We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing Hotel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Livingston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Rios Tropicales
Ranked #4 of 11 Livingston B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We arrived here just before New Year. I cannot praise this place anymore. Melanie the girl who works/owns the hotel was amazing and their family run business is unique, clean, and more than affordable. They also own a restaurant across the road that makes one of the best thai curries outside of Thailand. Its a must if you goto Livingston.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wozzaefc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 91 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2011

Rios Tropicales is a good, safe and central located hotel in Livingston. Nice, friendly atmosphere. It is located on a 300 meters from distance from the doc. The only minus is the cold water... We paid 200 quetzales (20 euro) for a double room with private bathroom. A little bit expensive for Livingston but a good budget choice if you look for something more than a hostel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spanishca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

We chose Hotel Rios Tropicales due to the good reviews in tripadvisor and the result was deciving. It was the worst value for money in our trip to Guatemala.
The staff was NOT friendly. Answers were brief, advice was not provided... And I speak Spanish, as I am Spanish.
The worst were thw rooms. Maybe we were unlucky, as I do not understand the good reviews. Our room lacked a proper window, we had to switch on the light the whole day.The bed was not comfortable and the bathroom was a nigthmare: it was a 2x2sq m cubicle inside the bedroom, too little, old and dirty, the door was repaired with patches of wood. I can cope with electric showers, but this one had been repaired with tape and gave us 4 shocks in 3 days.
In addition the room was noisy and we heard the tv of the neighbours at all times. A/c didn't exist.
We didn't try the breakfast as it was expensive.
By the way the hotel location is excellent, but I would not recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chucho_nordes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all comments like yours to help us improve and reminding us that any lapse in service and quality can be very detrimental to our business and customer satisfaction.

As you mentioned, we have a history of great reviews, which we are very proud of, and because of those reviews you were attracted to stay with us. We strive to maintain the high standards we set ourselves and feel genuinely sorry that this experience did not meet your expectations.

In reference to your complaint regarding the room, we were very surprised to receive this as you personally choose the room on arrival without having paid any deposit, and stayed for three nights. We would have appreciated it if you had made any complaint at the time giving us the opportunity of rectifying anything, rather than now when it is too late.

Air conditioned exists in the room of one bungalow and certainly, all other rooms only have fans which are specified on our website, we would have been happy for you to move if we would known this is what you wanted, again, if you had only let us know at the time.

You mention that our breakfasts were expensive but we offer a range of good quality breakfasts from Q. 20 – Q.40 and coffee from Q.8, which we believe to be very reasonable.

We sincerely apologize that you felt that our staff were not friendly and did not offer good advice as we at Rios Tropicales pride ourselves on our excellent service. We have since met with all our staff to reiterate the importance of our service to our guests and to ensure this lapse does not happen again.

Thank you again for staying with us and mentioning we are in a good location!

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

we were very pleased with the cleanliness and appearance of the hotel rooms; I was also very impressed with the professionalism and courtesy your front desk provided to us.

I would like to thank you for the high quality of professionalism and courtesy that you extended to me...

jen

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank forestHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

When arriving in Livingston look no further than Rios Tropicales. It is very reasonably priced, the rooms are very clean, tidy and have air-conditioning. There is a roof terrace with views over across the water to the mountains and cute courtyard with hammocks to chill out and plan your day.The staff are very kind and welcoming, they will go out of their way to help you arrange trips or just make your trip an enjoyable one. I recommend trying the fruit smoothies, they're very good.

They also have a restaurant a few meters away serving local and Asian dishes. I recommend the soup with whole crab, fish, plantain, mussels etc etc. I also had the nicest Margarita I have ever had here, the mix is homemade. Say hello to Maria, she has been the chef for over 25 years.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janeechi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2010

A very relaxed place in the center of Livingston with spotless rooms with shared or private bathrooms. Rooms set around a patio with plenty of chairs and hammocks for relaxing. The owners Roberto and Betty are very friendly and little sunshine Blanca will always greet you with that great smile of hers. The hotel is just passed customs so if you come in from Belice or Honduras, you won`t have to walk very long.
Rios Tropicales is very good price-quality.
Just across the street they own a restaurant, which serves very good food, a wee bit expensive for Guatemalan standards but it is well worth it! Make sure you try the local speciality: tapado, a delicious fish soup with coconut cream. After dinner, try the local liguor: gifiti, a digestive shot drink on the basis of rum and herbs.
For a hotel in Livingston: search no more!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GitanJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

My fiancee and I walked around Livingston for the morning finding very grotty hotels with Roosters everywhere! After thinking we were never going to find something quiet, clean and with in budget. ......We then stumbled across this lovely place and it has a lot of charm. The owners are sweet, the rooms are very clean, there is a very fast internet connection all day and night, right in the center of town. I am totally impressed and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnalieseB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livingston hotels
4.3 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#1 of 8 in Livingston
365 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
#7 of 8 in Livingston
44 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dos Arboles
Dos Arboles
#8 of 8 in Livingston
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#4 of 8 in Livingston
100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#2 of 8 in Livingston
286 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Round House Hostel
The Round House Hostel
#2 of 11 in Livingston
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rios Tropicales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rios Tropicales

Address: Main Street | After Migration Office, Livingston, Rio Dulce 18019, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Rio Dulce > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Livingston
Price Range: $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms with private bathroom (cold shower) and private rooms with shared bathroom. Breakfast from waffles & crepes with Nutela and Banana, the strongest coffee drinks in town such as expresso, capuccino, Frapuccino with white chocolate, caramel or dark chocolate, chai tea . Ask Melanie about Tours or Direct Transfers to(Semuc Champey, Belize, La Ceiba, Rio dulce & Flores and Punta Gorda, Belize) FREE WIFI at the restaurant and coffe shop (entrance) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Rios Tropicales Guatemala/Livingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing