We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home.”
Review of Casa De La Iguana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa De La Iguana
Reviewed June 26, 2013

It's taken me a few months to write this review but I haven't forgotten. I had such a good time at this hostel and would definitely put it down to the staff and the atmosphere they created especially Monique, Ben, Hamish and Serena. Family dinners was a nice way to meet people and staff have plenty of info on what to do around the area. Definitely a great place to chill out, ended up spending more time here than intended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spider1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 270 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

nice hostel in livingston, maybe the only backpacker place in town.
it's a bit far from the pier, and there is not big sign, so if you arrive after the sunset (as me) better you ask twice to people..that are really friendly.

plenty of hammocks to be lazy all day, read a book or enjoy a cold beer.
tv just till 6 pm and internet till 9 pm..this help to have a chat with other travelers..
there is not kitchen...and the hostel serves family dinner every night.. (a bit pricey to compare with guatemala cost of life) anyway you can still have walk in the town..eat a cheap meal there.
dormitory was ok.. this is a really humid place... so be prepared to meet fatty cockroach in your room.

if you are looking for a place to meet other people..in a quite area, and enjoy your time in livingston..this is the place!

Room Tip: take room far from the bar area will help you to sleep better..cause the bar close late in hte night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aBoUtAtRaVeLeR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Casa de la Iguana has a great atmosphere - it is a nice place to chill out in Livingston. It is like a totally removed little compound, so it is not the place to learn about the local culture or be immersed in any way, but it is good if you need a break to lay in a hammock and read/drink. If you are practicing Spanish, it will suffer during your stay because everyone is speaking English, however, the dorms are clean and nice (no lockers), the showers are good (cool, which is all you need in the HEAT), there is lots of opportunity for quiet time and personal space or drinking in groups, depending on what you like. Dinners (extra cost) every night are eaten as a group - there is always a veggie option. There is no guest kitchen. Room/dorm prices are average for the region. It feels removed from the world and I ended up staying longer than I had intended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canadiantraveler38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The hostel consists of several charming tree houses, and our private room was nice and pretty much space and a big window. The staff seemed very nice and the atmosphere were friendly and I think the guests and the staff had some nice evenings with food, beer and fun. Not located completely in the centre of Livingston but the five minutes walk to the main street is nice. They had food every evening you could sign up for for 45 Q, and it was usually really nice - with a vegetarian option too. The showers were nice, the toilets the same, the city is so nice, and some people spend the warm afternoons in front of the TV in the hammocks, but the TV was turned of during the night :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabineovesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed there for one night on our way to Honduras. The rooms were nice, yet extremely damp! Staff was super nice and really helpful. There was a great atmosphere and it was great to see that most guests knew each other from previous evenings.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelgaSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I spent a couple of nights in Casa de la Iguana and I have to say, that I had some of the most fun nights in my trip!!! The staff is having a great time there with the guests and you will notice that in the atmosphere. You can book all the nice tours there as well and so you will have a great combination of nice days and good nights.
The food is very nice as well, you can also order good pizza for lunch. Don't miss the sunday roast, it is the highlight of the week, regarding the dinner. After that you can join the nice pub-quiz: I loved it!!!
Regarding the rooms: Nice clean wooden cabañas for very reasonable prices. What do you want more?!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
Thank Markus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Lovely people and good communal dinner. However, if you get put in one of the rooms near the bar, when you've stopped partying you won't be able to sleep - at all! I'm normally a dorm kind of girl, but ended up travelling with a few others and shared a room. It was right near the bar and when we went to bed at about 4am, the fun carried on til 7am - no sleep at all!

There were also lots of cockroaches in our room. Think this is a liability of having lodges over the drainage areas, but it really freaked my friends out to find 8 massive cockroaches in between the beds, plus a big iguana on the beam above. Fine if you're keen on wildlife, if not, possibly stay down the road and come party here!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
4 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#1 of 8 in Livingston
359 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
#7 of 8 in Livingston
43 reviews
0 mi away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#4 of 8 in Livingston
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#2 of 8 in Livingston
281 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Round House Hostel
The Round House Hostel
#2 of 11 in Livingston
120 reviews
18.7 mi away
Hotel Casa Perico
Hotel Casa Perico
#5 of 20 in Rio Dulce
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa De La Iguana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa De La Iguana

Address: Barrio Marco, Sanchez Dias | Izabal, Livingston, Rio Dulce 18002, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Rio Dulce > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Livingston
Price Range: $14 - $16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de la Iguana is a fabulously famous party hostel for fun and friendly happy travellers. It is set in a jungle garden with awesome wooden cabins and dormitories all unique and worth the extra Q for a good nights sleep. We may not be the cheapest in Livingston but we pride ourselves on having handmade lockers in each dorm, comfortable beds, spacious private rooms, superb wifi for Skyping and calls home, great social staff and fantastic fun most evenings, especially when a lively Happy Hour involved. There is fantastic free wifi. the best in Livingston actually, as well as an international book exchange. We also arrange tours to Belize, La Ceiba, Siete Altares, Playa Blanca and Rio Dulce and recently added, our own very exciting Tiger Cave trip and Fishing (eat what you catch). Spanish Lessons available too. We have a great reputation for our parties but it happens when we have a great bunch of people too! Come see us soon, meet other like-minded free spirits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Casa De La Iguana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De La Iguana Hotel Livingston
Casa De La Iguana Guatemala/Livingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing