We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Round House Hostel
Ranked #2 of 11 Livingston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We just stayed at the roundhouse and it was EXCELLENT. Danni picked us up in their boat from Livingston and took us to the lodge. As soon as we got there we were enchanted by the tranquil setting and amazing lodge.

The hospitality of Danni & Chris immediately made us feel comfortable and relaxed. Danni is really knowledgeable about Guatemala and gave us loads of great tips for the rest of our trip.The family style dinner was delicious and great value. This was great for socialising with the other (really nice) guests too.

We spent some time relaxing in the hammocks by the river - an idyllic setting to watch the local fisherman by the river. The next day we kayaked along the river to the aguas calientes.

After our stay they took us in their boat for a reasonable fee all the way to our next hostel.

Even though it is out in the jungle there were hardly any bugs, the whole place was really clean and comfortable. There were even 3 really friendly family dogs.

A stay here would be a great addition to your trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rashels, Gerente at The Round House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2017

Many thanks for such good comments we hope your visit again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 120 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is by far and away the worst experience of my three months traveling through Mexico, Guatemala and Belize, and I am actually shocked by the reviews regarding this poor excuse for an abode. We went without time restraints but within 5 minutes of arriving we wanted to be out of there first thing the next morning.

I don't know where to start.... It got off on the wrong foot with Chris bragging about his hangover and generally blowing smoke. It got worse as soon as we arrived. The place was damp, dirty, bug infested and dark. Granted it is in the jungle but that is no excuse for the state of disrepair and filthiness. As soon as we sat down in the common area their one other guest came in, and he was covered in scabby, infected bites and looked like a rabid dog that had been chained up for the last month. Suffice to say we immediately reached for our repellant.

As the place is incredibly isolated there was no point voicing our concerns, but my travel companions and I unanimously decided that a hasty exit was in order. When we stated our desire to leave the next morning, the hosts seemed a bit taken aback, but we felt like we were imposing anyway. To the point that I asked to charge my camera and my request was declined.

The dinner seemed tasty enough, but I got sick in the middle of the night and was sick the next day as well.

The rooms were just as bad, No nets, terrible lighting, damp, stuffy, and it did not help that the toilets were a mission to get to.

Everyone on here states what a lovely couple Chris and Dani are, and perhaps they were having an argument whilst we were there, but he was treating her in a misogynistic manner that was intolerable, which seemed undeserved as she was lovely. This, accompanied with the forced isolation made my skin crawl.

The next day we felt we were overcharged, but were beyond caring and were just relieved to get away. I much preferred puking up my dinner on the dock at Puerto Barrios with the smell of petrol fumes than being there.

The only good thing that came out of it was that we coined a saying for the remainder of our travels when assessing prospective hotels and hostels, rating them on a scale of "Round House to 10", and this I would rate as Round House.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Eurotash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rashels, Gerente at The Round House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2017

We are sorry for the inconvenience currently caused by owner change and hope to do a better job ..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

What a fantastic place to escape to! Danny and Chris will make sure your stay is an unforgettable one. We spent our time kayaking and swimming in the river. We also enjoyed the front-row seats to the nightly lightening storm in hammocks down by the river.

Great find for anyone traveling down the Rio Dulce! Don't miss it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VisitHonduras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rashels, Gerente at The Round House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2017

Many thanks for such good comments we hope your visit again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Staying at the Roundhouse with owners and hosts Danny and Chris has been by far the best Hosteling experience we have had since travelling through Central Am and Mexico!! From the design and location to the amazing home cooked meals and food, we wish we could all go back. It is the remote location that also makes this gem special, but dont think this is an issue, as all it takes is a phone call and Danny and Chris send a pickup or come get you from Livingstone or Rio Dulce themselves. Their love of travel and the area shows in the way they have created a home a way from home for all their guests and visitors. Hope you get to experience it!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perro_grande80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rashels, Gerente at The Round House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2017

Many thanks for such good comments we hope your visit again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We did not stay here at The Round House but after our visit we wish we had. We needed an escape from Livingston so my wife called Danny and arranged to have us picked up in town. But on the day we planned on going the weather was dark and stormy. Danny was thoughtful enough to call us that morning and double check if we wanted to come. We reschedule for the following day no problem.

Chris picked us up at the gas station in town right on time and cruised us up the river to The Round House. And what a beautiful boat ride it was! Worth the price of admission right there.

Once we got to the Round House Danny was very welcoming and made she we got what we needed before heading out to kayak the river. She gave us good directions on where to go and what to see along the river. Then after our return we were able to hang out and relax in the amazing jungle setting.

As soon as we were ready to head back to Livingston she called for a boat and in about 10 minutes we were on our way. But next time we are in this neck of the woods we'll be sure to spend a few nights here at The Round House.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Daryle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rashels, Gerente at The Round House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2017

Many thanks for such good comments we hope your visit again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

After a couple of days in Antigua this little gem on the banks of the Rio Dulce river provided an excellent combination of relaxing and exploring the nature of the river and its surroundings. Owners Danny (Dutch) and Chris (British) together with the rest of the guests proved to be good company during the communal dinner and the beers afterwards.

While Rio Dulce and Livingston are nice to see for a couple of hours at most, this is really the place to stay in the area. Enjoyed walking, kayaking, a tour by boat and the food (great breakfast!). Blending your own fruit juice with their bike propelled blender topped it all off!

Lotte & Bas

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bas2013Lot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rashels, Gerente at The Round House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2017

Many thanks for such good comments we hope your visit again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I have not stayed a this hostel but I have visited twice for drinks at the bar and to go on a boat trip organized by the owner. Both times we have been met with the warmest welcome, the owners could not be friendlier or more helpful. The place is a little haven in the middle of the jungle, next to the river. It has great views from the bar/chill out are with hammocks and plenty of space to relax. From what I saw the rooms and bathrooms look clean and spacious. I will most definitely stay here next time I am in the area, for the hospitality and the location.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fayemorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rashels, Gerente at The Round House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2017

Many thanks for such good comments we hope your visit again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
0.6 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#1 of 8 in Livingston
359 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
#7 of 8 in Livingston
43 reviews
3.8 mi away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#4 of 8 in Livingston
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#2 of 8 in Livingston
281 reviews
4.3 mi away
Dos Arboles
Dos Arboles
#8 of 8 in Livingston
122 reviews
14.3 mi away
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina
#1 of 3 in Puerto Barrios
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Round House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Round House Hostel

Address: | Aldea Piedra Pintada, Livingston, Rio Dulce 18002, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Rio Dulce > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Livingston
Price Range: $5 - $15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roundhouse is a social place with family-style dinners. We're located right on the beautiful Rio Dulce in the rain forest. The canyon, caves and hot springs are all nearby. Swim, hike, kayak, sunbathe or just take a hammock and watch the river life. We've got a great book exchange and enough hammocks to read. Or if you're up for a drink: there is also a well-stocked (Tequila!) bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your The Round House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Round House Hostel Guatemala/Livingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing