We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and yummy!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Posada de Santiago

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santiago Atitlan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Posada de Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Antigua, Guatemala
2 reviews
“Beautiful and yummy!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Thanks to David and staff for a perfect get-away spot. The bungalow was beautiful, with a lovely fireplace to take away the night's chill. The food at the restaurant was fabulous, the canoe ride wonderful, the sauna perfect.....
I cannot wait to return!

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ginger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    55
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
81
102
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Lovely beyond words and the food is great...The setting is beautiful and l loved our simple but very clean room. The area by the lake was so relaxing. The blue corn pancakes are a must, as are the freshly made blue corn tortilla chips.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chercher123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

I have stayed at a number of places around Lake Atitlán. Or I used to. After a while it became apparent that the Posada was my favorite, and then it also became apparent that I enjoyed myself at the Posada so much that there was no point in doing second best ever again.

Meals in the restaurant are beautifully presented, and the presentation indicates accurately the care given the food itself. I never seem to get over the tenderest of tenderloins in a blue cheese sauce. It is so nice to get up from dinner and go back to our cottage, light the already properly laid fire, and sip Guatemalan aged rum.

I get my money’s worth; I take full advantage of the wood-burning sauna AND the Jacuzzi AND the swimming pool AND the canoes. And I love just to walk among the gardens, especially when I run into the head gardener, who by now knows me pretty well and doesn’t mind my questions.

Maybe the very best thing among all these wonderful things is the staff. All the staff members—the cooks, the waiters, the housekeepers, the pool chief, not just the gardener—enjoy their work, and they enjoy their clients. Like me they keep on being there. I suspect the owner pays wages well above the local rates, which they deserve, and good for him for knowing it.

As for the owner, I like a guy whose restaurant won’t (WILL NOT) open before 7:30 am and whose menu includes the line, “We also reluctantly serve decaffeinated coffee.” If you don’t appreciate him for that, you’ve got to admire him for taking, at his own expense, the whole staff on a week’s holiday at the Pacific. And for being the driving energy that established a hospital in Santiago, and a women’s weaving cooperative, and, and, and. I also like a guy who charges affordable prices for absolutely top-level quality.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidGreenego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

This little resort is beautiful, comfortable, quaint and so delightful! The staff is thoughtful and attentive. The casitas are comfortable with nice additions like an outdoor hammock. There's a pool and jacuzzi, as well as the lake for swimming. There's an area with chairs for sun or for shade.
The food in the restaurant is really good. Breakfast options include blue corn pancakes--so yummy! There are fruit smoothies and veggie juices available, too. Such a delightful place!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

... and I mean that in the best way! David -- the ex-pat Californian who owns and hosts this lovely intimate resort -- has created a rustic and relaxing paradise in one of the world's most stunning natural settings.
This place is by no means Four Seasons luxury. The stone cabins are rough hewn, plumbing fixtures functional and gardens an eclectic hodge-podge of tropical nursery plants, avocado trees and a working coffee farm. Two highly domesticated cats patrol the grounds -- one of whom decided she enjoyed either our companionship or simply the the shelter of our cabin -- maybe a little of both. But she showed up at our door every morning and came by for evening visits, too.
Our accommodations -- Casa Aguatal -- included a large great room centered around an arched stone fireplace and a very comfortable eastern king bed. The small loft above held a queen sized mattress and side table, perfect for one adult or two children. The bathroom -- shower only -- was smallish but functional, and included a special tap running purified drinking water. Decor included artwork and crafts from the local population, further lending an informal and warm sensibility to the space.
The dining room took up most of the main lodge interior, and served imaginative locally inspired cuisine with an emphasis on fresh, quality ingredients. Smoked chicken breast is a tasty dinner specialty. The menu for all three meals was surprisingly expansive. We ended up eating all of our meals at the Posada, something we don't normally do. (Perhaps the fact that we had already spent a week dining out in Guatemala made the choice an easier one for us to make). And I did write "expansive" -- NOT "expensive". Meals here were priced as well or better than any of the moderately priced cafes in our previous city, Antigua. Weekend dinners feature performances by local musicians; really pleasurable, based on our experience.
While the lodge and cabins are located on the land side of the main road, the lovely pool, hot tub, outdoor bar and dock are set on the lake side property, with fantastic water views. Nothing like enjoying a cold drink of your choice in the hot tub as the sun sets over the lake (well, we didn't actually see the sun -- but the clouds turned a lovely shade of mauve-pink). There are also two canoes available for use, as well as complimentary bikes. Other amenities include umbrellas at your front door and in the main lodge, inexpensive laundry service and a coffee maker with freshly ground coffee beans provided daily (at least in our particular cabin).
The staff are helpful and friendly; be ready to practice your Spanish since most speak a limited amount of English.
As for the logistics of getting to Lake Atitlan and the hotel, its best to call David and let him arrange transportation from wherever you are starting out. He will do it in the most efficient and least costly manner. (We made our own arrangements to get there from Antigua, and ended up paying way too much for our boat trip across the lake. Live and learn).
I recommend Posada de Santiago as a great final stop on a trip -- a place to slow down our pace, take in the the awesome beauty of the region and reflect on how fortunate we are to be able to even briefly enjoy such splendor.

Room Tip: The higher up you are from the lodge and main road, the better. We loved out location on the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffepops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed here two nights in a very comfortable and clean bungalow. I would highly recommend it for someone seeking a quiet or romantic place surrounded by gorgeous nature. The staff was hospitable, the breakfast great. There's a nice deck looking out onto the lake and volcano where I hung out early in the morning or late afternoon, when bird watching was great. I had hoped to not be so far from the reserve (a 30 minute boat ride away), where I spent a few hours one day, and near the more active town Penechal (sp). So decide where around the lake you want to visit ahead of time, and choose your hotel based on that. The lake trek can be rough. All said, it's a very nice play to stay.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

I stayed at the Posada de Santiago for 3 nights, 2 in a stone cottage and one in the Casa Orquidea. Both were lovely. The spacious grounds are absolutely gorgeous. There are plenty of shaded spots to sit and hammocks outside the rooms. Pretty restaurant, good food, helpful staff, large pool overlooking the lake, hotel dock. Beds were exceptional. A few of the guests swam in the lake. The property is on a somewhat steep incline which makes for good exercise and beautiful views but not a good option for people who have difficulty walking. The hotel is located just outside of town. The town itself is poor and offers little in the way of tourism. The last day groundskeepers were wood-fire roasting coffee beans picked on the property in an outdoor kiln in the garden. The hotel can be reached by taking a public boat from Pana to the dock in Santiago (or a private boat to the hotel dock for a lot more $$). The main road is a short walk from the dock where a red Tuc Tuc will take you to the hotel - 5 Quetzals per person to go anywhere in town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soriguana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santiago Atitlan
1.2 mi away
Hotel and Restaurant Bambu
Hotel and Restaurant Bambu
#2 of 4 in Santiago Atitlan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
7.3 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
6.8 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#4 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Toliman
Hotel Toliman
#1 of 1 in San Lucas Toliman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada de Santiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada de Santiago

Property: Posada de Santiago
Address: Apto. 1, Santiago Atitlan 07019, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santiago Atitlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Santiago Atitlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over seventeen years the Posada de Santiago has built a reputation for excellence among travel agencies, tour groups, and countless satisfied guests from across the globe. Nestled between the volcanoes that cradle the indigenous Tzutujil village of Santiago Atitlan, the Posada provides the perfect base from which to experience Guatemala's natural beauty and colorful cultures. With charming stone cottage lodgings, renowned cuisine and luxurious lake front amenities, the Posada is a place where happy guests want to return. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Posada De Santiago Hotel Santiago Atitlan
Posada De Santiago Atitlan
Posada De Santiago Hotel Atitlan
Posada De Santiago Santiago Atitlan, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing