We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet retreat on Lake Atitlan”
other travelers have booked this property
Front porch
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front porch
Comfortable living room with fireplace Downstairs bathroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Front porch
Comfortable living room with fireplace
Downstairs bathroom
Downstairs bathroom, with shower
Enjoy sunset from the house
The dock
Walkways up to the house
Santiago is famous for textiles
A local friend
One species of the many orchids
Front yard view
The house on San Pedro volcano
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Santiago Atitlan, Lake Atitlan, Solola Department, Western Highlands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Christoph...
1 review
“Quiet retreat on Lake Atitlan”
Reviewed October 14, 2018 for a stay in October 2018

If you're looking for a quiet retreat from the business of life, Cynthia's property is great. The house is beautiful and it's very easy to reach other parts of the lake by boat at very low cost. I believe Cynthia is in the process of having pumps installed for the pool next to the main house which will be a great addition since there are very few pools around the lake. Grab some local produce at the market in town and then enjoy your stay cooking, reading, swimming and relaxing in a garden paradise!

Date of stay: October 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo G
Porto Alegre, RS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This place will make you re-assess your life !!!”
Reviewed September 7, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This place is just amazing ! Quiet, only reachable by boat, surrounded by a beautiful garden full of colorful flowers and with stunning views of the lake and two volcanoes across it. This images will keep you in such a peaceful state of mind and will make it a perfect opportunity to re-assess your priorities, values and objectives. The house is so cozy and comfortable. Brig your wine and enjoy it from your room's balcony and/or in front of the fireplace ... All in all, 1000% recommended !!

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 8, 2017
Thanks so much Paolo. I'm glad you and the family enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culture71...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing news, gorgeous house, would come again, DEFINITELY!”
Reviewed August 3, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Our host Cynthia lived on the property and was always available to help us with transportation arrangements since none of us speak very good Spanish. She gave us a phone to use while there and told us lots about the local customs, textiles, etc.The grounds were like a mini-botanical garden. The views of the lake and volcanos and the town across the lake were amazing. I hope we can return again!

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 7, 2017
Thanks Cathy. It was a pleasure having the four of you. I hope you come again too as we have many more conversations to finish.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D2895RWam...
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I don't know why you would stay anywhere else.”
Reviewed April 4, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Cynthia is an amazing woman. She had everything prepared for us. Even our transfers from Antigua to the Lake and in the morning when we had to go to the airport. She made our trip very enjoyable. Now the house.....oh my goodness. It was perfection. I don't even know any other word to describe it. The grounds were just flawless. All the beautiful flowers everywhere. The walk up to the house isn't the easiest, but it is absolutely gorgeous. If you stop to take a break all you see is flowers and the towering volcanoes in the distance. It was an absolute pleasure to stay here. The boat ride to the town across the lake takes about 5 minutes. Everyone knows "Miss Cynthia" and her house. The sunsets in the afternoon to the sunrises in the morning. It was almost as if you could never take your eyes off the view. Thank you so much Cynthia for making our stay that much more incredible!! Give kisses to the animals for us!

-Amanda, Josh and Lee Anne

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the seclusion
Liked least: nothing!!!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 5, 2016
Thanks for the wonderful review. It was such a pleasure having you here. Come back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kpitpos2
Waynesboro, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic House with Jawdropping Views!!!”
Reviewed January 7, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We recently returned from a 5 night stay at this amazing property. Cynthia was the perfect host and made the task of organizing our transportation a breeze. Because the house can only be reached by boat she helped us arrange all of our water transportation from the moment we arrived until we left on the last day. About a hundred steps through an elaborate garden span the distance from the dock to the terrace upon which the house sits but this minor inconvenience is well rewarded with a feeling of privacy and security as well as breathtaking views of Lake Atitlan, Santiago, and the volcanoes beyond.

The property is completely "off the grid" but you wouldn't know it because the solar power collected all day runs the house all the time. The whole area has an enchanted feel to it and if the views weren't enough the history of the area suggests that this area was in the middle of a thriving Mayan community centuries before.

We enjoyed taking day trips to horse back ride, hike, zip-line, and shop but we mostly enjoyed hanging out on the large porch and watching the sun come up over the volcanoes or enjoying the warm tropical afternoon breezes as we watched the sun set.

If you are looking for a great property off the beaten path, have no issue with steps, and enjoy natural beauty you will not be disappointed by this property!

Date of stay: January 2016
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbj_7
small town, PA
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for our family - beautiful”
Reviewed January 7, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

On arrival in Santiago, met by a boat to take us across the lake to the house we rented for five nights. One hundred stone steps from the dock led to the home. Each step is anticipation of the extraordinary view. The owner, Cynthia, has gardens lining the walk and around her home. It was a paradise for the eyes. The steps had landings and switch backs inviting you to rest which I did that time with my bag and each time without baggage.

The house has a perfect view of the lake, volcano, city of Santiago. Absolutely perfect with a deck on the lower and upper level for enjoying the view. Iron ornamental bars on the windows reminded us we are completely safe. Cynthia has a dog, Shadow who kept the grounds safe as well. The rule is after 5p.m. you stay at the house (no boats to cross the lake.) Perfect family vacation for visiting. We played games or watched a movie each night. New Years Eve was a highlight as we watched the amazing firework display from the second story deck.

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cynthia had the right balance of being helpful and giving us privacy. Gardener helped with the bags on arrival!
Liked least: Felt out of my comfort zone in Guatemala but the house increased my feeling of comfort/safety being across the lake and more private.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fayerace
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfecto!”
Reviewed April 8, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This house was so great. My sister and I (mid-50's) had my 6 year old here for a week and we all enjoyed it very much. Cynthia is great to deal with as are those she recommends such as the boat or taxi transportation people. The town directly across the lake, Santiago, is a great place to shop and eat. It seems to be the most traditional on the lake so note to dress properly. I made the mistake of showing a bit too much leg a few times and got "the look" of judgment. The prices in Santiago were much cheaper than Antigua so do as much shopping here as you can. The pictures really don't do it justice. It is a perfectly designed home that has everything needed for a lovely stay. An evening with a roaring fire and a good DVD could not be topped in this house!

Date of stay: March 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing