We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting at a good price”
Review of Hotel Casa Rosada

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Livingston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Casa Rosada
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Livingston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Although quiet when I was there the manager and staff were really friendly and happy to answer my questions, get bus times etc. The set-up is fairly basic - I chose a bed on the veranda purely for the view rather than comfort - but it's not important when the setting is as beautiful as it is. I rarely eat at hotels/places I stay but having had a long day of travel I ate in the restaurant. The food was really good. On eating in Livingston another nigght the food is good everywhere but as the hotel offers two courses plus coffee it is better value. You can swim in the lake, hire kayaks and they can organises boats/trips for you too. I'd definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane_Ldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 213 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2012

I share many positive views on this hotel with the oter travelers. Comfort is basic but clean, but so is the price. Location is wounderful with view on the sea and sunrise. Great food. Even though the owners were absent (the Belgian owner seemed to be in Belgium at the time we were in Livingston) the local manager did a very good job in hosting us, very friendly indeed. Only remark our cabin for 2 was rather small for al the luggage. Some more clothes hangers and towelhooks may help a lot.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Very clean, nice garden and deck. The restaurant is with great cheff for lobsters and banana pankakes! The people are very warm welcoming as well

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yonicon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

We stayed here with friends, i found the place amazingly beautiful. We spend the night in the sofas on the porch sipping vine and watching the moon reflect in the river. The cabins are simple and there are only shared bathrooms, but I did not mind at all. Owners are friendly and helpful, food might be slightly more expensive (for Livingstone) but really good! I would come again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iliveinmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Livingston is not a city full of 4 and 5 star hotels. However the Casa Rosada delivers five star service. With a price of only $20/night, you cannot beat the service and atmosphere.

First the rooms are very simple and meant to simply be a place to sleep. The bathrooms are shared but are immaculately kept by the staff. While at the hotel spend time in the beautiful garden, in the hammocks on the pier, or in the cafe area.

Javier and Sandra are the owners and bend over backwards to provide the best possible service. From restaurant recommendations to conversation at night, they are charming, guest focused and truly love their hotel.

Sandra is an amazing cook using herbs grown in the garden to make flavorful and artistic dishes that one would expect at high end restaurants. Even if you do not stay in the hotel, you must eat here for dinner! After a week of traveling Guatemala and drinking watered down coffee...the robust morning brew here was a welcome addition.

The hotel is located far enough away from the main streets to be quiet, but close enough to be convenient. The boats from Rio Dulce will drop you at the private dock saving you a schlep to your hotel. The staff will ensure you get to your next destination and help you with all of the options.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank theway962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Great place ... lovely vistas out towards the bay, simple and clean cabanas, food was very good, we tried dinner and breakfast. The manager offered to call ahead in the am to the Rio Dulce launch to pick us up at the Casa Rosada dock saving us the " shlep " to the Livingston municipal dock and allowing us time for a leisurely breakfast. Rate at the hotel was inexpensive. Good free wireless internet. A great place to recharge for a night after the rocking ocean voyage from PG, Belize and prior to embarking on the river trip to Rio Dulce.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mochilero22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

My husband and I took our friends advice and came to Livingston not knowing much about this beautiful place. We arrived and had no idea where to stay so we started searching for a nice clean place. We looked at about five or six places until we stumbled upon La Casa Rosada. As soon as we opened their cute little wooden gate we knew we had found our place. We took a look at their wondeful bungalows and were given our key. I can't even begin to describe how beautiful La Casa Rosada is. The staff is very friendly and everyone is quite helpful. We had a great time relaxing in their hammocks that are hung in a palapa at the end of their pier. We also really enjoyed their delicious breakfasts and of course their dinners are scrumptious too. We had such a wonderful time at La Casa Rosada, we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Faithyoung08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
0.1 mi away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#4 of 8 in Livingston
100 reviews
4 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#1 of 8 in Livingston
366 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dos Arboles
Dos Arboles
#8 of 8 in Livingston
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#2 of 8 in Livingston
286 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
#7 of 8 in Livingston
44 reviews
14.1 mi away
Hotel Puerto Libre
Hotel Puerto Libre
#2 of 3 in Puerto Barrios
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Rosada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Rosada

Address: Livingston, Rio Dulce 01800, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Rio Dulce > Livingston
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Livingston
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel La Casa Rosada in rustic Livingston, Guatemala, is located in the rain forest at the mouth of the Rio Dulce and the Amatique Bay of the Caribbean Sea. The old banana port of Livingston is located where the Rio Dulce spills into the Bay of Amatique on the Caribbean Sea. Overlooking the sea from a low hill, Livingston is still an isolated settlement and is only accessible by boat. Livingston has mixed cultures: Q'eqchi (maya), Garifuna, Chinese, Hindu, ... The Rio Dulce, sourced by vast Lake Izabal, is known for its plunging 300 ft canyons, hot water springs, and lush tropical green. Livingston is located 45 minutes by boat from Belize -- famous for its beautiful reef keys. Nearby is Honduras, also known for its spectacular diving, snorkeling and magnificent art-filled ruins of Copán. From Livingston you are within hours of the ruins at Quiriguá and the sensational Tikal. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Casa Rosada Livingston
Hotel Casa Rosada Guatemala/Livingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing