We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Utz Jay
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Regis Panajachel(Panajachel)(Great Value!)
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$116
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $88/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$140
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Porta Hotel Del Lago(Panajachel)
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Playa Linda(Panajachel)
$35
$33
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jardines del Lago(Panajachel)
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Posada de los Volcanes(Panajachel)(Great Value!)
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Atitlan(Panajachel)
$182
$145
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villas Balam Ya(Panajachel)
$320
$277
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hospedaje El Viajero(Panajachel)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (263)
Filter reviews
263 results
Traveler rating
114
95
29
16
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
114
95
29
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgerman shepherdsthe main streetmayan saunacable tvsecure propertybanana breadquiet streetpurified waterscreened windowsplenty of hot watercalle santandernice deckprivate arealaundry servicespacious roomtranquil gardenonly stayed one night
Filter
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 263 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2012

A Tour company in Xela Recommended this Hotel to me in Feb of 2011. I have stayed here 5 times. I enjoy the atmosphere, the Proximity to everything, the rooms and staff. I love the Plants in the Garden. Lemons and Coffee were in Bloom in October!

Room Tip: I have stayed in 5 different Rooms. I like all
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TurleenUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed here 1 night, during a Panajachel festival. It was MUCH quieter than the rest of the town!

Pluses:
1) Free breakfast, and it's yummy
2) Free wi-fi
3) Cute German Shepherds to play fetch with
4) Very kind hosts
5) Great location, just off the main road, and walkable to everything
6) Features a Mayan sauna and tiny "spa" (jacuzzi) for a small fee
7) Cute bungalows surround a flowery garden
8) Super clean and neat
9) Awesome patio with easy chairs for each unit
10) Very cheap for all this- about $30/USD for an ensuite double

Minuses:
1) Cute German Shepherds, if you don't like dogs :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cool_jonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This little hotel is off the main street, so very quiet. Rooms face a lovely tropical garden. Ground floor rooms are darker and slighly humid, but clean and decorated with colorful touches; Nice hot shower, good pressure. Excellent breakfast, abundant and tasty. Free wifi, working well. There are 2 lovely german shepards on the premises, absolutely tame. We would definitely come back.

Room Tip: try to take a room on the first floor, they are bighter and less humid than those on the ground floor.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItalianGirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

This small hotel is located like one block from Avenida Santader so gives you the opportunity to rest and also the chance if you want to go out all the bars and restaurants are close by, the hotel have hot shower not like the electric showers that you might experience in other places, the sauna is really good and cheap. If you like dogs they have 2 german shepherds and they are very friendly, I stayed at this hotel because I had a tour ealy in the morning and didn't want to stay in other town across the lake usually the boat takes around 35 minutes and if you have a schedule to follow better to stay in Panajachel. I recommend this hotel if you are looking for a good place to rest.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guinness-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

My wife and I had a one night stay here and would stay again. We got a very good night's sleep and found the room to be very clean and filled with light. The breakfast was very good and prompt which was important because we needed to catch our minivan to the next part of our trip. There is a nice courtyard garden. There are 3 very large German Shepherd Dogs that will great you and try to get you to toss a rubber ball or even a rock for them to catch. They are quite competitive at this game so give them a bit of space. The dogs are not permitted into the courtyard area so they do not create a problem, but I am sure they add a bit of additional security for the hotel.

Our room which was upstairs just inside the courtyard to the right side took a very long time for the hot water to arrive in our shower. It is a very small thing and I would stay in the same room again. It might be helpful to have a small sign to explain that the hot water takes 5 minutes or so to reach this particular room. There was plenty of hot water once it arrived.

Room Tip: I liked our elevated room because it was filled with light and had excellent ventilation and a nice view.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobsoilman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews