We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth a trip”

Las Lagartijas Restaurante Y Tienda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Southwestern, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Las Lagartijas Restaurante takes pride in that everything we serve is homemade right down to our condiments. We have a varied Menu which includes vegetarian and vegan options. We are large enough to serve you yet small enough to care.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“worth a trip”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

funky hole in the wall restaurant that creates a laid back non-judgemental atmosphere for locals and travelers. don & barbara have made this a special place to come for a drink or a bite. listen to classic tunes, satisfy cheese cravings, talk to your neighbor, and just rest those traveling feet. oh, and the food is homemade and super good.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eaw007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don Barbara B, Owner at Las Lagartijas Restaurante Y Tienda, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you so much. You need to come back and check out our new Menu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    15
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tlayacapan, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An oasis”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Las Largartijas is one of the most comfortable places I know. Barb and Don are great hosts, have great food and have so many things you can't find elsewhere in the area. They make their own brand of salsa, pickles, etc, rent videos, have fresh-ground peanut butter and a delicious menu.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don Barbara B, Owner at Las Lagartijas Restaurante Y Tienda, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
THANK You so much. Look forward to seeing you and your family again. Have a GREAT new menu I am sure you will enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago Atitlan, Guatemala
1 review
“Interesting place with good atmosphere”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Is my favorite place to drink a Cuba Libre, I love nachos and tacos... ! You can listen blues, jazz, reggae and lots of good music... !

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don Barbara B, Owner at Las Lagartijas Restaurante Y Tienda, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
The Cubas are still cold and the music is still pumpin. Got alot of new menu items. Hope to see you soon. THANKS for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago Atitlan, Guatemala
Level Contributor
107 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“If you're in Santiago Atitlan, don't miss Las Lagartijas!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Few people who come to Santiago Atitlan will make it to the east edge of town and Las Lagartijas. They'll be missing out.

I admit it: I lived in the area for six months before I tried Las Lagartijas. It's...well...a shack. Open to the little road near the Hotel Bambu, it looks like a place to be wary of. Fortunately, locals and volunteers at nearby Hospitalito Atitlan know better.

Owners and American ex-pats Don and Barbara cook up all kinds of delicious meals. What's more, they keep inventing new treats. I'm the local vegan, and they go out of their way to make vegan versions of their dishes and create new vegan-friendly dishes.

Their taco salad is the best I've had anywhere. My other favorites include the black bean burger, falafel burger, and eggplant torta. Try them with some of their homemade ginger ale.

Their breads are freshly made (your choice of whole wheat or sourdough). The produce is always fresh and excellent quality.

But it doesn't stop there. Las Lagartijas offers a selection of excellent home-canned goods, such as pickles, relish, jams, and peanut butter. And their homemade granola is simply the best.

As a vegan who runs a B&B and loves to cook, I appreciate both the hospitality and the quality of the food at Las Lagartijas. There are only three places I will eat in Santiago Atitlan and San Lucas Toliman. Las Lagartijas tops my list!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Traci S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don Barbara B, Owner at Las Lagartijas Restaurante Y Tienda, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
You are just Awesome.. You know how we feel about you. Thanks for all the good tips. Will continue to create new foods that you will enjoy. THANKS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Lagartijas Restaurante Y Tienda also viewed

Santiago Atitlan, Lake Atitlan
Santiago Atitlan, Lake Atitlan
 
Santiago Atitlan, Lake Atitlan
Santiago Atitlan, Lake Atitlan
 

Been to Las Lagartijas Restaurante Y Tienda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing