We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My new favorite restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Posada de Santiago

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santiago Atitlan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Posada de Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
nashville
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My new favorite restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

This was a family trip with teens. Everybody loved the Posada de Santiago. The grounds are truly lovely and the owner and staff are exceptionally helpful. We ate every meal in the restaurant and I can't say enough about the high quality of the meals. Be sure to try Keith's sandwich and the coffee. (We brought 3 pounds of the coffee home). The pool area is beautiful and relaxing. There are lots of pretty little spots to sit and relax. Very, very, enjoyable and memorable stay. Go there now.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deannabowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    55
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
81
102
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here for four nights in December. Our room was clean and comfortable and the grounds were beautiful. We asked for help arranging several day trips including bird watching, a Mayan tour, and a day visiting the market in Solala. The hotel staff was excellent, making sure we had all of the details nailed down in advance and offering good suggestions that made each trip perfect. We enjoyed all of our meals; the food was fresh and tasty and the service was always friendly and prompt. We highly recommend the hotel and restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I lived in Guatemala for four years and visited the Posada de Santiago at least six times. The accommodations are charming and full of character, and the grounds are well-kept. The restaurant is better than many places I tried in Guatemala City, using freshly-sourced ingredients from sometimes the hotel grounds themselves (try the chilequiles!) Staff are super friendly and helpful. Santiago is my favorite village on the lake, as you feel like you are in another time period, lucky to be able to observe people just going about their lives. If I make it back to Guatemala, I will try to squeeze in another stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princessplum8141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here over Christmas. The pool/sauna/bar/lounge area is delightful. We sat there both nights just watching the lake and the volcano as the sky changed colors in the sunset. They had live music in the restaurant both nights we were there. Accommodations are in stone cabins, which were plenty comfortable. We had fires going both nights since it gets very cool in the evenings. Maybe the best part was our own private hammocks! We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank EpiTheConsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

This lodge has rooms and cabins with lots of character, a charming dining room with yummy meals, and a lovely patio-pool-jacuzzi-sauna-boat dock area with great views. They work hard at being eco. I had one disappointing evening meal but that's the only negative after 3 visits.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greg_in_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

As part of our tour of Santiago Atitlan, we made it to the Bay of Santiago early in the morning, a lovely sight to see. The Posada de Santiago is a lovely restaurant, with excellence food and a lovely view of the bay from the window. We had the Blue Corn Pancakes, per the recommendation of Lee Beal, our guide, and he had the Fritata. If you're a big eater, go with the Fritata. Otherwise, the cakes were excellent, especially given the macadamia nut syrup that came with it. This is a very special place, given Bonnie's relationship with the owners, and as some very interesting people have passed through it. Evidences of the same can be found, as I did, in the men's room. The library and artifacts there are special as well. After breakfast, walk it off down the road for a short half mile, and spend a few minutes at the Parque de la Paz, the Peace Park, where the thirteen victims of the December 1990 massacre are memorialized. Take a Colletivo ride into the town square from there, and you're ready for as much Mayan and Guatemalan history as nearly any other town in the area offers. But eat well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsmurawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurencekirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Arriving by boat makes this special straight away. The owner was laid back and a real character. We had a choice of rooms/ cabins - both were excellent. Setting couldn't be faulted, sitting under on volcano looking across to another. Pool area was great. The whole place was relaxed and comfortable. The food was good and the reakfasts generous.

Room Tip: All excellent and unique. All very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mav10Aug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santiago Atitlan
1.2 mi away
Hotel and Restaurant Bambu
Hotel and Restaurant Bambu
#2 of 4 in Santiago Atitlan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
7.3 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
6.8 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#4 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Toliman
Hotel Toliman
#1 of 1 in San Lucas Toliman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada de Santiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada de Santiago

Property: Posada de Santiago
Address: Apto. 1, Santiago Atitlan 07019, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santiago Atitlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Santiago Atitlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over seventeen years the Posada de Santiago has built a reputation for excellence among travel agencies, tour groups, and countless satisfied guests from across the globe. Nestled between the volcanoes that cradle the indigenous Tzutujil village of Santiago Atitlan, the Posada provides the perfect base from which to experience Guatemala's natural beauty and colorful cultures. With charming stone cottage lodgings, renowned cuisine and luxurious lake front amenities, the Posada is a place where happy guests want to return. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Posada De Santiago Hotel Santiago Atitlan
Posada De Santiago Atitlan
Posada De Santiago Hotel Atitlan
Posada De Santiago Santiago Atitlan, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing