person signs for their drinks and meals, then pays upon departure.
They also have a great restuarant. If one places their orders in advance the meal is ready at the time of ones chosing. I reccomend their tapada. We tried a few other retuarants in town, but found Casa Rosada's food the best.
Casa Rosada is a great choice for simple accomadation in Livingston and we would reccomend this hotel to others

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clancy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Casa Rosada is a really charming place with very nice staff. Boats up to the River Dulce pick you up on the hotelpier, which is a nice service. Sitting in the garden with the pelicans and other birds landing on the pier is just geourgious.... especially when most surprisingly a classical concert plays in the background.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Volker N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
4.0 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#1 of 8 in Livingston
355 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#2 of 8 in Livingston
275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#4 of 8 in Livingston
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
#7 of 8 in Livingston
43 reviews
19.1 mi away
Catamaran Island Hotel
Catamaran Island Hotel
#5 of 8 in Livingston
129 reviews
20.9 mi away
Hotel Mansion del Rio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Rosada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Rosada

Address: Livingston, Rio Dulce 01800, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Rio Dulce > Livingston
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Livingston
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel La Casa Rosada in rustic Livingston, Guatemala, is located in the rain forest at the mouth of the Rio Dulce and the Amatique Bay of the Caribbean Sea. The old banana port of Livingston is located where the Rio Dulce spills into the Bay of Amatique on the Caribbean Sea. Overlooking the sea from a low hill, Livingston is still an isolated settlement and is only accessible by boat. Livingston has mixed cultures: Q'eqchi (maya), Garifuna, Chinese, Hindu, ... The Rio Dulce, sourced by vast Lake Izabal, is known for its plunging 300 ft canyons, hot water springs, and lush tropical green. Livingston is located 45 minutes by boat from Belize -- famous for its beautiful reef keys. Nearby is Honduras, also known for its spectacular diving, snorkeling and magnificent art-filled ruins of Copán. From Livingston you are within hours of the ruins at Quiriguá and the sensational Tikal. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Casa Rosada Livingston
Hotel Casa Rosada Guatemala/Livingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing