We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Gardens, Great Location on the Lake” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Posada de Santiago

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santiago Atitlan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Posada de Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful Gardens, Great Location on the Lake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

The Posada is one of the nicest places to stay close to the town of Santiago. The town is a close walk up the street, and across the street the Posada has a lake-front spot to relax with a pool, hot-tub and a doc to access the beach. It is a great spot to relax, swim or rent a canoe for a relaxing ride on the lake. The food is excellent, and Jim the owner sometime has live music in the dining area on some evenings. The cabins are made of stone and absolutely charming. The rooms have filtered water on tap as well. It is a great place to start your visit to Lago de Atitlan

Room Tip: Rooms, halfway up the hill, are surrounded with beautiful gardens and are a close walk to the main b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danjiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    54
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
81
101
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Charles, Virginia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying here for three nights. The "cabins" are well appointed and the staff is top notch! After we returned to Antigua we discovered that my husband did not have his money pouch containing a credit card and cash. After tearing apart our luggage we called Posada de Santiago and learned that indeed it had been left there but, our tour company had already been contacted by the staff and a courier was being sent. This was not an easy task considering that it was toward the end of Holy Week and the local roads were jammed with traffic and Antigua was wall-to-wall cars and pedestrians. When the pouch was delivered it had been secured in multiple layers of plastic and tape. All the contents were in tact. The grounds at Posada de Santiago are beautiful and the restaurant is excellent. Rolando took us on a birding expedition and he did a great job! If you want coffee before 7:30 a.m. request it and it will be delivered for a nominal charge.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtm221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chimaltenango, Guatemala
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

My husband and I went to the Posada for our honeymoon in 2011. It was a dream location, dream view, and the food! We both call it paradise, our little piece of heaven. We traveled there again for our first anniversary in 2012 as well.

The food at the hotel is amazing. I still dream about the steak in peppercorn sauce. Having breakfast every morning right on the lake was incredible, the whole experience was just amazing.

David, the owner, is a hilarious man and makes you feel right at home when you're there. He is funny and very nice, chatty man.

Definitely go to the Posada if you have the chance!

Room Tip: My husband and I honeymooned in the Aguacatal suite. Very very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaLayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

My spouse and I found Posada de Santiago-- on the southern outskirts of Santiago Atitlan-- delightful. Close enough to walk into the city center but a fine retreat from its hustle. The food (huevos pouche, pictured) is very nicely prepared and the whole place is a good fit for those new to Guatemala and the seasoned travelers. Relaxing stone cottages above the road are quaint and quiet.

A quarter-mile stroll further south sits Parque de Paz-- the site and memorial of the Dec 1-2 1990 army massacre of civilians that marked Santiago en resistancia de opresion. A Must See for travelers who seek a feel for this country's pain-filled history.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank herbgunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJGSant, Owner at Posada de Santiago, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I suspect that you would have been disappointed if you had come all this way to encounter an inn keeper in a cheap suit with a name tag and an artificial smile, looking as if he worked for a hotel chain. Yep, it's a hotel with a quirky history and an equally quirky owner who helped with reconstruction after Hurricane Stan, pays a few scholarships, some medical bills, employs thirty local people who no longer have dirt floors but do have running water, electricity, kids who go to school and health insurance.
Oh, those packs of dogs seemed to have migrated before I began serving them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Posada de Santiago is a perfect stop on the shores of Lake Atitlan. The cabin was clean, comfortable, and spacious. Filter drinking water was available on tap. The room came complete with a working fireplace if you weather is a little chilly.

Room Tip: Lower down the hill to avoid the neighbors barking dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

I guess I am old school...but I think if you are a paying customer, you should not be held hostage to the whims of the owner. The immediate issue is the wifi. The only good wifi signal is the signal in the dining area. Every night the owner shuts it off between 6PM-8:30PM. The wifi around the property is virtually nonexistent so things are basically not accessible during the dinner hour. So, as a captive audience, we eat in the dining room listening to the not-so-talented ex-pat friends of the owner, as they try to carry a tune....

I don't want to say that the owner is surly but definitely can be described as a bit of a quirky character.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScDGal2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJGSant, Owner at Posada de Santiago, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
I would like to correct this travel writer on a couple of issues she brought up.
1) My main business is not the internet. There are two routers. One router is on twenty four hours a day. The signal reaches several rooms as well as two covered patios with seating. It does not get cold here. The second router is in the restaurant, and, due to popular demand, is off during the dinner hours. Prior to this policy, many guests told me that they did not like the feeling of an internet cafe during dinner, one in which people stare at screens and did not interact with other guests. C'mon, lighten up---we are taking about ten percent of the day here.
2) I hire very talented local musicians to play here and do not agree with your assessment a bit.
3) No one is a "captive audience." There is a thatched roof mirador, a ranchito and a palapa where one can sit and be served food and drink if they prefer to not socialize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

My wife and I spent two nights here during our visit to Lake Atitlan. Taking a boat ride to the hotel dock is the best way to go although not fun during windy afternoons (trust me). Great food options at the hotel, daily linen service including a firewood replenishment for our nightly burns. Most of the staff seemed genuinely glad to have us there although English may not always be their strong suit, so brush up on your espanol.

I'd recommend a taxi (tuk-tuk) into the local town of Santiago Atitlan for a glimpse at the real Guatemala. Always felt safe walking around this town even if it was down a side street away from tourists.

If birds, coffee and plants interest you I'd highly recommend a visit to Los Tarrales Reserve which is about a 45 minute windy drive around the lake. Josue (who we used and who speaks excellent English!) or his brother Aaron can provide an incredible stroll through the reserve. If I remember correctly about 50 families live and work on the property. The most obvious business aspect of the property is the growing of ornamental plants which are mostly exported to Italy. If bird watching is your thing and you are an early riser then this is a must on the list. We were so impressed with Josue's knowledge of the local flora and fauna and even history of the reserve.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blarmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santiago Atitlan
7.3 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel and Restaurant Bambu
Hotel and Restaurant Bambu
#2 of 4 in Santiago Atitlan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
7.9 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
7.8 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#4 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Toliman
Hotel Toliman
#1 of 1 in San Lucas Toliman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada de Santiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada de Santiago

Property: Posada de Santiago
Address: Apto. 1, Santiago Atitlan 07019, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santiago Atitlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Santiago Atitlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over seventeen years the Posada de Santiago has built a reputation for excellence among travel agencies, tour groups, and countless satisfied guests from across the globe. Nestled between the volcanoes that cradle the indigenous Tzutujil village of Santiago Atitlan, the Posada provides the perfect base from which to experience Guatemala's natural beauty and colorful cultures. With charming stone cottage lodgings, renowned cuisine and luxurious lake front amenities, the Posada is a place where happy guests want to return. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Posada De Santiago Hotel Santiago Atitlan
Posada De Santiago Atitlan
Posada De Santiago Hotel Atitlan
Posada De Santiago Santiago Atitlan, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing