We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing stay at this warm and charming hotel”
Review of Hotel Utz Jay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Utz Jay
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Antigua, Guatemala
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A relaxing stay at this warm and charming hotel”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I spent a few days in Pana with no particular plan in mind. Luckily, I had made a reservation at Utz Jay, and was pleased to while away the time sitting on the balcony overlooking a well-tended tropical garden and wandering around town. The location of this hotel is perfect: half a block from the action on Santander and only a few blocks from the lakeshore, so everything is within a few minutes' walk.

My room was sparkling clean and well-decorated; the bathroom featured what appeared to be new fixtures and also had plenty of light. I also appreciated the reading lamp by the side of the bed, something that's hard to find locally. Both the wifi and cable TV worked very well.

Lisette, the owner, was warm and hospitable, and all the staff were extremely helpful. The resident German Shepherds, though enormous, were friendly and well-trained.

Breakfasts were delicious, well-priced, and served in a small dining room that looks over the garden. Utz Jay also offers a jacuzzi and sauna, however, I didn't use them.

Overall, I was very pleased with my experience at Utz Jay and would recommend travelers to stay here while visiting Pana.

Room Tip: Room #17 has a private balcony that overlooks the garden. Lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank misstutti2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    91
    27
    15
    8
See reviews for
33
97
43
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

The personnel is extremely nice and helpful, always with a smile. The breakfast was delicious and abundant. I really enjoyed the sauna with herbal tea and everything, so relaxing!

The location couldn't be better, only a couple of blocks from the beautiful Lake Atitlan. To get the best pictures go early in the morning (6 or 7 am).

Over all we really loved staying there and the city itself.

Room Tip: I stayed in the one right off the street and slept like a baby, didn´t hear any noise or disturbance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delb_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

So we'd booked to stay in April 2014 for one night, and turned up very late, around 9pm only to find that they'd not got our reservation it hadn't been moved from one booking sheet to the new booking system. So after a lot of faff, the reception lady confirmed it was their fault and offered us to find us another room at another hotel as they were fully booked. Such a shame as the reviews were good for this place and we were really looking forward to staying (having booked 3 months prior), so wasn't very impressed by their error. I'd definately look to reconfirm your reservation a couple of days before you are due to arrive.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheltenhamGirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This was a wonderful place to stay during our trip to Panajachel. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Also, very good English spoken. Great location within walking distance to town. Great breakfast served every morning, too. Comfortable beds and hot showers. ENJOY!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This was a lovely place to stay. Good breakfast with some choices on the menu. It was clean, hot water in the shower. Modern sink. Comfortable beds and pillows. Lovely garden. Away from the noise of the town. When we had to cancel a later stay, we weren't penalized. We would go back again.

Room Tip: Upstairs was newer and more modern fixtures than the downstairs room at the back. All were clean an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PanamaBandito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

This hotel was a nice surprise and it kind of grew on me over our two night stay.
We stayed in one of the rooms towards the back and while it's nothing fancy, it was a really comfortable stay.
The rooms were clean and the shower was warm and worked well.
There was a TV and a helpful list of all the channels and their languages so you could easily find something to watch (not that you need to watch TV when you're in Pana!)
The wifi seemed a little weak where we were but closer to the reception it was fine.
We had a complimentary breakfast which was the perfect start to the day - freshly cut fruit, homemade banana bread and other toast plus tea/coffee. Delish! And it's so reasonably priced, so even if it's not included in your stay I'd still recommend it.
The hotel had lovely gardens and was a very short stroll from the pain street of Pana and lots of dining options.
They also allowed us to store our bags for the day in a locker which was really lovely.
They have an onsite spa as well which we didn't have time to enjoy but looked good.
The dogs that guard the place are gorgeous too!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Great location, beautiful setting, clean room, filtered water, delicious breakfast, helpful staff…. Overall, I was very pleased with our 3 night stay at Hotel Utz Jay. My only small complaint is that I was not comfortable with the two big german shepherds on the grounds, but that is more of a personal issue.

When deciding on a location to stay at Atitlan, I read many reviews that discouraged travelers from staying in Panajachel. I disagree. We found it easy to get to/from places and had plenty of options for things to do at night. Hotel Utz Jay is in an ideal location off the main strip (Santander).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank norpatmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Playa Linda
Hotel Playa Linda
#13 of 29 in Panajachel
86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan
0.2 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
463 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Utz Jay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Utz Jay

Property: Hotel Utz Jay
Address: Calle 2-50 5, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Utz Jay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel located near the main shopping and businesses, but in a quiet street, perfect location. There are rooms spread out through a lush tropical garden, from which one can relax and enjoy watching the birds (over 25 varieties), exotic plants and beautiful trees. Each room is decorated with handcrafted native motif and has a private bathroom with plenty of hot water 24 hrs., TV with cable and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Utz Jay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Utz Jay Hotel
Hotel Utz Jay Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing