We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe the best in town”
Review of Dos Arboles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dos Arboles
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Livingston
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 1, 2012

I have been to Lívingston many times and always stayed at the same hotel. I had to change as they had no more rooms and I never regretted. This place is almost perfect, clean, very good food, nice owners from Europe. It takes some time for the food to be prepared, but it is verrrry yummy so it is worth waiting (best Lasagna ever!). The location is right on the beach but the pool is so beautiful one wants to stay there all day. I will come back here eventually and recommend it!

Room Tip: Single rooms are double rooms but cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank amveliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 128 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stayed and the Vecchia Toscana early November (2011). Recently taken over by a very welcoming and accommodating couple who have great plans for the place and i'm sure will make it a real success.

As secure and relaxing little haven with excellent pool and bar and away from the main town with the ocean on its doorstep. It's easy and safe to walk to town for drinks and meals and exploring. Peaceful and roomy accommodation.

Both meals we had were excellent. Breakfast yummy and good coffee and the evening meal was superb (one of the best we had on our holiday). I had the Snapper (mouth-watering!) and Steve had the Swordfish... both cooked to perfection and the wine was chilled and delicious. With the sea sounds and evening breeze, the location for such a meal couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SRSQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

The rooms are nice and safe, probably the best in town. That said, the costs at this place run much higher than advertised. I called on the phone and was quoted a price of 30 dollars a night, when I checked out, it was 75..... The food costs are absurd. Even if I had been at the Ritz Carlton the prices would have been high, but at a hotel in a poor neighborhood in Livingston... well they were crazy. Without knowing the prices (since they aren't posted), I bought 3 beers ,an omelet and two cups of coffee during my stay. The cost of all this was around 40 dollars. The omelet was very small and served with dry stale bread. I would never have ordered if i had even imagined the prices. Even the coffee was about 3 dollars for a small cup and refills were not free (and I was not told that when the owner asked me if I wanted a second cup). Also even with their crazy prices, we were told not to bring our own drinks into the dining area (we were the only guests and with good reason apparently). And probably the worst event of the week, we ordered some fish, waited 3 hours for it to be cooked and it was served raw. When we sent it back the hotel seemed very offended and upset about it. Even two days later they made a comment about the fish. I am sorry but I will not eat raw fish caught off the beach in Livingston (where raw sewage runs into the water).

I should also add that while this place advertises itself as a high end Italian villa, you have to walk over an open sewer drain to get to the hotel, walking only over a plank of wood. Additionally, there is a bar next door which plays loud music all night. And your view of the ocean is blocked by barbed wire and fences. At the end of the day this place is trying to be something it just isn't and until they work out their pricing and improve their food, stay away.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank charles c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick_VTRESORT, Manager at Dos Arboles, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2011

It is sad to see our guest sign up just for leaving this ourageous act of slander.

The author of this review was travelling in a group of four. One of his co-travellers had arranged the stay, and despite clear pricing information provided by our staff and our website, the person who booked the stay assumed that our unique private beachfront bungalow would cost 30 US$ a night which is wrong. At our front desk we keep another big board with detailed pricing information as well. Never had we or our staff been in contact with the reviewer.

The other prices quoted this review are plain simply wrong - e.g. there is no coffee for 3 US$.

The group arrived at our restaurant carrying several bottles of liquor. We kindly asked them not to do so, which they obviously did not like. We wonder what restaurant anywhere in the world would handle this differently. We let the author of the review and the entire group consume their own liquores the whole night at our pool bar without taking further notice just to keep everyone happy.

The author of the review was unsatisfied with our freshly prepared fish (which took 45 minutes instead of "three hours"). We offered another meal right away and made it clear that we would not charge for that, which he refused. Again, I am sure that our reaction was more than appropriate.

The area in front of our hotel is a clean, maintained beach, the "sewer drain" is way off and actually a canal that leads rain water from a hill to the sea.

Anyhow, the guest ended up with insufficient money upon check out and insisted once more on the inacceptable price of 30 US$ per night. As a sign of goodwill and without any commitment, we cut his bill by more than 100 US$.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

A guy on the pier handed us an ad of this hotel. It looked very good and they had special prices for the time we were there, so we went to give it a look. Surprisingly, the taxi driver didn't know this place and had to ask around - not a good sign, we thought. But when we arrived there, we were very surprised: this place is awesome! The owners showed us around, we saw the pool area and that was it, we booked a room right away. We never expected anything like this here. The room was very nice, they showed us some more but we chose one by the beach with a great view. After a good sleep we went to the pool and spent the rest of the day there. The owners are german and speak very good english. Service was great, they make us feel like at a friend's place. The menu mainly offers italian food, however we had Baracuda which was very good. Stayed only for one night, so that is all I can write.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We chose this hotel after reading reviews here, and were extremely disappointed. Since then (our stay was in summer 2010), other opinions more like our own have been published - and I'm beginning to wonder whether there are maybe two hotels of the same name in Livingston! As another member said, the hotel is quite a way out of town in a part where we didn't feel quite at ease after nightfall and thus requiring a taxi several times a day if you're not prepared to do nothing, see nothing and eat nothing all day (admittedly it was the low season). We too found a narrow strip of dirty sand in front of the chain-link fence, and to get to the hotel we had to balance our way along a tree trunk with our cases (I'm not joking!) in order to cross a dirty looking stream. The owners - who we managed to find eventually - disappeared after checking us in, (only one other couple of guests, and no other staff to be seen) and as the restaurant seemed to be closed, we managed to find a taxi to take us back to town to have something to eat. There, we found and booked the Villa Caribe with low season rates, comfort, charm, good location and service. The following morning, just after sunrise, we left the Vecchia Toscana with great relief! To be fair, the rooms were clean, pool and gardens very attractive, but as for the rest, as RecentlyRetired says, 'This place is a joke!'

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank jade2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2011

The owners Ivan and Daniella are Guatemalan immigrants from Italy. They are the kindest most endearing couple I have ever met. To top it all off, they cook the best Italian food in Guatemala. Two brick oven stoves serve authentic Italian pizza and they have a tilapia pond in the back of the property. They will catch a fish and cook if for you right on the spot. The rooms are nice and clean, have hot water and air conditioning. Go for something on the top level of the property with a view of the Gulf. Very nice pool and bar. Vecchia Toscana is priced just right at about $75 to $80 for a couple and has all the interesting perks of an individually owned private hotel. Service is top noch. Very eclectic and unique. There's no hotel like it in Guatemala.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RegularTraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Peacefull, beautifull place, very nice owners family's and the food was so good! The rooms a rustic european style and very comfortable, you feel like at home. the price was resonable for 2 people $60 for a nite with air con hot water and the most important it's so quiet. the hotel resort is on the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank joseeMontreal_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
4.4 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#1 of 8 in Livingston
366 reviews
0.8 mi away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#4 of 8 in Livingston
100 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#2 of 8 in Livingston
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
#7 of 8 in Livingston
44 reviews
13 mi away
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina
#1 of 3 in Puerto Barrios
184 reviews
14.8 mi away
Hotel Puerto Libre
Hotel Puerto Libre
#2 of 3 in Puerto Barrios
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dos Arboles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dos Arboles

Address: Playa Barrio Paris | Barrio Paris, Livingston, Rio Dulce 18002, Guatemala (Formerly Vecchia Toscana Resort)
Location: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Rio Dulce > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Livingston
Price Range: $35 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dos Arboles is located right on the beach of Livingston. We offer comfortable rooms with fan, private bathroom, some with hot shower and potable water. Some rooms have air conditioners. There is a beautiful swimming pool surrounded by tropical gardens. We have an on-site bar and restaurant, games, paddle boards and maybe the best book collection in Guatemala. We are an English and Dutch couple who recently bought the hotel, but have been in the Livingston area for a long time. We are happy to tell you everything you need to know about the area, organize tours and help with onward travel. Hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dos Arboles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dos Arboles Guatemala/Livingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing