We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best place to relax in central america”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Round House Hostel
Ranked #2 of 13 Livingston B&B and Inns
rio dulce
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best place to relax in central america”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

It seems to be the usual case with this fantastic place, i came to stay for two nights and ended up staying twenty, it is the hotel california of guatemala, i kept trying to check out but could'nt leave! Danni and Chris are a lovely couple, friendly,helpful and their enthusiasum for the ecoism of the roundhouse is great. a perfect setting on a quiet part of the river with hammocks over the dock to read and watch the fishermen. the food is fresh and filling and beers cold,what more could you want?. a fantastic place

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rashels, Gerente at The Round House Hostel, responded to this review, March 11, 2017
Many thanks for such good comments we hope your visit again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    9
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
38
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Makaha Valley, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

I spent over four weeks combined at the roundhouse and I still feel like I left too early! This completly solar powered haven is nestled in the middle of an enchanting jungle right on the absolutly magnificant Rio Dulce! The premium tequila bar will keep your spirits high, while the perfectly placed hammoks overlooking the river will keep your eyelids low, as you watch local fishermen toss their nets! The brand new beds arn't that bad either! They offer kayaks, tubes, and can take you on a sunset cruise (the most awesome sunsets you can imagine), as long as there are enogh people. The sunday vollyball games in the pool are great aswell! The food is abolutly fantastic, and dinners are eaten together as a family (one of my favorite things)! I must emphasize the food is awesome, home made bread everyday! There is something very special about this place, and the only thing more special than this place in all of Guatemala are the owners Chris and Dani! They will go out of their way to make your stay special! I have truly made life long friends of these two and will be back with bells on guaranteed! The highlight of my three month trip was staying at the roundhouse and making friends with Chris and Dani! Love you guys and thanks!

Room Tip: Any room is good, you will sleep like a dead person! I believe the average person that stays here sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyrone W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rashels, Gerente at The Round House Hostel, responded to this review, March 11, 2017
Many thanks for such good comments we hope your visit again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

This was one of the best hotels we have stayed in during our 3 and a half month trip around South and Central America. Chris and Dani were the most hospitable, friendly and cool hotel/hostel managers we've met-thanks guys! It was hard to leave those hammocks swaying above the beautiful clean river in a peaceful and muy bonito setting amongst green green and more green! The food was wonderful, there was a pool to play some volleyball if that way inclined, hot springs a boat ride away and friendly people coming in and out. The energy of the place is special, there's no doubt about it. We'll be back! (:
ps a warning! you may go for a night or two but its likely to be three four or five (;

Room Tip: Dorm is open planned mosquito nets included. Private rooms are all similar and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rashels, Gerente at The Round House Hostel, responded to this review, March 11, 2017
Many thanks for such good comments we hope your visit again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

the roundhouse and its owners made me stay a whole week, Extremely nice atmosphere and overwhelming nature. Very nice to see how the projects are carried out to give their guests the best providance possible. Only the fact alone that everything is solar powered is just fantastic. I still think back of the place with a joyfull heart. thanx a lot, chris and dani!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinvanwulften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rashels, Gerente at The Round House Hostel, responded to this review, March 11, 2017
Many thanks for such good comments we hope your visit again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

The Roundhouse is build up in a very nice way. Big and lovely furnished rooms, lots of hammocks, a round bar with an unbelievable selection of Tequila around a peaceful garden in the middle of the jungle directly at the river.

Dani and Chris (the owners) are such a great couple and a perfect team. They did everything to make sure we’re having a good time. We planned to stay two nights and stayed six. We had great conversations and a lot of fun. We always had dinner together, which is kind of a “family” thing and very nice. The food is insanely good (awesome self-made bread and granola, and delicious meals for dinner). We never had such good food anywhere else in Central America.

They picked us up with the boat in Livingston and took us to Rio Dulce after our stay. I think you can get there by water taxi as well. However, Dani and Chris do not charge a lot of money. Thus, it might be easier to call Dani and Chris and arrange the transportation with them. Every two days or so there is the reggae boat tour (boat tour from the hostel “Casa de Iguana” in Livingston) with a bunch of people for a few drinks, which is really enjoying.

Chris and Dani also have a swimming pool for volley ball, a hammock-house from where you can jump into the water, as well as kayaks and tubes.

The Roundhouse is one of the nicest places we’ve been to so far. It was really relaxed and chilled.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jul_Kat_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rashels, Gerente at The Round House Hostel, responded to this review, March 11, 2017
Many thanks for such good comments we hope your visit again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

The loveliest couple run this place. They picked us up in Livingston and dropped us off in rio dulce. Great conversation, great food. Great view. Nice atmoshere. Will stay here again in a second.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patty1881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rashels, Gerente at The Round House Hostel, responded to this review, March 11, 2017
Many thanks for such good comments we hope your visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

I recently made an unplanned trip to the newly opened Round House on the Rio Dulce in between the towns of Rio Dulce and Livingston Guatemala. My experience was great. The atmosphere was extremely laid back and comfortable yet met all of my traveling needs. The European owners Danny and Chris were extremely accommodating in every way, i only spent a few days here but i felt like i was staying with old friends. They also have great insider knowledge of the area and are eager to share it with guests. The family style dinner was catered to vegetarians while we were there and was and is still the best food we have had in Guatemala, hostel, hotel, and restaurants alike. This place is a little off the beaten path but definitely worth it.

Room Tip: Best hostel bed in guatemala!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brinkley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rashels, Gerente at The Round House Hostel, responded to this review, March 11, 2017
Many thanks for such good comments we hope your visit again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
0.6 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#2 of 9 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
#7 of 9 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#1 of 9 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#4 of 9 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
14.3 mi away
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina
#1 of 3 in Puerto Barrios
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
15.0 mi away
Hotel Puerto Libre
Hotel Puerto Libre
#2 of 3 in Puerto Barrios
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Round House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Round House Hostel

Property: The Round House Hostel
Address: | Aldea Piedra Pintada, Livingston, Rio Dulce 18002, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Rio Dulce > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Livingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roundhouse is a social place with family-style dinners. We're located right on the beautiful Rio Dulce in the rain forest. The canyon, caves and hot springs are all nearby. Swim, hike, kayak, sunbathe or just take a hammock and watch the river life. We've got a great book exchange and enough hammocks to read. Or if you're up for a drink: there is also a well-stocked (Tequila!) bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your The Round House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Round House Hostel Guatemala/Livingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing