We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Hotel Utz Jay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Utz Jay
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We enjoyed the location as it is within a short walking distance to the lake and the main shopping district yet is on a quiet side street. The rooms are basic and include hot water and wi-fi. The gardens are lovely and well maintained. Breakfasts are no longer free, but were inexpensive and very good. Staff was attentive and helpful. Overall a good value.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snickers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Utz Jay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 248 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

A Tour company in Xela Recommended this Hotel to me in Feb of 2011. I have stayed here 5 times. I enjoy the atmosphere, the Proximity to everything, the rooms and staff. I love the Plants in the Garden. Lemons and Coffee were in Bloom in October!

Room Tip: I have stayed in 5 different Rooms. I like all
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TurleenUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed here 1 night, during a Panajachel festival. It was MUCH quieter than the rest of the town!

Pluses:
1) Free breakfast, and it's yummy
2) Free wi-fi
3) Cute German Shepherds to play fetch with
4) Very kind hosts
5) Great location, just off the main road, and walkable to everything
6) Features a Mayan sauna and tiny "spa" (jacuzzi) for a small fee
7) Cute bungalows surround a flowery garden
8) Super clean and neat
9) Awesome patio with easy chairs for each unit
10) Very cheap for all this- about $30/USD for an ensuite double

Minuses:
1) Cute German Shepherds, if you don't like dogs :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cool_jonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This little hotel is off the main street, so very quiet. Rooms face a lovely tropical garden. Ground floor rooms are darker and slighly humid, but clean and decorated with colorful touches; Nice hot shower, good pressure. Excellent breakfast, abundant and tasty. Free wifi, working well. There are 2 lovely german shepards on the premises, absolutely tame. We would definitely come back.

Room Tip: try to take a room on the first floor, they are bighter and less humid than those on the ground floo...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItalianGirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

This small hotel is located like one block from Avenida Santader so gives you the opportunity to rest and also the chance if you want to go out all the bars and restaurants are close by, the hotel have hot shower not like the electric showers that you might experience in other places, the sauna is really good and cheap. If you like dogs they have 2 german shepherds and they are very friendly, I stayed at this hotel because I had a tour ealy in the morning and didn't want to stay in other town across the lake usually the boat takes around 35 minutes and if you have a schedule to follow better to stay in Panajachel. I recommend this hotel if you are looking for a good place to rest.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guinness-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

My wife and I had a one night stay here and would stay again. We got a very good night's sleep and found the room to be very clean and filled with light. The breakfast was very good and prompt which was important because we needed to catch our minivan to the next part of our trip. There is a nice courtyard garden. There are 3 very large German Shepherd Dogs that will great you and try to get you to toss a rubber ball or even a rock for them to catch. They are quite competitive at this game so give them a bit of space. The dogs are not permitted into the courtyard area so they do not create a problem, but I am sure they add a bit of additional security for the hotel.

Our room which was upstairs just inside the courtyard to the right side took a very long time for the hot water to arrive in our shower. It is a very small thing and I would stay in the same room again. It might be helpful to have a small sign to explain that the hot water takes 5 minutes or so to reach this particular room. There was plenty of hot water once it arrived.

Room Tip: I liked our elevated room because it was filled with light and had excellent ventilation and a nice...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobsoilman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

This place and the owner helped make the rest of our trip in Guatemala. We had not bought tickets ahead of time to go from Panajachel to Tikal and she was friendly and very helpful in calling a travel agent to get us bus tickets to Guatemala city and roundtrip bus tickets to Tikal. I would definitely recommend this place especially if you need help organizing other aspects of your trip or advice. It was also the first hotel we had come across that offered a map of the local area and other advice on things to do. Great service!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcgenco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
253 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Playa Linda
Hotel Playa Linda
#14 of 29 in Panajachel
87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada de los Volcanes
Posada de los Volcanes
#3 of 29 in Panajachel
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
217 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan
0.2 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Utz Jay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Utz Jay

Address: Calle 2-50 5, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Price Range: $29 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Utz Jay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel located near the main shopping and businesses, but in a quiet street, perfect location. There are rooms spread out through a lush tropical garden, from which one can relax and enjoy watching the birds (over 25 varieties), exotic plants and beautiful trees. Each room is decorated with handcrafted native motif and has a private bathroom with plenty of hot water 24 hrs., TV with cable and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Utz Jay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Utz Jay Hotel
Hotel Utz Jay Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing