We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good staff, close to wharf”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Posada de los Volcanes
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2014

I think the best about this place was the staff. Julio and his team are great at any time to help you about anything. Everybody was happy with the breakfast. Unfortunately we could not enjoy the views from the rooms, as we had bad weather for 2 days.
You can walk to the wharf where the boats are to take you around the lake.

Room Tip: No lift, so you might ask for low floor room if you are not very fit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Distenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 294 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights. The location is perfect, its next to lots of shops and a short walk away from lake atitan. The service is great. The employees are attentive and the breakfast is good. Say hi to the resident parrot Paco.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Very good breakfast, rooms fairly small and bathroom adequate, it would be unfair to judge on European standards as we are a long way from home, we stayed during the Easter celebrations, so ear plugs definitely required!
Lovely view from the balcony unless you're on the ground floor.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank cyclingmad2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This year we telephoned Julio again to ask him if he could provide us with pick-up from Antigua, accommodations at his hotel in Panajachel, a private boat tour to villages around Lake Atitlan, transportation to Chichicastenango, and a return ride from Chichicastenango back to Antigua. And again, his service for the three days was absolutely perfect. This is the only way to travel to these famous and fabulous locations in comfort, and we even stopped at the shrine of the Hermano San Simon on the way back.

Julio's hotel, the Posada de los Volcanes, is on Panajachel’s main street, the Calle Santander, where Mayan wares are displayed and sold, and it is close to the lake. The hotel is nicely decorated, the rooms are comfortable, and he offers a great breakfast. Staff is very friendly and helpful, and it is always a joy to stay there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dagpel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We have stayed here in a double room and we have really enjoyed Posada de los Volcanes.

Location is perfect, the owner, Julio, as well as Francisco, his front man, are really nice people;
our communication with them has been perfect as they have always answered promptly to our emails. Breakfast has been excellent and consistent enough.

Definitely this is the place to stay in Panajachel as you can hardly find any argument against Posada de los Volcanes.

Guys, keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joker t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

In all my travels, this has to be one of the better places I stayed. We spent 2 nights here (wish we could have stayed more). We arrived later in the evening and Francisco at the front desk helped arrange the boat tour the next day. The rooms were spacious and the bathrooms were nice and clean. We had a 3rd floor room which had some decent views. The staff was very helpful with arranging tours and shuttles. The free breakfasts were very yummy and filling. We also liked the water that was available to fill bottles. The location is prime. About 3 blocks from the lake and near all the action. Nights can be a bit noisy due to the location, but I don't think there is a quiet place on Calle Santander :) Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burger77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This is my second time in one year staying at Posada. I prefer the rooms with 2 beds as it is a bit more spacious. Julio, the owner, is a wonderful man and ensures that all is well with your visit. The same goes for his lovely staff. Both Julio and Francisco (his front man) speak English, which adds to the charm.
Julio also offers quality transportation. Instead of being cramped in a van packed with people from other companies, Julio's ride is a pleasure.
A wonderful breakfast is included in the price. You can't go wrong by staying at Posada.

Room Tip: I love the upper rooms, but be prepared to climb the steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoEllen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.2 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#3 of 29 in Panajachel
515 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
278 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Utz Jay
Hotel Utz Jay
#10 of 29 in Panajachel
255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#8 of 29 in Panajachel
228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada de los Volcanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada de los Volcanes

Address: Calle Santander 5-51 | Zona 2, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Price Range: $63 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel with 12 luxurious rooms. and the rooms at the top you can see the Volcanoes and a few of the lake. The Posada de los Volcanes is a hotel and tour operator with transportation to all the turistic places It is a charming, quiet little motel just a block from the lake. The manager and staff are very customer oriented and make every effort to accommodate. A special addition is the motel taxi service to Chichicastenango, Antigua and Guatemala City. (Patt Hofmaster) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Posada de los Volcanes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada De Los Volcanes Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing