We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“second time here, keeps getting better!”
Review of Hotel Utz Jay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Utz Jay
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“second time here, keeps getting better!”
Reviewed January 2, 2011

My fourth trip to Guatemala found me here again. It was during Agatha and even the rains didn't dampen my spirits. I requested a cottage and it was lovely! Simple, but cute, clean and quiet. They serve a wonderful breakfast and have a refrigerator stocked with beer, soda and water just outside the main office. Free wifi. I would recommend this place to anyone staying in Panajachel. It is close enough to walk to everything in town, yet it is located on a quiet side street. You are given a key to let yourself in late at night. Utz Jay in Mayan tongue means "good home"... I will be back.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stormbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    91
    27
    15
    8
See reviews for
33
97
43
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
southwest England
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

This superb little hotel offers large, scrupulously clean and well appointed rooms with lovely views of the gardens. Ver6y well managed and very good value, the hotel also provides excellent breakfasts. An easy walk into the centre, the hotel offers peace from the bustle of town.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pensioner090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2010

Nice hotel in Panajachel. Location was off the major street but close enough.

Stayed in room number 8-upstairs. Basic and comfortable with a beautiful balcony overlooking the garden/courtyard.

Great place to stay in Panajachel. Safe (they have two pet German Shepards!), comfortable and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAB2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

If you're staying in Pana, I can't imagine a better value than this. The people were friendly and helpful, the room was great and had a lovely balcony with two super-comfy deck chairs and a view of the mountains, and our experience was completely satisfying. I only wish we'd had more time to stay there so we could have tried the jacuzzi and Mayan sauna. Definitely request a second floor room, the balcony was great!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank williej3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2010

I only planned on staying at the Utz Jay for a single night but due to tropical storm Agatha my plans changed and I elected to stay there 3 times. It was an wonderful experience. The staff were very friendly and efficient. Each room I stayed in was spacious, spotlessly clean, with Cable TV, filtered water, hot showers, tile floors, large windows, and a patio. All the rooms open onto a tranquil, lush garden. They even keep cold beer, soft drinks and water in a handy frig. Breakfasts were excellent and the home made granola was fabulous. There is also a traditional Mayan sauna and jacuzzi on the grounds. The two huge German shepherds are sweet and friendly. I appreciated the quiet, relaxing ambiance, especially after 12 hours of planes and shuttle buses. I highly recommend Utz Jay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhessdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2010

only good thing was location
i've traveled to many places so i'm not a stuck up traveler who wants all the amenities.
my friends and i got bugs bites that were itchy and small dots in a line on our first and second night. prior we were never in a hostel or any other dirty place. when i told this to the owner, she said "well u were in a village today and there's a difference between bed bugs and fleas." it's not like we were rolling in the grass and dumping dirt on our bodies, we just walked with long pants and bug spray. she said she'll look into it. this is not a response we wanted to hear and we left quickly.
so i was dissapointed w/the response and the room and will never recommend it to anyone. maybe it was an isolated incidence but that is not how you want to respond to someone who has multiple itchy bites on their leg regardless of the etiology.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ersu81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2010

Good value, good location (just far enough from busy calle Santander), very nice grounds and good breakfast ... but terrible welcome. The lady owner greeted us upon arrival with a frown on her face and not as much as being able to say hello ! She questioned the voucher we had because the name of the hotel had not been written at the right place (by the local travel agent) !! The next morning she would not fill up our water bottle unless we emptied it completely beforehand ! This owner who is not Guatemalan, made our stay the most unfriendly visit in this otherwise great and friendly country. For that reason alone I do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank François B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Playa Linda
Hotel Playa Linda
#14 of 29 in Panajachel
86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan
0.2 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
462 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Utz Jay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Utz Jay

Property: Hotel Utz Jay
Address: Calle 2-50 5, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Utz Jay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel located near the main shopping and businesses, but in a quiet street, perfect location. There are rooms spread out through a lush tropical garden, from which one can relax and enjoy watching the birds (over 25 varieties), exotic plants and beautiful trees. Each room is decorated with handcrafted native motif and has a private bathroom with plenty of hot water 24 hrs., TV with cable and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Utz Jay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Utz Jay Hotel
Hotel Utz Jay Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing