We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Livingston, Río Dulce!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Livingston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Rios Tropicales
Ranked #4 of 11 Livingston B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We came looking for a calm, peaceful and cozy place, And that we found it!!! If you come into this area you should not miss staying here, Own by a great beautiful family, who has been very dedicated in arranging everything possible so that you feel comfortable and welcome. We were welcome by Melanie and Stephanie, two beautiful girls who made sure we had a pleasant stay, always helpful and enthusiastic!! Make sure they give you the special Coco Loco!!! It's so famous and popular here that everyone loves to come at any time of the day or night.

Definitivamente el mejor lugar de Livingston para quedarse varias noches y comer en un restaurante que tienen enfrente. Tienen una rica variedad de Comidas y bebidas, de verdad un lugar agradable Con una fusión Guatemalteca y Asiática. No te pierdas venir aquí y comer el delicioso pan de coco.

Agradezco a todo el personal por habernos hecho sentir como en casa, por su confianza y el buen trabajo que han hecho!!!

Saludos desde Suiza!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 91 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2012

My wife and I (62 yrs and 57 Canadian) stayed at the Rios Tropicales on two occassions during the Spring of 2012 for a couple of days each. We thoroughly enjoyed our stays and would return in a heartbeat. The location is wonderful, close to the boats to Punta Gorda or Honduras, right near lots of quaint restaurants and shops etc. The staff were friendly and the owners were extraordinary in their attendance to our requests. We had a large room on the ground floor, opening onto the "patio/garden". Clean, basic and enjoyable. The patio/garden is a wonderful place to read, listen to the birds or just daydream and chill. Lots of unique art and there is an ecclectic motiff that makes the place work. Wonderful time and thank you. The owners also can arrange tours etc. They helped us immensely, in our planning for Belize and securing a motorcycle etc. We are seasoned travellers and found this place just what we needed after our journey down the Rio Ducle.

Room Tip: Large room on the ground floor (corner) opening onto the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Westcoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I come to Livingston to do research in the summers and usually don't write hotel reviews, but this one is worth my time. I stayed here for a few nights last summer and, even though I am living in a different part of town now, this is one of my favorite places to come in the morning. The people are some of the most sincere, hospitable, and friendly folks around. The lodgings are screened in and set around a gorgeous courtyard filled with tropical flowers and sunshine with lots of comfy seats and hammocks surrounding it on a covered patio with fans to cool you off and books to read if you want to lounge around. It's very close to the dock as well. When the boat pulls up, hustlers are waiting to try to take you to one of two other hotels (remaining nameless...). If you are looking for a reasonably priced, clean, and beautiful place to unwind you don't need to walk far.This one is what it seems: convenient, clean, friendly, safe, and relaxing. The people who work here can tell you anything you want to know about the area and transportation. You can also meet other travelers here, though it is not the town's "party hostel." There is one of those down the road and, though potentially fun, it is in it's own world and a bit socially detached from the town whereas Rios Tropicales has a good report with folks in Livingston and the family who runs it is very much a part of the community.
If you are not staying here, you may want to come here simply for the breakfast, coffee, and free internet. They are pretty much the only cafe (as Westerners think of it) in town and the only place where I have found actual drip coffee (not instant). Because I'm here for a few months doing research, I come here about every other morning!
In short, it is a lovely place to stay and a haven for coffee drinkers and those who are a little tired of the heavy, savory bean-filled breakfasts (though you can get that too if you want).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acb2fj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I had the crepas and the chai tea they were amazing really think anyone would like them, also bought a shirt that said Gifity on it which is the name of the local liquor drink which means bitter drink, they also have other cool things to remember the amazing Livingston island.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jr_lemus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Easily missed, or mistaken for a simple coffee shop, this hotel is clean, airy and centrally placed in Livingston- with easy access to the dock, most of the restaurants in town, and the immigration office. Also, the coffee here is to die for! I wish we'd bought more than just a bag!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worlando52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

You might accidentally walk by this hotel without knowing it. The entrance is only 20 feet wide. But if you miss it, you will miss one of the best places in Livingston. A nice family run place (3 generations), the younger daughters are now taking over the operations and their youthful energy is apparent. Every room is clean and well maintained. The common courtyard - atrium is nice and cozy. They have good wi-fi connection, and their restaurant across the street is excellent. Melanie, the oldest daughter leads kayak and boat tours up the Rio Dulce to all the great spots. She has lived in this area her whole life and knows the great places. She is ready to expand her tours, so look for new offerings.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kayak-atitlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

i really love this place, specially i love the way that they are organized and they always make u feel good.

in this hotel u can feel very comfy because this is a safe place and the most important is always clean... they offer u a very complete service like for example: wifi, hot water, they have a mini bar "i loved it" , and a livingroom in the middle of the place perfect to take a snap!! ... i hope to back soon!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vladen y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livingston hotels
4.3 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#1 of 8 in Livingston
366 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
#7 of 8 in Livingston
44 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dos Arboles
Dos Arboles
#8 of 8 in Livingston
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#4 of 8 in Livingston
100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#2 of 8 in Livingston
286 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel y Restaurante Casa Escondida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rios Tropicales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rios Tropicales

Address: Main Street | After Migration Office, Livingston, Rio Dulce 18019, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Rio Dulce > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Livingston
Price Range: $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms with private bathroom (cold shower) and private rooms with shared bathroom. Breakfast from waffles & crepes with Nutela and Banana, the strongest coffee drinks in town such as expresso, capuccino, Frapuccino with white chocolate, caramel or dark chocolate, chai tea . Ask Melanie about Tours or Direct Transfers to(Semuc Champey, Belize, La Ceiba, Rio dulce & Flores and Punta Gorda, Belize) FREE WIFI at the restaurant and coffe shop (entrance) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Rios Tropicales Guatemala/Livingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing