We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good time for backpackers!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa De La Iguana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa De La Iguana
Granada, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good time for backpackers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

If you are traveling alone or in a group this place is about 99% of what to do in Livingston. Family style dinners, tours, shuttles & a friendly orientation upon check in. Rusty the owner always has great staff & the nights can get a little wild.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HandsomeHenrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    51
    28
    30
    30
See reviews for
1
54
88
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

I actually really liked it here but they have volunteer staff that are mal informed and super super cliquey. I was only here for one night on a "layover" between stops but what I saw was that these people are here to encourage people to party and really really hard. They played games that forced people to drink? And then charged them for it on the "tab system" that they don't let you avoid. I was definitely overcharged at the bar and they refused to write out what I'd actually had. Also all of the staff took turns getting people drunk and sleeping with them. Felt like a super weird frat party which is really unfortunate because it's a nice spot with a nice atmosphere otherwise, and I really liked the staff before they got drunk.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frestonian90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

My friends and I came here for one night only and I'm relieved it was only one night. The rooms were horrible, the toilet didn't work, the shower head fell off and the staff were really cliquey and immature and all their information was completely wrong which we later found out to our inconvenience. Livingstone generally isn't a great place and not worth visiting, particularly if you've got limited time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

There's not really much to say about this place other than . . . if you're not in your 20's and not into hard core drinking stay elsewhere. It's actually a nice place, with friendly (volunteer) staff but the noise, the booze, the illicit substances and drunken revelers are the one striking feature about this place that colors all else. The prices are high, especially for alcohol, which they will push on you relentlessly. Also, the place is fairly dirty in that party hostel kind of way (vomit, cigarette butts in the shower, etc) many rooms are up very high with dangerously tiny and steep stairs . . . seems like an accident waiting to happen. If you're over 25 and or have some sense, stay elsewhere!

Room Tip: Stay as far away from the lobby / bar as possible for reduced noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank International_Mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

I stayed in Iguana for about ten nights over Christmas and had a crazy time.

The hostel is not very big and has a good family atmosphere, especially when nearly everybody eats together at night. Familydinner is not cheap but the women cook fantastic and there is always a vegi option.
Rooms and bathrooms are avarage. The main reason to come to Iguana is the party. It is funtastic!
Depended on the other visitors, we had some quiet nights or endless wild ones. I was surprised every night once more.
The staff is helpful, funny and tries to be in touch with everybody.
Just bring earplugs and good mood:)
Even after trying so many hostels, his still is one of my favorites.

This hostel might no be perfect, but it is unique!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicoleHah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

There is always one great reason to come to Casa de La Iguana: meeting interesting, vivacious people from all over the world. If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing time, keeping to yourself I would not recommend this place for you. The accommodations are pretty standard for a lot of hostels in this part of the world, decent beds, and one hot shower. Bear in mind it is in the jungle so you might get eaten up a bit by sandflies and/or mosquitos.

The family dinners are a great value and always delicious - especially the Sunday Roast, but I might find breakfast elsewhere. I felt like the price for the breakfasts was a bit high. There are different drink specials, and if you have a particular request, don't hesitate to ask, I know the staff was very accommodating when I asked for an "off menu" drink. Do keep in mind where you are though, not everything you might want is available in a small, cut-off-the-mainland city in Guatemala. Come here to drink and meet other travelers, and have a place to crash, keep an open mind, and you will be very happy indeed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seam_by_seam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

this was by far the worst hostel experience we have ever had, the staff were incompetent and regulated by a manager who was consistently more drunk and high than anyone else in the entire compound. there was fighting between guests and staff, of which the staff were to high to deal with. the rooms were infested with rats at night. the staff consistently did not care about there customer welfare and were interested in only making money, of which we are sure none goes back into the local community.
DO NOT STAY HERE

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oli W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rustylucky, Manager at Casa De La Iguana, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
I am sorry to hear you have a bad experiece at Casa de la Iguana. In response to your review:
Casa de la Iguana has a no drugs policy; it is a party hostel though so there is drinking going on, enjoyed by both guests and off duty staff members. The fighting between staff and a guest was actually a guest being abusive to staff – which was dealt with at the time and for which the guest has apologized the following morning. In regards to rats these animals are attracted by any sort of food which is why we ask guests to trust their food to us and there is a sign in every room reminding guests of this rule. Finally, Casa de la Iguana is well connected with local community projects in Livingston donating material and sometimes staff to ongoing projects and we have recently thrown a fundraiser party for Niños de Guatemala, a charity based in Antigua providing schools and after school programs to children.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
4.0 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#2 of 9 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#1 of 9 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
#7 of 9 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#4 of 9 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Round House Hostel
The Round House Hostel
#2 of 13 in Livingston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
4.8 mi away
El Hotelito Perdido
El Hotelito Perdido
#1 of 17 in Rio Dulce
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa De La Iguana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa De La Iguana

Property: Casa De La Iguana
Address: Barrio Marco, Sanchez Dias | Izabal, Livingston, Rio Dulce 18002, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Rio Dulce > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Livingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de la Iguana is a fabulously famous party hostel for fun and friendly happy travellers. It is set in a jungle garden with awesome wooden cabins and dormitories all unique and worth the extra Q for a good nights sleep. We may not be the cheapest in Livingston but we pride ourselves on having handmade lockers in each dorm, comfortable beds, spacious private rooms, superb wifi for Skyping and calls home, great social staff and fantastic fun most evenings, especially when a lively Happy Hour involved. There is fantastic free wifi. the best in Livingston actually, as well as an international book exchange. We also arrange tours to Belize, La Ceiba, Siete Altares, Playa Blanca and Rio Dulce and recently added, our own very exciting Tiger Cave trip and Fishing (eat what you catch). Spanish Lessons available too. We have a great reputation for our parties but it happens when we have a great bunch of people too! Come see us soon, meet other like-minded free spirits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Casa De La Iguana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De La Iguana Hotel Livingston
Casa De La Iguana Guatemala/Livingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing