We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable B&B compound in Panajachel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Posada Los Encuentros
Ranked #9 of 36 Panajachel B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 28, 2008

Seven of us spent three nights at Posada Los Encuentros following a recent service project in Guatemala and would definitely return. The owner and manager are long-time residents and very familiar with the area, culturally and environmentally sensitive. Most helpful in arranging transportation to and from Pana and suggesting activities around Atitlan. Pleasant courtyard and breakfast area and spacious rooms. Relaxed atmosphere. Location is good in that it is off the main drag away from noise, but an easy ten minute walk or 2 minute tuk-tuk ride from Calle Santander restaurants and shops. Other guests were staying for extended periods.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bg4070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
There are newer reviews for Posada Los Encuentros
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 90 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2007

This was our first trip to the highlands of Guatemala and we picked Posada Los Encuentros based off the excellent reviews received. We could not have been happier. The owner, Richard, and manager (all around giver of information and good conversation) Christian were wonderful hosts and were able to provide us with experiences and information we never would have discovered on our own. Richard is a patron of sorts of the local artists around Panajechel and if your like me and enjoy seeing (and buying) local art from your travels he is the gentleman to see. We were fortunate enough to be there for the return of Phillipe, a local painter, and were treated with a tour of his local town and his studio. Needless to say we came home with some beautiful pieces.

Summery: Highly recommended

p.s. The house is a little off the beaten path in Pana (just across the river), but after being in Pana for an evening it was a blessing to return to some peace and quiet. Just so nobody gets the wrong idea, off the beaten path in Pana is a 5 minute tuk-tuk ride or a 10 minute walk.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank TrickeyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2007

Thank you for making my stay a wonderful experience
after some other disappointing previous lodging.
I was in #6 upstairs apartment overlooking the lush gardens
and only 5 steps away from the wonderful mineral fed hot tub
what a treat everyday , I could even have food delivered from a nearby restaurant and for my wine needs , the owner stocked a very good wine from chile for a reasonable price.
Christian the Manager was very helpful and knowledable with information about the area , can't wait to visit there again in 2008.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kingfish1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2007

We stayed 2 nights in the junior suite ($55 per night) and it was a very pleasant experience. The room is very large with a fully equiped kitchen area. It was very nicely decorated with indigenous arts and also very clean. The room overlooked a lovely garden and also had a view of the volcano out of one of the windows. Included in the room rate is a light breakfast - coffee, cereal, toast & jam, juice.

We also enjoyed the fact that Los Encuentros is located in a local neighborhood - it's not far from "downtown" Pana - about a 10 minute walk or 2 minute tuk-tuk ride, but it's far enough that your listening to roosters, dogs & evangelical churches rather than traffic and partiers! Now, if you want to be where the action is, then this is not the right place to stay!!

The guesthouse is well connected with the indigenous people of the area and can arrange tours if you're interested. Christian was particularly friendly and helpful in recommending things for us to see and do.

While we were in Pana we visited the Nature Reserve, which was well worth the trip and took a $15, 5 - 6 hour, boat tour to San Marcos, San Pedro and Santiago. We arranged that through STA, who also provided the shuttle we took to and from Antigua - we'd recommend them as a reliable travel agency.

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DRSouthern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2007

I stayed here twice with my family 4 years ago, and I still remember it very warmly. The lodging was great, of course. But what I remember the most was the wonderful hosts, Richard and Sharon. They have so much knowledge to share and they are eager to help you in so many ways... I still remember Sharon giving me some strange grapefruit-pith concoction when I got sick- it worked! They make you feel like you belong there. I have wonderful warm memories of my time there, and I hope that I'll be lucky enough to go back someday.

  • Stayed: February 2003, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Tara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2007

Posada Los Encuentros is a gem and we had a wonderful stay there. We loved the beautiful lush grounds and attractive, clean, comfortable and private rooms, as well as the spring fed hot tub and sauna. It's close to town so we could easily walk to dinner, and it is quiet and secure. The environment is casual and friendly; we felt welcome as friends and met many interesting people there. Based on these experiences alone, Posada Los Encuentros is a great value, but there is the added value of being owned and operated by a Spanish/English speaking family, Richard, Sharon and Luke.
Since Richard is an expert on the Lake Atitlan region, having written a book on the subject, he knows many people in the area and is quite happy to help with arrangements and suggest activities. He arranged for us to meet both local artists and healers from the Mayan villages around the lake and offered his services as a travel guide. We learned so much about the people and the area from Richard. This was all a great help for us as first time visitors to Guatemala. We are now planning a second trip to Posada Los Encuentros as there is so much to do in the area and Posada Los Encuentros will provide us with the perfect central location.

Chris and Deb

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank flyngmoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2006

My family & I have stayed at Posada Los Encuentros on several occassions and have never been disappointed. The facilities have always been clean, the decor comfortable & inviting. The owners are very helpful and friendly always having great suggestions for a day's activity whether you are looking for something quiet or adventurous.

Stayed: June 2004
3  Thank Debster67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
253 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
796 reviews
0.6 mi away
Posada de los Volcanes
Posada de los Volcanes
#3 of 29 in Panajachel
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
217 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan
0.5 mi away
Hotel Utz Jay
Hotel Utz Jay
#10 of 29 in Panajachel
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Los Encuentros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Los Encuentros

Address: Callejon Chotzar 0-41 | Bario Jucanya, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Panajachel
Price Range: $52 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our center is both: an intimate 7-room lodge (some suites) of first-world standards with relaxing lounge, wood-burning sauna, well-equipped fitness center, and the most complete medicinal plant garden in the Lake Atitlan basin; coupled with an eco-cultural oriented travel service that offers programs in physical and spiritual well-being and opportunities to interface directly with Mayan culture, to include visits to the homes of shaman, artists and artisans and workshops in art and weaving. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Posada Los Encuentros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Los Encuentros Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing