We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best on Lago de Atitlan” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Posada de Santiago

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santiago Atitlan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Posada de Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The best on Lago de Atitlan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

When I was in the Peace Corps in Guatemala, I dreamed of staying at the Posada. Twenty years later, I did, and it lived up to all my fantasies of heaven on Lake Atitlan. Lake Atitlan is a very special place for me, and the Posada is a very special place to stay. Traveling alone, I stayed in one of the Orchidea rooms, which was delightful with lots of hot water (solar heated), comfy bed, outside hammock on beautiful garden. Great gardens. The cottages are for another dream fulfillment! The food in the restaurant is delicious, fresh, gourmet dishes, excellent coffee, full bar. There is no better view than from the bar/pool area on the lake edge, watching the light changes. David, the owner, is gracious and the staff helpful, efficient, friendly. I'll shall return!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pattie44Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    50
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
78
98
22
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Went to this hotel for lunch. The place ia really nice. Although i did not sleep here i saw the pool area and restaurant which were really nice.
I found the food rather expensive for what we got plus was charged 20% to be served by the lake. I would totally go back for the view.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York State
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Friends suggested we stay at Posada de Santiago on our recent visit to Lake Atitlan. It was the perfect place for us. We arrived by boat and as we walked up the many steps from the boat dock to the main reception, we were able to take in the lovely flowers, the pool and hot tub and sauna, and we knew we had chosen well! The guest cottages are further up the hill and were well equipped with a fireplace, nice hot shower and comfortable bed. There is a bit of walking on uneven cobble stones and steps, so if this is a problem for you, perhaps you should look elsewhere. We ate our meals right in their restaurant and the food was very good. Since wifi is available only in the main dining area (and not during the dinner hour) you will find many of the guests hanging out during the day. Since most will be from the states, it is a good place to meet other travelers and get ideas of other places to explore in Guatemala.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sn0wbird66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon
Level Contributor
99 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We went to Posada de Santiago on recommendation from friends. They were right! We stayed in one of the bungalows and found them to be very spacious and comfortable. Our bungalow included a fireplace and a nice outdoor area. The food at the restaurant was excellent. We went on the village tour with Delores and itis highly recommended.

This is a pleasant place to relax, and visit the sights of the lake.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betweenjobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brogue, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

I've been to Santiago four times & every time I go I stay at the Posada for up to a week and a half at a time. It's like my second home!

My favourite is the fact I can get the best coffee in the world starting at 5:30 a.m.!

Room Tip: If you're a solo traveler the rooms in Casa Orquidea are perfect & inexpensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

The Posada is located a 15 minute walk from the town, located in a quiet place overlooking the ocean and volcanos. The staff is so helpful and speak English as well, if needed. The food is amazing and extremely economical for the quality. They make their own ice cream and a killer guacamole! It's worth coming even just for a meal. It's a <30 min boat ride from Panajachel (30Q public launcha). At the time of this review, they offered a free 3rd night when you pay for 2 in the month of September.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon49120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I hired a private boat that took us directly to the dock of Posada de Santiago. It was a beautiful and convenient way to get there but we ended up paying 3 time as much as if we had taken the public water taxi and taken a 15-20 walk from the town. I recommend the latter. If you have a bunch of luggage just get a tuk-tuk they are are very inexpensive. They let us check in even though were a few hours early. Most of the staff seemed to speak english and were quick to try and solve any problems we had. They had canoes and I believe bikes available. We took advantage fo the canoeing and glad we did. It's a great way to get some shots of the surrounding volcanoes. We stayed at Casa de Orchid which is surrounded by beautiful gardens and hammocks as are all of the huts. The only drawback of our stay was the fenced dog on the property who barked all night. The electricity did go out for at least an hour but this is typical of Central America. Candles were available. The food at the restaurant is good but the lunch portions were kind of small. Dinner was much more ample. Wifi was fast. I would totally come back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieQMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santiago Atitlan
7.9 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
7.3 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel and Restaurant Bambu
Hotel and Restaurant Bambu
#2 of 3 in Santiago Atitlan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
7.8 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#4 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
8.8 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#7 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada de Santiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada de Santiago

Property: Posada de Santiago
Address: Apto. 1, Santiago Atitlan 07019, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santiago Atitlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santiago Atitlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over seventeen years the Posada de Santiago has built a reputation for excellence among travel agencies, tour groups, and countless satisfied guests from across the globe. Nestled between the volcanoes that cradle the indigenous Tzutujil village of Santiago Atitlan, the Posada provides the perfect base from which to experience Guatemala's natural beauty and colorful cultures. With charming stone cottage lodgings, renowned cuisine and luxurious lake front amenities, the Posada is a place where happy guests want to return. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Posada De Santiago Hotel Santiago Atitlan
Posada De Santiago Atitlan
Posada De Santiago Hotel Atitlan
Posada De Santiago Santiago Atitlan, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing