We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views from the terrace!”
Review of Hotel K'amol B'ey

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Panajachel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel K'amol B'ey
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I stayed here on a group tour through Central America and really liked this place. It had a lot of character and very nice gardens! The rooms itself were nice with a comfortable bed and good showers with hot water! The staff were very helpful and you can also do your laundry there very cheaply. I must recommend though going to the top terrace and watching the view up there. However, I would have really liked some tables and chairs up there to sit and watch the nice view. The hotel itself is right near the waters edge and the lake side restaurants, however its about a 10 min walk into the main street where all the better restaurants are. I felt pretty safe walking in the dark with my partner but after 10 when it gets deserted its a little more scarey. Overall I would recommend this place as its great value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bowlie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 44 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed 2 days at Kamol Bey on our Central America tour. Location is quite OK, just 200m from lake Atitlan boats and just 10min to Calle Guadalupe in Panajachel. The outside of the hotel is very well maintained with a beatiful garden... rooms are very basic though: you'll find a bed, and a toilet + shower with warm water, yet all is quite old. The towels are about the thinnest and most worn out I had in my last 5y trips (including many Africa trips), bed linen was just a bit better.
Many other reviewers seem to complain about noise...that's not really an issue for me. Yes, it is quite noisy, but that's what you can expect from budget hotels where sometimes big groups of youn people arrive. I always have a set of earplugs with me on tavel, and they're often useful, even in much more expensive hotels where e.g. airconditioning can be noisy. The airco won't bother you here as you don't have any, but that also not really needed here. Some disappointment around service is also that you don't even get the little water bottle which most hotels give you, and you can't even get/buy one at the reception as they simply don't propose it.

Room Tip: We had room 13, middle top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a Central America tour. Good hotel with small rooms but very clean. Also very clean bathrooms with very hot water- the first time for us during this tour!
I had some very wet clothes from
The lake and the hotel staff showed me where the clothesline was as well as the outdoor washing area to wash my clothes!! So helpful.

We did New Year's Eve here and the hotel gave our group permission to set off firecrackers on the rooftop.

Great hotel great staff and very clean. Thumbs up to that. Some distance from the tourist main drag, which was a bonus for us.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank melbourne101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Close to the seafront and all the local shops and restaurants. Up a very windy cobbled street which is not lit and wont take much bigger vehicle than a pick up - but they will collect you from the front. Small rooms but they are clean and well presented. rather noisy due to local wildlife (which cannot he avoided) and local traffic sounding horns gone midnight (as this was the neighbouring property this could be avoided). Great views from rooftop - if they added a few table and chairs would be great place for 'sundowners' - best rooms on first floor for views and wi-fi signal.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SurreyGirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Went to K'amol B'ey as part of a package tour out of Antigua to Panajachel. The hotel was everything they said. It was neat and clean with hot showers. For the price it was fine, just wish the rooster (gallo) next door had not decided to serenade us from 3am till 7am. Could not shut the window because that was providing a nice cool breeze. Also the beds were very "firm".

An added bonus is the view from the roof terrace. It has a spectacular view of Lake Atitlan and the volcanoes.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Bumpercarr1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Pretty little hotel located a 5 min walk to the main st of town and 2 min to the dock (to get you around lake atitlan). Pretty building with well landscaped garden. Basic rooms, but with everything you need: decent bed, lamp, wifi, hot shower etc. (Big roof top to take some good photos from too)
Nice, clean place to spend a night or 2 to explore pana!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonnieEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

It's located at the end of the road. There was a small garden in front of the hotel. The room was fine and pleasant. There was an area on the roof that you can do some activities. There were many restaurants on the main street. It was so close to the lake, so, you can walk along the lake. The view of the volcanos were fantastic.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goodidear999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panajachel
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#19 of 29 in Panajachel
36 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Playa Linda
Hotel Playa Linda
#14 of 29 in Panajachel
89 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Utz Jay
Hotel Utz Jay
#10 of 29 in Panajachel
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan
0.0 mi away
Hotel Peten
Hotel Peten
#8 of 16 in Flores
172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel K'amol B'ey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel K'amol B'ey

Address: Final Calle Ramos, Playa Publica, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Hotel K'Amol B'Ey Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing