We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Very Well Managed”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Casa Rosada

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Livingston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Casa Rosada
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Livingston
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Very Well Managed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

As most other people say, Casa Rosada definitely is the great place to stay in Livingston. The bungalows are small but comfortable with good mosquito nets, the garden is beautiful with lots of interesting details, the staff reserved but helpful. And the best thing about this place is the amazing way it is run: the management trusts the guests to be honest, honorable people, and the place is managed based on that confidence. You order your drink or food and write it down on the notebook yourself to pay upon check out. We liked it so much here that we kept on extending our stay.
In being simple but stylish, relaxed but not untidy, I think Casa Rosada is one of the best lodgings of this kind in the world. And the price is right! I hope it stays this way forever!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keisuked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    58
    6
    3
    6
See reviews for
20
79
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, Guatemala
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Excellent tasty food; wonderful helpful staff. Manager Ismael, former world traveler himself, is absolute weath of useful info about any local or international travel anywhere in C.A. Everything about this hotel is top notch for the price - clean, beautiful setting right at mouth of Rio Dulce, plenty of either sun or shade; top connections to local guides, hikes, places to visit - all at very reasonable price. Can't write enuf good things about this hotel and its staff.

Room Tip: Best to get here early in day - often fills all 8 rooms by late afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dow G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

A truely beautiful place with very clean and small but stylish Bungalows, the very best Coffee in town indeed and a friendly atmosphere. The food is somewhat more expensive than in other places but worth every extra Quetzal for sure! Also, everyone going should not miss the trip to the Tiger Caves and the dinner in a Maya Community afterwards! it is not something many people do and please don´t expect sensational picture opportunities. However, a very friendly guide, a cool and thrilling cave trip and a really beautiful lunch afterwards made it one of the best trips i´ve done so far. just bring some time and patience along :) the trip can be organized from the Casa Rosada directly and i think only from there..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We volunteered in the Livingston area for some time and Casa Rosada became our second home as a weekend getaway. Its seaside location with garden and jetty is a perfect heaven to escape the hot and humid streets of Livingston. We regularly enjoyed the tasty breakfasts and three-course dinners served at Casa Rosada, not to mention the best coffee in town. Ismael and the staff always welcomed us with open arms and made us feel comfortable. Now back in cold Europe we really miss our extended living room and the friendship we had with Casa Rosada. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank austriaworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed here two nights. A lovely hotel on the sea front. The rooms are cute little bungalows around the reception of the hotel (the hoteliers house). In the grounds there is a pier that culminates in a covered area with hammocks. bliss.

The plus points are the beautiful hotel, the great host who offers good advice, the reasonably priced tours (can catch the boat to Rio Dulce from the hotel pier) and the room rate is reasonable.
The breakfasts/dinners served at the hotel were good.
During the day you can help yourself to drinks and snacks and make a note in the 'honour book', and pay at the end of your stay. That combined with the very friendly hotelier made this place feel really cosy / homely.

We generally avoided shared bathrooms on this trip, but at this hotel we did not mind it at all. These were clean and spacious, and we never had to wait.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed equally good to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rukhru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed in Livingston (different hotel) for four nights and we ate here on three of them! The food is incredible - fresh salads, soft homemade coconut bread, tasty shrimp curry, amazing homemade desserts (we had brownies and lemon pie). Three courses and a glass of wine for about $12 - so a bargain as well. Also set in a beautiful garden near the water. On my three week road trip through Honduras and Guatemala - this was undoubtedly my favourite restaurant. Not to be missed!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

We tried Casa Rosada because of all the great reviews and we were not at all disappointed!
The manager (Ismael) is one of the most wonderful people we met in Guatemala. He's a traveller as well so his biggest concern is for you to have a great time. The wooden cabins have nearly no acoustic isolation but the place is usually quiet so you won't have any noise keeping you up. Most of them are in the shadow and they all have a fan to keep the heat out. Bring a mosquito net though!
The restaurant menu is limited but the food is amazing. Each menu is served with an entry and a dessert, every single piece of food being homemade.
They offer some nice tours in the area and have their own little boat dock with some hammocks at the end of it: perfect for relaxing with an amazing view. The water in this area is really warm and shallow so it's perfect for a swim. Tubes are available for free!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newer cabins if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank svendebruyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
0.0 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#2 of 9 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#1 of 9 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.0 mi away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#4 of 9 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
#7 of 9 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mansion del Rio
0.0 mi away
Catamaran Island Hotel
Catamaran Island Hotel
#5 of 9 in Livingston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Rosada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Rosada

Property: Hotel Casa Rosada
Address: Livingston, Rio Dulce 01800, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Rio Dulce > Livingston
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Livingston
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel La Casa Rosada in rustic Livingston, Guatemala, is located in the rain forest at the mouth of the Rio Dulce and the Amatique Bay of the Caribbean Sea. The old banana port of Livingston is located where the Rio Dulce spills into the Bay of Amatique on the Caribbean Sea. Overlooking the sea from a low hill, Livingston is still an isolated settlement and is only accessible by boat. Livingston has mixed cultures: Q'eqchi (maya), Garifuna, Chinese, Hindu, ... The Rio Dulce, sourced by vast Lake Izabal, is known for its plunging 300 ft canyons, hot water springs, and lush tropical green. Livingston is located 45 minutes by boat from Belize -- famous for its beautiful reef keys. Nearby is Honduras, also known for its spectacular diving, snorkeling and magnificent art-filled ruins of Copán. From Livingston you are within hours of the ruins at Quiriguá and the sensational Tikal. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Casa Rosada Livingston
Hotel Casa Rosada Guatemala/Livingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing