We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great hosts, new hostel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Livingston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Garden Gate Guest House
Ranked #9 of 11 Livingston B&B and Inns
Viborg, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place, great hosts, new hostel”
Reviewed April 28, 2011

We stayed in this great place 3 nights in March and had a wonderful time together with Maria and David. We enjoyed the garden, the views, the quietness, the birds and the food at Marias restaurant in town Tiligo Lingo; you simply have to go there. Maria and David were working extra hard when we were there, because they are opening a new hostel: RIVERSIDE - by the riverside of course, on the way from the harbour to Garden Gate. We wish them luck with all their plans; we're sure it will be as great a place as GGG!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tiklani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firefly010, Owner at Garden Gate Guest House, responded to this review, May 8, 2011
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, it's always a pleasure to have folks such as yourselves staying with us...You wear very well...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2011

This is the place to relax and get great food by your room in Livingston. The hosts are lovely people, very interesting and very knowledgeable. Their house is set in a lovely tropical garden and is outside of the main bustle of the town. At night it is quiet and peaceful, and in the mornings you can watch the sunrise over the Caribbean sea in the bay of Livingston. Maria will lavish you with fine food and great breakfasts, so bring an appetite!

She also runs the best restaurant in town, both taste and food quality and affordable. Her staff there are capable of making the best cocktails I have had. The rooms at the garden gate house, and indeed the whole place, includes beautiful little design touches made by hand by David, Maria's husband and co-host.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoundTheBendProject
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firefly010, Manager at Garden Gate Guest House, responded to this review, March 17, 2011
We are very glad that you are satisfied with your stay here at Garden Gate, we appreciate your factual posting.

We hope one day to see you again..(the Horseshoe-pit is nearly finished, we can play a few games on your return).

Dave/Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at Garden Gate for a couple nights in Dec 2010 and I was the best room we found in all of Guatemala! Dave and Maria (owners) treat you not only as a guest, but welcome you as a friend. Their English skills are perfect (Dave being from the US) and were extremely helpful in answering questions.

The room was VERY clean and amazingly comfortable. The bed is a Sealy Posturpedic, which made for better night's sleep then I get at home! Though not on the water (we check out all those places and they were NOT nice at all) Garden Gate offers a great view of it, as well as an amazing garden that is full of fruit trees.

The place is a great value and is very reasonably priced! The owners really go out of their way to help you and offered the best service we experienced on our trip. They have beefy locks and offer great security on the premises! Truly a worry free stay! I would highly recommend it to anyone who would like a quiet place to get some rest. Also, great food available (owners also have best restaurant in town) and free reliable WiFi!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew_Fo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firefly010, Manager at Garden Gate Guest House, responded to this review, January 24, 2011
Maria and I are gratefull for the fine review you have given for our Guest-House, we feel honored that you chose the Garden Gate Guest House for your stay here in Livingston...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livingston hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#2 of 9 in Livingston
262 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#1 of 9 in Livingston
346 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
#7 of 9 in Livingston
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Banana Palms Hotel Resort & Marina
0.0 mi away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#4 of 9 in Livingston
96 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Round House Hostel
The Round House Hostel
#2 of 11 in Livingston
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Gate Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Gate Guest House

Property: Garden Gate Guest House
Address: San Juanal 18, Livingston, Rio Dulce 18002, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Rio Dulce > Livingston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Livingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 1/2 acres of rolling hills, covered in grass and trees - Cacao(coco), Mango, Pineapple, Cashew, Mandarina, Orange, Guava, Banana plants, Pineapple plants and other jungle fauna. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Garden Gate Guest House Guatemala/Livingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing