We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“rats, party, cocaine” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa De La Iguana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa De La Iguana
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
“rats, party, cocaine”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

this was by far the worst hostel experience we have ever had, the staff were incompetent and regulated by a manager who was consistently more drunk and high than anyone else in the entire compound. there was fighting between guests and staff, of which the staff were to high to deal with. the rooms were infested with rats at night. the staff consistently did not care about there customer welfare and were interested in only making money, of which we are sure none goes back into the local community.
DO NOT STAY HERE

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oli W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rustylucky, Manager at Casa De La Iguana, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
I am sorry to hear you have a bad experiece at Casa de la Iguana. In response to your review:
Casa de la Iguana has a no drugs policy; it is a party hostel though so there is drinking going on, enjoyed by both guests and off duty staff members. The fighting between staff and a guest was actually a guest being abusive to staff – which was dealt with at the time and for which the guest has apologized the following morning. In regards to rats these animals are attracted by any sort of food which is why we ask guests to trust their food to us and there is a sign in every room reminding guests of this rule. Finally, Casa de la Iguana is well connected with local community projects in Livingston donating material and sometimes staff to ongoing projects and we have recently thrown a fundraiser party for Niños de Guatemala, a charity based in Antigua providing schools and after school programs to children.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    51
    28
    30
    30
See reviews for
1
54
88
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

I stayed in Casa de la Iguana for 2 weeks! I was going just for 3 days, but ended up staying a lot longer. That was because the staff was great. I was working on my computer all day, and they treated me like one of the family. It was a really great experience. The nights were really fun and I met a lot of people there.
The room was OK, and the staff helped with every problem I had.
There was an excellent atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian_Alessandro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I don't understand the question.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

If you want to party, meet people and chill this place is great. I see a lot of people complain on here, but what do you expect? It's a party Hostel!! One lesson as a traveler: Bring Ear Plugs Everywhere You Go.

If you have travelled in the third world the accommodations will seem pretty standard; Hot Shower; delicious and cheap family-style dinners; friendly and helpful staff; and a five person 5 meter tall beer bong. Plus Livingston is a total gem, spend time with the local Garifuna people if you can.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrico, Guatemala
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

This is definitely a party hostel, especially when there is torrential rain and not much else to do than be sociable. Don't come here if you don't want to have fun with the friendly, attentive staff, who seem to tap into an infinite resource of youthful energy. This place is not for the faint hearted, but if you are a traveller looking for a chill place to let your hair down for a few days in great company, La Casa Iguana is a good choice. Our Livingston experience was not about the town, but the unforgeable memories of a few nights at Casa Iguana.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holaiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp Province, Belgium
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We spent one night here and it was the worst night of our trip. First of all the administration there is a complete disaster. They managed to lose our key and lock us out of our room for a few hours. When we went to bed we just heared drunk people (including staff) yelling. And when the music finally stopped, we heared mice biting our bags. It could be a nice place if it was managed properly and with good staff in stead of drunk temporary european travellers.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Roblan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed in Iguana for one night. The place was fun with parties at night and the stuff was very nice but the rooms are durty and are located over a swamp (we got muscito bites all over). You pay for everything you order in the check out and they make many mistakes in the final bill so pay attention to what you order and to the prices.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utila, Honduras
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

Awesome place , great party place or just to chill out. Livingston is also a great little city and did not feel unsafe at all. Must see if you get the time. Will definitely be back if I have a chance to be back in Guatemala.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wardsville1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
4.0 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#2 of 9 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#1 of 9 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
#7 of 9 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#4 of 9 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Round House Hostel
The Round House Hostel
#2 of 13 in Livingston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
4.8 mi away
El Hotelito Perdido
El Hotelito Perdido
#1 of 17 in Rio Dulce
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa De La Iguana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa De La Iguana

Property: Casa De La Iguana
Address: Barrio Marco, Sanchez Dias | Izabal, Livingston, Rio Dulce 18002, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Rio Dulce > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Livingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de la Iguana is a fabulously famous party hostel for fun and friendly happy travellers. It is set in a jungle garden with awesome wooden cabins and dormitories all unique and worth the extra Q for a good nights sleep. We may not be the cheapest in Livingston but we pride ourselves on having handmade lockers in each dorm, comfortable beds, spacious private rooms, superb wifi for Skyping and calls home, great social staff and fantastic fun most evenings, especially when a lively Happy Hour involved. There is fantastic free wifi. the best in Livingston actually, as well as an international book exchange. We also arrange tours to Belize, La Ceiba, Siete Altares, Playa Blanca and Rio Dulce and recently added, our own very exciting Tiger Cave trip and Fishing (eat what you catch). Spanish Lessons available too. We have a great reputation for our parties but it happens when we have a great bunch of people too! Come see us soon, meet other like-minded free spirits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Casa De La Iguana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De La Iguana Hotel Livingston
Casa De La Iguana Guatemala/Livingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing