We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please Please Please avoid this place if you can!”
Review of Casa De La Iguana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa De La Iguana
Reviewed October 20, 2009

I stayed in this hostel for 2 night with an israeli friend i had met along the way. The owner is a slightly creepy english guy( which is also where i'm from) and would advise his staff to try and sell whatever they could at a price that wasn't exactly cheap going by Guatamalan prices. We were relaxing outside of our dorm room and were approached 4 seperate times asking if we would like anything to drink, and if we did not have a meal you could tell they were not all to pleased. In my opinion a hostel cannot be run by an owner who has 8 staff members mooching off him for accomadation and subsequently doing no work besides to constantly ask you if you would like a drink. In fairness the location is good and Livingston as a place is strange but cool. If you can get the boat from Rio dulce to Livingston, possibly one of the best boat trips ive ever been on, absolutely gorgeous.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jebsoccer777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 270 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2009

I had such a fun time here. All the staff and guests were welcoming and friendly and the food served is great. The rooms are clean and the shared bathrooms more than decent. Rusty the owner can organise tours and onward transportation and there´s a selection of films to watch and a rather tasty chocolate cake to nibble on. True, you probably won´t be tucked up with your cocoa at half six in the evening but if you´re looking for a hostel with excellent facilities and an even better atmosphere you´ll be hard pushed to find somewhere to beat this place.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

I really enjoyed my stay here - so much so I ended up staying an extra night. Randy, the owner - is really lovely and makes a great effort to make his guests feel at home and included. True, he can be a bit pushy about getting everyone involved in meals and drinks but that's what hostels are all about - getting to know eachother. If you were in search of real 'Livingston' culture I'd recommend you stay in a family homestay. The meals were great and the skittle vodka is NOT to be missed!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccforthf84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

Was planning on staying here for 2 days and ended here for 2 weeks, the staff are very helpfull and try to get everyone to have as much fun as possible. if you want to have fun and meet other travelers then come here if you want a quite place to stay and keep your selves to your selves than stay away. simple. Amazing food and happy hour. LOVED IT and plan on coming back!!

Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
1  Thank aroundtheworld1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2009

This hostel is great IF you like being woken up by the sounds of someone you don't know vomiting in or around your bed. My partner and I stayed at this hostel two seperate occasions. (Don't ask me why we went back for more) Both times we had to catch an early boat or bus and we were unable to sleep due to the loud late night partying that is encouraged and facilitated by the hostel. As far as we can tell the hostel makes money by pushing is customers to drink until they are out of control, and waking up there is like waking up in a vomit filled war zone. I feel sorry for the Guatemalans that work there, and I figure this hostel contributes to any sort of bad impression they may have about forigners being lazy, drunk, and disgusting. The owner was very rude to us, but i guess I don't blame him because I don't know how he gets any sleep, living directly above the bar. And the only saving grace of this place was that some of the employees were very friendly. However they did not speak spanish and were unable to help us get reservations with other hostels.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flagstaffgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2009

Stayed at Casa de la Iguana for a few nights of fun. The staff threw a great happy hour, the food was tasty and the owner gave me lots of helpful tips for onward travel. The rooms were bright and clean as well. Best place to stay in Livingston by far!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BCGirl4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2009

Big warning! This hostel is the worse hostel I have ever been to, and I have been travelling for five months in south and centralamerica. The owner was creepy, rude and unfriendly and desperately looking for friends who could party with him and his stuff. Really sad.Guests are not allowed to drink and eat outside his hostel or party in Livingston. They are forced to stay at this secthostel. The staff tried to control everything about you. The owner told us that we were ANTISOCIAL ( yes its true! and yes thats a psychiatric diagnose!) because we went out to see Livingston by night and didnt stay at his boring barbecue. Extremely unprofessional owner. And guess what, he kicked us out because we didnt socialize with the british people at his hostel. Why would we? we are in Guatemala and interested in their culture. Awful place! Never ever go there!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank worsehostel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
4.0 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#1 of 8 in Livingston
355 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
#7 of 8 in Livingston
43 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#2 of 8 in Livingston
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina
#1 of 3 in Puerto Barrios
174 reviews
0.0 mi away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#4 of 8 in Livingston
98 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Round House Hostel
The Round House Hostel
#2 of 11 in Livingston
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa De La Iguana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa De La Iguana

Address: Barrio Marco, Sanchez Dias | Izabal, Livingston, Rio Dulce 18002, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Rio Dulce > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Livingston
Price Range: $14 - $16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de la Iguana is a fabulously famous party hostel for fun and friendly happy travellers. It is set in a jungle garden with awesome wooden cabins and dormitories all unique and worth the extra Q for a good nights sleep. We may not be the cheapest in Livingston but we pride ourselves on having handmade lockers in each dorm, comfortable beds, spacious private rooms, superb wifi for Skyping and calls home, great social staff and fantastic fun most evenings, especially when a lively Happy Hour involved. There is fantastic free wifi. the best in Livingston actually, as well as an international book exchange. We also arrange tours to Belize, La Ceiba, Siete Altares, Playa Blanca and Rio Dulce and recently added, our own very exciting Tiger Cave trip and Fishing (eat what you catch). Spanish Lessons available too. We have a great reputation for our parties but it happens when we have a great bunch of people too! Come see us soon, meet other like-minded free spirits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Casa De La Iguana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De La Iguana Hotel Livingston
Casa De La Iguana Guatemala/Livingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing