We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Bambu is a little piece of paradise.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel and Restaurant Bambu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2009

From the moment we arrived at Bambu we were stunned by the breathtaking scenery; the lake, the lush plantings, the thatched roof cottages that were the rooms. And we were impressed by the kind, honest and attentive staff (one of the maids discovered and returned to me 3oo quetzales that I had forgotten was in my pocket and had thrown away). All in all we felt very well taken care of at an incredibly good price. We will definitely return to Bambu on our next trip to Guatemala.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clairenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 143 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2009

I recently stayed here for 4 nights in August as I was unable to secure lodging at the Posada de Santiago. Our room was comfortable with great views and the gardens are beautiful. However should you stay here I would recommend you eat somewhere else as the two occasions that we tried to have dinner here turned out to be awful, cold food, dishes come out one at a time. I feel sorry for the staff here. On one occasion (the owner sits with his 'assistants' at a desk in the corner of open plan restaurant which creates a weird vibe as they are NOT very friendly or communicative) the waiter seemed so busy but not one of the managers got up to help. After that occasion we went elsewhere for food. Santiago Atitlan for me is the nicest most interesting place to stay on the lake though.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
1  Thank LizzieG69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2009

We arrived at the Bambu by water taxi from Pana, and pulled into the most amazing gardens. The grounds are so lush and welcoming. We stayed in unit one and had views of the lake when we woke each morning. I liked that room but would have been just as happy in the units that were not cottages. They each offered bright cheerful rooms with sitting areas outside and good views.

I have read about the hot water issue and was concerned. I wrote to the hotel before we arrived and was guaranteed they did not have a problem with hot water. I get to me room and checked it out and found the issue is the knob on the left is cold and the knob on the right is hot. We had hot water the at all hours of the day.

The hotel was a lovely stay and from what I saw, the best option on the lake. At this hotel you know you are in Lake Atitlan in Guatemala. We didn’t want a generic hotel that could exist anywhere and this hotel met our needs and more.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IamMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2009

Our thatched cabin (No.1) was set in attractive gardens overlooking the lake. It contained a small double and a large single bed. No air conditioning, but if anything, we were a little cold at night. There was only hot water in the evening. Good value restaurant favoured by tour groups at lunch time. We enjoyed the simple Continental breakfast taken on the terrace.
Biggest drawback was the barking,howling and whining most of the night of the countless dogs on neighbouring properties!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PetroniusMinor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2008

Hatel Bambu is great but not more than two days. We arrived in Guatemala at the ungodly hour of 5 a.m. Whisked by out driver to Lago de Atitlan. We arrived, had breakfast with our driver at the lakeside town of Panajachel and took a boat out to the other side of the lake to Santiago de Atitlan.

There's not much to do in Santiago de Atitlan except read and talk and eat. The restaurant at the hotel is adequate, they served an ok Guacamole, and the Chilean wines were a Godsent. The hotel itself is beautiful, lush grounds, by the lake, there's a lil dock where we got dropped off and picked up again.

They also can make you a reservation to go horseback riding with an old guy and his wife. They picked us up from the hotel and took us horseback riding. We went during the off season, so the trails were overgrown, we passed overgrown coffee plantation, overgrown cornfields which freaked my horse and it went a lil wild for a second... but I managed to stay on the horse and had a good time over all. The best part is the fresh homemade muffins the woman made for us, and the homegrown coffee. The old guy and his wife was a bit of an anarchist and had interesting stories to tell us.

But after two days of the wilderness, my inner city girl was begging for some sign of civilization... so off to Antigua we went.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WonderLustrUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2008

The setting is gorgeous, the rooms adequate. However in the 24 hours we were there none of the rooms had hot water. People who had been there longer said that until our stay there had been hot water. The dining room serves good food but ever so slowly; our breakfast was included in the room price but does not begin until
8AM!!! So, as we had to leave to continue our tour at 8AM we had
breakfast on the road, at a charming hotel/restaurant Finca Santa Elena, on a road in the coastal region.

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tripsandmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2007

Stayed here five nights while working at a pre-school in Tzanchaj (read more about it in my Posada Santiago review), and payed 45 usd a night.

We ate all meals here during our stay (breakfast, boxed lunch and dinner), because Posada Santiago was closed, and the restaurants in town are so-so (we ate at El Pescador a few times, but my partner got sick on one occasion and we didnt go back). According to our guide book and "local gringos", the hotels and El Pescador is about the only "safe" places to eat (hygienically).

Bambu is situated a 20 minute walk from the harbour, and another 10 minutes from the plaza.

We also stayed four nights at Posada Santiago, so here´s the comparison:

Bambu´s "advantages":
- gardens here are MUCH nicer
- pool is bigger and a lot more secluded
- bathroom is much larger and brighter
- restaurant is a little bit cheaper
- we found the owner (from Spain) to be more involved and welcoming
- rooms are brighter and more spacious

Bambu´s disadvantages:
- rooms are not screened for bugs
- menu has less exciting items (but definitly adequate)
- less on offer in evenings (less games, no internet, books)
- no tourist information booklets

All in all, it´s a great place to relax in the day time (garden and pool), but perhaps less in evenings. I´ll prefer Posada Santiago for my next visit, but will also gladly return to Bambu.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank kaldal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santiago Atitlan
5.5 mi away
Lush Atitlan
Lush Atitlan
#1 of 3 in San Marcos La Laguna
255 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Toliman
Hotel Toliman
#1 of 1 in San Lucas Toliman
305 reviews
6.2 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan
0.7 mi away
Pescador Hotel PH
Pescador Hotel PH
#3 of 3 in Santiago Atitlan
14 reviews
6.8 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 5 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel and Restaurant Bambu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel and Restaurant Bambu

Address: Tzanchicham 7 | Kilometro 16, Carretera a San Lucas Toliman, Santiago Atitlan 07019, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santiago Atitlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Santiago Atitlan
Price Range: $76 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel and Restaurant Bambu 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect place to enjoy an excellent stay in Santiago Atitlan, Solola Guatemala. Two of our important ambitions are the satisfacton of our clients, and the utmost respect for the ecological environment of the region. We have fused our hotel with the landscape, preserving and beautifying with a gorgeous garden in which we offer our comfortable rooms and swimming pool for our guests. Each room has private bathrooms with hot water. In the architecture and design elements we have used a traditional tz’utujil village design like the wooden beams, carved stone raised on two separate porches with large wooden columns, and thatched roofs. The bungalows are romantic with their carved stone and thatch roofs, with private gardens, terraces, and bathrooms with hot water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel and Restaurant Bambu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bambu Santiago Atitlan
Bambu Hotel Santiago Atitlan
Hotel And Restaurant Bambu Santiago Atitlan, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing